We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Suitess zu Dresden
Ranked #2 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We booked this little hotel (23 rooms) through the Tourist Office in Dresden at the last minute. It is situated literally around the corner from Frauenkirche Cathedral and in easy walking distance to all the major sites, the river, restaurants and transport.

Our room on the fifth floor was spacious with a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable lounge with TV and stereo, and a huge bathroom. The staff are friendly and helpful and speak English well. The washing machine didn't work so they did our washing for no charge elsewhere in the hotel.

The bed was large and very comfortable.

Breakfast in the Moritz was amazing - beautiful food and exceptional service from all the staff. The restaurant has a sky view of the cathedral and the outdoor terrace would be perfect for lunch or dinner. We were offered a 20% discount for eating in the hotel after 5.00pm.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gwen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (658)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

172 - 178 of 658 reviews

Reviewed 3 July 2014

Excellent location with very friendly staff, the carpet is a bit old & better to change it. We've been upgraded to a suite with big flat screen tv and kids love to watch football World Cup on it. You will enjoy it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The room was fabulous and the service was excellent. Even better, you are right on the An der Frauenkirche right in the center walking distance to everything. the staff was a bit high-end and therefore not so warm, but not irritatingly so.

Room Tip: Hard to say if all the rooms were as great as ours. The room might be a bit warm in the summer if th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParkSlopeTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Only stayed one night in this great hotel but wished it could have been longer. Our last minute reservation was handled very efficiently by Pierre who was there to greet us when we checked in. Beautiful room with great character overlooking the main square. Very comfortable indeed. We had a fab dinner in the hotel restaurant out on the terrace with a view of the dome of the Frauenkirche. All in all a great stay and have no hesitation recommending it.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms will look out over the main square so be sure to request one with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anneeliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I echo a previous commenter's characterization of this hotel as a "funny little hotel" and another comment that the decor "borders on the decadent" -- though I saw it in a slightly less charitable way. Clearly, the Hotel Suitess *wants* to be a luxury, 5-star hotel. But it's just not. Don't get me wrong -- my suite was huge, and the bathroom had more marble than some homes do. But besides the decor being a bit over-the-top, I didn't find the service to be as "5-star" as others did. For example, the book in the room specifically recommended that I ask the front desk for jogging routes/distances along the Elbe River. But when I asked, I was met with a shrug and was told that it "was really far -- depends how far you run." Could I find the answer myself online? Yes -- but that's not the point. And when I asked for restaurant recommendations (I specifically asked for a casual place at which I could sit for a while and watch the World Cup), I was told "there are restaurants all over the square right outside the hotel." That was all.

Also, the walls (at least in my suite) were quite thin. I could hear the neighbors next door rather clearly, especially when they opened and closed the doors/drawers of the armoire . . .

Finally, upon checkout, I was charged 5 Euros for 2 cups of coffee (which I asked for at reception in the morning, as I noticed that the staff member at reception was making a cup for himself, and I was about to ask where I could go for a cup). Is this a big deal? Of course not. However, a 5-star hotel does not charge extra for coffee (particularly with no coffee maker in the room). And if they do, it is clear that there is a charge. I had no idea I would be charged for these coffees until I checked out . . .

In short, this is really a nice place in a perfect location. But what it has in decadent decor, it lacks in 5-star service. Luckily, I was able to secure a suite at a decent rate!

Would I return? Maybe. But I'd explore the alternatives first . . .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gscooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Loved my stay in Dresden--wished I could have stayed longer at this wonderful hotel. Staff were attentive and very helpful. Room was large and lovely. The city has many outstanding cultural and historical sights.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seniorlady5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Me and my girlfriend loved it here. Fantastic hotel with gewreat amenities and service. The spa is very nice. Only issue (although extremely small) is I wish the WiFi service was faster. Otherwise perfect experience

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Hotel Taschenbergpalais Kempinski
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Neustadt
Bulow Palais
Bulow Palais
#1 of 118 in Dresden
321 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Gewandhaus Dresden, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suitess zu Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suitess zu Dresden

Address: An der Frauenkirche 13, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden > Innere Altstadt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dresden
#2 Spa Hotel in Dresden
#2 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dresden
#2 Business Hotel in Dresden
Price Range: £88 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Suitess zu Dresden 5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
21 suites, this exclusive luxury hotel combines contemporary architecture with Baroque styling and is located in the historic old town besides the Church Of Our Lady "Frauenkirche". Our French gourmet restaurant as well as our spa facilities are opening onto terraces with unique city views over Dresden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Suitess zu Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Zu Dresden

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing