We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd Stay Again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Aparthotels Muenzgasse
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Certificate of Excellence
Kaiserslautern, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I'd Stay Again”
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

Great location. The apartment we had was looking directly at the Frauenkirch. Reasonably clean with a modern bathroom. We had a problem with the clothes washer leaking and the came to deal with it immediately. Due to the location by the church, they even provided ear plugs. Several good places to eat close by. Parking: reserve ahead through the aparthotel. You park a distance from the hotel and walk with your bags. We parked at the Hilton which was about the closest. Staff was very friendly. In fact, when we booked, we received an e-mail from staff almost immediately answering our questions. None of the other hotels we stayed at this week did that.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael_1988-now
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    56
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
38
62
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
116 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Well equipped, large apartments. Very clean, and so close to everything in Altstadt. A bakery near by if you prefer to have breakfast in the apartment. One unfortunate thing, though - we had to enter through one bedroom to access the other. Perhaps this only applies to the top floor, as apartments may be smaller there?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrittR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Benton, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The location was great, just where we wanted to be! Right in the heart of the Christmas Market in Dresden.
Before we arrived, I wrote and specifically asked about a washing machine, I received a reply very quickly, which was great, now if the info in it had only been true. I was assured that ALL their rooms had washing machines, and all I had to provide was the soap for the clothes. Our room did NOT have a washing machine, strike one.
We didn't expect our room to be super quite, as we were right at the Market, but even after the market was over for the night, the noise was awful! We were right above a bar that had live music until early in the morning, then as others have said, they moved heavy tables and things around. It was fairly obvious that the hotel knew about this problem, as earplugs were supplied on the night stand, but we were NOT told this could be a problem.
The curtains and the light situation could also be better. Our room was even with a street light that hung just outside our window, you couldn't tell if the lights were on or off, because it was so light in there. My husband got up to be sure the light was off in the kitchen (it was) because it was so light. This is an easy fix. All they would have to do is put up some privacy or blackout drapes, and the problem would be gone.
The worst problem though was the smell. There were no smoking signs in the room, but this was NOT a non-smoking room. When we first arrived and opened the door, we were overwhelmed by the flowery scent in the room, so we opened the windows to air it out, but the reason for the perfumed air was quickly revealed. The room then STUNK of stale smoke. Every soft surface, like the chairs, sheer drapes, bed, and pillows reeked. When you sat down on the bed or chairs the smell intensified, I assume that the smoke smell was "puffing" out of the furnishings every time they were touched. It took days for our luggage to not reek, and we both left with headaches because of the smell. Other than the smell, the room was clean, and well kept.
The room we stayed in could be a good room, with some work. The noise will always be a problem, but the other things that I have mentioned could all be fixed fairly easily.
We appreciated that they had elevators, but they were on 1/2 floors, instead of full floors, so you either have to walk up or down a few steps. Not really a big deal.
All in all, this hotel was a BIG disappointment. On our month in Europe, this was the most expensive room we had, and was, by far the worst. Glad we only stayed there one night.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank MTtraveler2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

The Appartement made a good, clean impression on the first view.

Building 2, Appartement 27...

Be aware, it starts to get terrible up from midnight.
The taipans restaurant underneath cleans up and the stuff moved heavy metal tables over the ceramic floor until 2:00 AM!!

Loud, drunk people that walked through the small street in front where yelling until early morning. The windows don't fulfill a good insulation!

Annoyed people in the house banged against the wall as they thought, the source of noise is in the house.

Parking on first come, first serve is a lie too. They have 4 parking lots in they're inner yard. After you managed to find it (it isn't even the described address), you realize that the bell knob is too far away from the driveway to be reached, so you get out. Enter the front desk in house 5, 2nd floor (no elevator), and learn that you can't park there, but have to drive away and walk back for 5 min or 10 min, if you choose the outdoor parking lots.

After I declared the next day, that I hardly found any sleep and booked ourself in the Hilton next door, the front desk lady agreed.
After hotels.com contacted them, they denied and insisted that I can't cancel the pre payed reservation and they can only move me to another apartment. So not even different communication, but also did they deny to know about the noise from the restaurants in the ground floor.

So, as the manager denied to know about this (read the other reviews about noise that isn't only since 1 week....) I felt that I got lied at myself and even disrespected.

I decided to give the case to my lawyer, as I consider to sue the company for the one night they didn't want to reimburse and about my lost night that I couldn't really sleep. The renting company is tourism specialist, so they must know ...

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank RaRe12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Apartment is OK. Old furnishings, smallish apartment I good location. Watch out if you havea large family, as the apartments are on odd flooring to the lifts, so you will need to haul luggage and family up/ down flights of stairs. Reception is in different area to apartments, also need to haul luggage from there. Apartments are in a central location in Dresden.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 30CountryTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Apartments spacious, clean and comfortable and location couldn't be more central but we had to move apartments due to the noise from the restaurant next door on our first night. Seems some of the apartments share a wall with this restaurant and the music was pounding until around midnight. If you can be sure you don't have one of these apartments, this place is very good value for money and everything else about it was just fine. Very quiet the second night after we moved.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
3 Thank Scottie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goettingen, Germany
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed at this aparthotel for a business trip and it is certainly not well suited for the purpose.
Apart from the fact that it is an aparthotel, i. e. a block of apartments, the fact is that it is located about the populous Muenzgasse, full with restaurants and terraces teeming with people well into the night hours. The noise isolation on the windows helped, but did not eliminate the constant noise of voices and silverware clattering on dishes.
Breakfast, which was included, was served in a kind of restaurant located on the first floor of a building 200 meters away, so in the early morning of a fairly cold autumn day I had to walk the streets for breakfast, not so nice.
The premises as such were good, with ample bedroom and living room, a small kitchen and a full bath with washing machine. And the location is certainly prime, in the middle of the old town center.
In summary, everything is all right for a family vacation (if your kids have a sound sleep) visiting the town, but not suited for an important meeting the next morning at 8 am.

Room Tip: Although the inside yard is VERY ugly, it is bound to be much quieter than the front rooms (it cann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pablo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dresden hotels
Innere Altstadt
Star Inn Hotel Premium Dresden im Haus Altmarkt, by Quality
Innere Altstadt
Amedia Plaza Dresden
Amedia Plaza Dresden
#57 of 118 in Dresden
4.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Innere Altstadt
Vienna House QF Dresden
Vienna House QF Dresden
#9 of 118 in Dresden
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Innere Altstadt
Holiday Inn Express Dresden City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotels Muenzgasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotels Muenzgasse

Property: Aparthotels Muenzgasse
Address: Muenzgasse 10, 01067 Dresden, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Dresden
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 118 Hotels in Dresden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotels Muenzgasse 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotel.de, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aparthotels Muenzgasse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing