We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at central location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Leipzig
Reviewed 26 July 2014

This very nice hotel is located in the centre of town. It is a true Grand Hotel with nicely furnished modern rooms. The old facade houses a modern interior and is a true jewell. The downside is however that the promoted free internet is useless. They cap it to 256 kps and block even VPN traffic. I don't have any understanding how such a property does not just provide a basic need as Internet is. This is really poor service and the only item that raises to a complaint.

Room Tip: ask for city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHBBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

339 - 345 of 2,464 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

We arrived early in the day and were able to access our room immediately which was a nice touch. The hotel is well appointed and our room had everything we required. Didn't use the restaurant as there are plenty of eating places within walking distance. The concierge was very helpful with recommendations for dinner. The gym and sauna complex in the basement have all the necessary equipment, and are spotlessly clean!
We were taking a train later in the day so left our luggage at the hotel which was not a problem and reception were happy to provide directions for museums and other attractions.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank battersea90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Beautiful rooms, nice bath room, comfortable valet parking (@ Eur 22), excellent location, beds a bit soft. Good and friendly service. Enjoyable bar. The restaurant is ok but nothing special. The only downside was the internet connection. There are different options and the free service is limited to 256 kps which is by far too slow. However we were told at the check out that we should have choosen the broadband option which is charged however charges are refunded on the bill at checkout.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank ggmwdk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Superb location, just off the main market square. Completely renovated with subdued tones. Been staying on and off here for 4 weeks and the service has been consistently of a very high standard. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for the city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank munichmurph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The hotel’s excellent central location, together with a very high standard of luxury and comfort, and its friendly, helpful staff made this an ideal choice of hotel. However, as others have noted, the breakfasts are very expensive here, although there are à la carte options which may be better value for those who prefer a smaller, more limited meal. Having said that, we still decided to breakfast elsewhere each day in a nearby café, which we found perfectly adequate for only a fraction of the price. Also, despite getting good a WiFi connection in our room, we were unable to use it to connect to the Internet on any of the four days of our stay, although this was not a prime concern.

Nevertheless, this is definitely a hotel we would recommend. For us, the location and level of comfort made it a clear winner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whicker25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Excellent location right in the heart of Liepzig so we were able in just one overnight 24 hour stay to visit the major sights on foot including attending a concert in a smaller room at the Gewandhaus booked by the hotel (only 12 Euros per ticket). Our car was valet-parked for not much more than the overnight car park rate and was waiting for us outside the main entrance 24 hours later - with a complimentary bottle of water for the journey.
Finding it was easy using the satnav but to actually get to it we had to ask a very helpful receptionist at the Marriott Hotel nearby where our satnav gave up - lots of temporary roadworks blocked off the road.
The room was superb with heavy doors and thick walls so we were not even aware of any other guests. Bathroom the best ever - 3 separate rooms so the shower and toilet were completely partitioned off from the main bath and basin section. The view from our top floor looking out over the small square at the back of the Rathaus was splendid and we were able to go out onto the mini balcony to view the scene next to stone carvings of cupids on horses.
As breakfast was quite expensive we ate in the cafe in the back of the complex overlooking the Rathaus which was very popular for brunch with the locals.
This hotel is luxury at a price which can only sky-rocket in the future so again I highly recommend that you go now if you can.

Room Tip: Top floor overlooking the Rathaus is splendid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HelenHallpike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

This hotel is truely "wunderbar"!
Perfect location, realy nice rooms with the highest ceillings ever, excellent service with a genuine smile. Pool and sauna with style.
Everythings is nice in this 5* hotel... and the good news is...it's affordable also!

Look for nice deals and you will pay not much more the 100€ a night.
Park at the self park opposite of the hotel for 14€ a night. Breakfast buffet is great but (to) expensive at 28€ pp, however, the hotel is surrounded by nice café's and restaurants where you can have a complete breakfast for less then € 10,-
All in all...when in Leipzig...this is the place to be!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NobRotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 103 in Leipzig
3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#11 of 103 in Leipzig
607 reviews
Zentrum
Seaside Park Hotel Leipzig
The Westin Leipzig
#12 of 103 in Leipzig
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof

Address: Salzgaesschen 6, 04109, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Leipzig
Price Range: £101 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind the historical facade of the former exhibition building in the city centre of Leipzig, the guest will find a truly modern luxury hotel, the Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof. The spacious rooms and suites have no comparison anywhere in Leipzig, as is the case with the large lobby bar, wine store and the Brasserie Le Grand. In addition to planning time for an extended stroll through the adjoining Grimmaische Strasse and Leipzig's pedestrian zone, the guest should be sure to reserve a couple of hours to be spend in the spacious fitness and wellness area. The function rooms on the conference floor are ideal for both international conferences and private occasions. Music lovers will appreciate the short distances to the concert halls of the city such as the Gewandhaus, Leipzig's concert hall, the opera house or St. Thomas Church. Also other landmarks and famous places of interest in and around the town hall square and the Naschmarkt can be reached easily on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing