We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, historic hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Leipzig
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice, historic hotel”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Nice hotel in the very centre of Leipzig. Old building has been refurbished to modern standards, while retaining some of the old features. Rooms are spacious enough and the bathroom had some marble features. Only thing I missed was a pool but I guess that would be too much to ask for in a city centre historic hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_Evans1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,481
    430
    80
    25
    13
See reviews for
260
882
110
590
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Stayed here one night on a business trip so i didn't book or pay. Staff were really friendly and super helpful. The room was really nice and very comfortable. We ate at the hotel restaurant, which proved to be very good. The bar was also very good and so was the pinot grigo, so much so that I missed breakfast. But I did use the gym which was small, just a couple of tread mills and some cross trainers, weights etc... It was more than enough though. There is a spa but sadly I didn't have time. I would very happily stay here again. Nice city Leipzig. Good atmosphere.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leipzig
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Booked online at steigenberger

Checkin: Friendly, efficient, all fine
Checkout: Had to wait for 10 mins, too much guests checking out

Location: At its best. In the center, close to main station, quiet, but central

Accommodation: Very nice rooms, warm design, perfect beds, 5 star

Gym: Small one, but ok. If you want to run, run outside in the city or a near by park

Spa: Good one, perfect, excellent.

Overall: One of the best hotels in Leipzig. Friendly team whereever you go in this hotel. Good value.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TMG001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013 via mobile

We stay there every year. Very well situated. Friendly and helpful staff. Nice sauna. Splendid rooms. Glamorous hotel !!! The hotel has kept the architectural features of the past. Rich, in every way. Worth wile a visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vosje59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Very warm and friendly welcome from check-in staff, asking me about my journey/trip - one of the hallmarks of a genuine 5 star hotel.
The hotel decor is modern, contemporary and elegant.
My room was very spacious and sophisticated, the furnishings were top quality, everything in the room has been designed and finished to the highest standards.
The huge walk-in closet and the curved sofa, with table, by the window were fantastic features.
Bed very comfortable, pillow menu available, superb sleep quality.
Tea/coffee and complementary water in room was great.
Ordered room service which was delivered at the estimated time and was of excellent quality.
Free-WiFi worked perfectly throughout the stay.
Hotel is walk-able from the main train station even with luggage.
This is the best hotel I've ever stayed in, everything was perfect, if you are staying in Leipzig it is well worth paying a bit extra to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyG572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Very stylish and comfortable hotel in the centre of Leipzig. Close to shops and eating places. We had a large air-conditioned room with a bath and separate shower. There was also tea-making facilities and a coffee machine and wi fi reception was excellent. Very reasonably priced. A slight caution if you arrive by train - it is too far to walk if you have much luggage but so close that our taxi driver was clearly peeved to take us the relatively short distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_and_Dora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had big expectations when we arrived to this hotel. They have a valet parking (for 25 euros) which was efficient and courteous. So, our car was parked for us.

Our reservation was for two rooms and one of them was for handicapped people. We would have expected rooms next to each other (not connecting rooms) or close to each other but no. They located on the same floor but were too distant. The hallways are 100 meters long and the room for handicapped located far away from the elevator. Room allocation was a big minus. Anyway, the the front desk was efficient and we felt welcome.

We had standard rooms. One of the rooms was not 'ready' because we had to ask for soap and there were no welcoming amenities. And they never arrived. The room for handicapped was really big and the other large enough. Both courtyard rooms with depressing view and lack of natural light. Rooms are elegant, air con is silent but the control panel in the other room was located in a weird place, in a corner behind the night lamp. Bathrooms are stylish. The huge bed is truly comfortable. Rooms are ultra clean in every way.

This hotel served one of the best breakfasts ever. Everything is fresh, selection amazing with local specialities. Yummy! And service is great.

This hotel is truly Grand.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelManiaxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#8 of 100 in Leipzig
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Westin Leipzig
#9 of 100 in Leipzig
943 reviews
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 100 in Leipzig
3,428 reviews
Zentrum
Seaside Park Hotel Leipzig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof

Property: Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof
Address: Salzgaesschen 6, 04109, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 Hotels in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind the historical facade of the former exhibition building in the city centre of Leipzig, the guest will find a truly modern luxury hotel, the Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof. The spacious rooms and suites have no comparison anywhere in Leipzig, as is the case with the large lobby bar, wine store and the Brasserie Le Grand. In addition to planning time for an extended stroll through the adjoining Grimmaische Strasse and Leipzig's pedestrian zone, the guest should be sure to reserve a couple of hours to be spend in the spacious fitness and wellness area. The function rooms on the conference floor are ideal for both international conferences and private occasions. Music lovers will appreciate the short distances to the concert halls of the city such as the Gewandhaus, Leipzig's concert hall, the opera house or St. Thomas Church. Also other landmarks and famous places of interest in and around the town hall square and the Naschmarkt can be reached easily on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing