We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location (by the train station), excellent service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterCityHotel Dresden
Ranked #22 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
725 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 410 helpful votes
“Great location (by the train station), excellent service”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The hotel is just across the street from the main train station. It is perfectly located to visit downtown (20 min walk), the university (20 min walk), and the main park (20 min walk). Premises are modern and very clean. I asked for a quiet room (light sleeper) and had one that really was perfectly silent.

Breakfast buffet is German-style extensive and good. Nice gesture: local transportation pass is included in the hotel fees. Internet (very slow!), too. One can rent bikes, which is also very convenient.

The room, indeed, could have used a newer TV set. Otherwise, the shower was bliss!

Room Tip: get rooms X11 and X12, where X is the floor number. These are silent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank icanhazsweetsokthx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    158
    254
    51
    6
    7
See reviews for
74
187
68
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glyfada, Greece
Level Contributor
244 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

It is so nice to arrive by train and just to have to walk across the street to your hotel. Even though it is so close to train station, you have a peaceful sleep. Breakfast was great but the room is small for the amount of quests. Around 9 o’clock in the morning you have to wait till to be seated. Overall we had a pleasant stay and I would recommend them.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magistros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level Contributor
404 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

The big advantages of this chain hotel are as many have written here its location just a few steps from the Dresden central station and the practical design of its rooms, which due to clever design seem larger than they are. Ours had obviously just been renovated and made the best possible use of a small hallway with adjoining bath (unfortunately the threadbare towels didn't match the quality of the new bathroom). The smaller separate bedroom had huge windows to let in lots of light.

The friendly front desk personnel immediately gave us dental and shaving packages when they heard that we’d left our one bag on the train. Another nice extra were the free umbrellas for guests to borrow on their way out into drizzly Dresden weather. Since we both have annual train passes, we didn’t need the free transport tickets. It seems from other reviews here that InterCity has at last decided to offer free wifi. We found the extra charge during our stay in August very annoying and simply won’t book hotels without free wifi unless we have vouchers for a free stay.

Beautiful sunny skies and the view from our room on the day of our checking out was much better than the truly dreadful breakfast buffet. No fresh fruit at all, old stale coffee, very fatty sausages but at least very friendly staff in the bright breakfast room with large windows on the ground floor.

Since we used one of the special Deutsche Bahn vouchers for our stay, we can’t complain about the price. But we probably would’ve booked one of the many other options in Dresden had we had to pay the regular price for our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GermanJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

These hotels are nearly identical to one another, being right next to the train station and having very high cleanliness standards. We knew what we were getting, exactly. It wasn't quite as spotless as the Berlin Intercity hotel but very close, it is a little older.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraDonovan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

A clean hotel opposite the station- very convenient! Also close to the shopping area and bus and trams. We were delighted with the complimentary travel pass. Friendly, helpful reception staff. Pleasant dining room with a comprehensive breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

The Intercity is just across from the main train station in dresden & is surrounded by good places to eat; the rooms are modern, clean & comfortable; the wi-fi connection is great; breakfast has plenty of variety & the staff is efficient & helful; the local transport card they give is v.helpful as we could travel across the city for free; enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunflower01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a fairly new hotel. The rooms are standard corporate hotel rooms. I stayed here four nights in mid-October. Prices were reasonable, but that might be because its new and trying to drum up business. I booked the Autumn special rates which came with a free two course meal (rather dull, no choice - schnitzel and triffle or leave it!), a free drink (generous - I had a pint), free public transport ticket for the duration of the stay (the Dresden transport system is fabulous) and welcome fruit bowl.
Plus - location - about 20 mins walk to Frauenkirche or 10 mins by tram/walking. Opposite main station. easy road access. station underground parking available. Rooms comfortable but standard corporate fayre. Excellent breakfast - hot and cold and as much as you want.
Minus - tried to con me with bottle of water prominently placed in room with a welcome message attached, which when inspected closed told me that I would have to pay about 3.5 euros. Internet costs €5.00 per HALF HOUR!! I hate this corporate trickery - it is disingenuous of the management. Towels are almost as thin as sheets. New hotel, but old style TVs (or maybe Germany hasn't adopted wide screen yet).

Room Tip: My room was 324 to the rear of the station - two walls are external, so only one neighbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SgtBilkoWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Ibis Budget Dresden City
#14 of 118 in Dresden
1,449 reviews
Pullman Dresden Newa
#16 of 118 in Dresden
1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
Swissotel Dresden
#2 of 118 in Dresden
2,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterCityHotel Dresden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterCityHotel Dresden

Property: InterCityHotel Dresden
Address: Wiener Platz 8, 01069 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Family Hotel in Dresden
#25 Romantic Hotel in Dresden
#27 Business Hotel in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — InterCityHotel Dresden 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterCityHotel Dresden, located in the city centre opposite the main station, extends a welcome to its guests. Discover the historic city with the Frauenkirche and the Zwinger or the city's shopping mile "Prager Strasse", on your trip to Dresden.The city's exhibition grounds are also in the immediate vicinity of the InterCityHotel. With the FreeCityTicket for use of the local public transport, already included in the price of your room, there is nothing more in the way of your business appointment or your sightseeing program. You can also use this to travel on the Elbe ferries or to visit Pillnitz Castle.156 Well furnished rooms and the 6 spacious studios of the InterCityHotel with modern design ensure your comfort and relaxation by the end of an eventful day. Our 4 conference rooms provide the ideal background for both smaller presentations and major conferences with catering for up to 120 participants. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterCityHotel Dresden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercityhotel Hotel Dresden
Dresden Intercityhotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing