We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical luxury hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I don't normally stay in such grand hotels (we got a nice deal on a room, out of season...) so I can't really compare this hotel to others of the same standard. Nothing stood out as particularly wonderful, but it was all clean, and tastefully done, and quiet. Reception were nice when I wanted to buy a stamp...but nothing else really stands out! The location is good, central to delightful Leipzig.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cultural_dessert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,346)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

348 - 354 of 2,346 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2014

I stayed just one night and enjoyed. The room is exellent in every detail and the bed is wonderful. Bathroom is excellent and of course all places are top-clean. Service and everything is just what you expect from a luxury hotel. I arrived at 11:30 am and got the room immediately and thus was able to enjoy the whole 24 hrs. But I would anyway give a 5- or 4½. That's because: for more than 200e/night, in my opinion, breakfast should always be included (it was the book fair time so prices were perhaps higher than normal, but still my opinion stays). The coffee machine didn't work or I couldn't use it and there were no instructions how to use it. The "spa" is just sauna (nice, yes), but I assume a spa should have some sort of pool, and there were no cosmetics in the sauna, just a normal soap dispenser on the wall.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frida30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Regrettably, one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in has Wi-Fi speed worthy of a rat-infested B&B in Bangalore.

How is it that hoteliers are slow to realize that high-speed (that, ladies and gentlemen means FAST) internet is as necessary as running hot water?

Friendly smiles from a helpful but utterly clueless staff only serve to increase the irritation.

I am very disappointed and this will be my last stay here.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
5  Thank artabuneta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Lovely hotel, superbly located just off Markt square, luxurious room and bathroom, very helpful reception staff, arranged a trip for us, didn't use bar or restaurant as plenty of alternatives nearby so can't comment in them other than that couldn't fault the hotel!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Lloyds66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Great Location in the city. Very spacious rooms with seperate shower. King size bed, free internet (fast) and welcome bottle of water. Fast check in, nice staff. Very clean. Exellent bar service (with my favorite Gin ... Monkey 47) ..... Reasonable prices at the bar. Great breakfast with friendly staff again, free newspaper and .... and .... and ... Bell "boy" at check out very friendly. Check out fast.
I will add this hotel to my favorite places in Germany and return fast ! Rate also ok 5+ stars !!!

Room Tip: I had a backyard room ... very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank_and_Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Excellent hotel. Rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable, while unobtrusive service is of the highest quality. Sauna in the basement well worth visiting as well. As leisure travellers at a weekend we were able to get very good rates on the web as well.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Milton25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Great hotel, arranged in detail. Historic building, very nice rooms with walk in closet!! Amazing!! One of the best hotels I ever stayed in. In the middle of city center! Very nice surroundings. Place you should stay and visit!!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernartdeleeuw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 102 in Leipzig
3,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#8 of 102 in Leipzig
594 reviews
The Westin Leipzig
#11 of 102 in Leipzig
990 reviews
Zentrum
Seaside Park Hotel Leipzig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof

Address: Salzgaesschen 6, 04109, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Price Range: £111 - £297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind the historical facade of the former exhibition building in the city centre of Leipzig, the guest will find a truly modern luxury hotel, the Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof. The spacious rooms and suites have no comparison anywhere in Leipzig, as is the case with the large lobby bar, wine store and the Brasserie Le Grand. In addition to planning time for an extended stroll through the adjoining Grimmaische Strasse and Leipzig's pedestrian zone, the guest should be sure to reserve a couple of hours to be spend in the spacious fitness and wellness area. The function rooms on the conference floor are ideal for both international conferences and private occasions. Music lovers will appreciate the short distances to the concert halls of the city such as the Gewandhaus, Leipzig's concert hall, the opera house or St. Thomas Church. Also other landmarks and famous places of interest in and around the town hall square and the Naschmarkt can be reached easily on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing