We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and bad night's sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mercure Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz
Ranked #12 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Disappointing and bad night's sleep”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This hotel has lots of good reviews and is rated highly as a place to stay in Leipzig, but I really don't know why it is supposed to be so good.
Yes, it is clean, albeit that the decor looks like it belongs in the 80s, but I couldn't find much else to get excited about. I had a privilege room, so the size of the room was very good. Again, the decor was functional but there were more negative aspects to the room:
- there was a general smell of sewage at certain times of the day.
- no air-conditioning so the room was very stuffy.
- the bedlinen was horribly uncomfortable. I'm not an expert, but I would say the sheets and pillowcases were not cotton, or at least had a high percentage of man-made fibres in them. I found myself waking up so often that I finally got dressed and slept in my clothes so that my skin didn't have to touch the sheets. Of course, it may be that I just have very sensitive skin, but it hasn't been a problem in all the other hotels I regularly stay at.
- the Toblerone in the minibar was mouldy.
I didn't try breakfast. At least upon check-out the gentleman at reception was a lot more polite and friendly than the sullen lady had been upon check-in the day before.
I won't stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkbpkb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    259
    71
    18
    4
See reviews for
46
167
55
173
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I cannot fault the Mercure am Johannisplatz. Good location for getting into town, a modern hotel with all the conveniences you would expect, comfortable room, good breakfast and nice helpful staff.
Bear in mind: the underground car park is €11.50 for 24 hours but very good, the Wi-Fi is not free but there is free internet access on a computer close to the reception (very hot and claustrophobic) and extremely slow. At least I could do my emails and then get out quickly.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front get some noise from traffic but not too much, rooms to the back get some noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woibam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights June 2013 - its clean, modern and comfortable. The hotel staff were excellent as my dads suitcase had been delayed for 2 days and the reception staff were checking with the airline hourly and keeping us updated. It is well located and within walking distance of all local attractions. Eating out and drinks were very cheap, which I didn't expect. Would love to go back at Christmas as the worlds largest free standing advent calendar is in Leipzig, and is meant to be fabulous!
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amberose1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

As other reviewers have said the hotel is not exactly right in the centre of the city but it is only a short walk and I believe the trams near-by were well connected. The welcome I received was admittedly not particularly warm but efficienct none the less.

My room was super. Very well sized and comfortable. The standard of cleaning was very, very high and I certainly couldn't fault any element of this. I was lucky enough to receive wifi access in the deal that I booked so I can't comment on the cost of this otherwise...

I found the bakery next door very handy but did have breakfast on the second day of my stay and it was very good.

All in all I had a very pleasent stay here and would recommend the hotel to anyone travelling to Leipzig.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JSW390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in a suite. The room was clean... that's all I can say about the room:"clean" nothing else worth mentioning. I must add ther was a coffee machine as well. The personnel was helpful. The location was good but considering Leipzig is such a small city it was not "right in the center". You can walk to the city center in about 5-10 minutes which was OK with me. Wi fi was not free of charge in any point of the hotel including the reception area. There was a bussiness center behind the reception with a computer and a printer (free of charge). It was tooooo slow but I managed to do an online check in, check my em ails, etc. My stay included breakfast and it was actually quite satisfactory with stuff suitable for evryone's taste. A friend of mine had to pay for the breakfast and it was 16 Euros! which was more than it deserved, at least in our opinion. There is a brothaus just next to the hotel's main entry where you can have berakfast at more reasonable prices as my friend did so.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the backside of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelinIstanbul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We stayed in the Mercure Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz on our recent trip to Leipzig. It was a short walk to both the centre of the city and the train station. Free internet access was available on a terminal next to reception but it was rather slow.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Rodman-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Denis, Reunion Island
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Was visiting a friend in Leipzig, decided to stay there based on the reviews I had read. Expect a 10-15 min walk from the main station depending on how fast you walk. Nice check-in, quick and efficient. The room was absolutely spotless as was the rest of the hotel. Not a sign of wear whether in the bathroom or on the carpet. Very quiet as well. Very good and comfy bed too! The breakfast considering the price was amazing!!! Super service with friendly staff, awesome selection and quality. Also used the internet corner located behind the counter at the reception as I don't think Wifi was free but I may be mistaken. So yeah, highly recommended hotel, maybe some people could complain about the fact that other hotels (like the Novotel) are much closer to the station but then again the great quality of the stay more than made up for it!
Thank you Mercure Leipzig!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beautifullydepressed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
pentahotel Leipzig
#3 of 102 in Leipzig
3,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#7 of 102 in Leipzig
569 reviews
Zentrum
Seaside Park Hotel Leipzig
IntercityHotel Leipzig
#14 of 102 in Leipzig
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz

Property: Mercure Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz
Address: Stephanstr. 6, 04103, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Dorint)
Region: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
#12 Business Hotel in Leipzig
#13 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz 4*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a short stroll from the city centre, the 4 star hotel Mercure Leipzig Am Johannisplatz is in a quiet area and features 174 rooms and 9 conference rooms. All the major sights are nearby, such as the famous Auerbachs Cellar, the old town hall as wellas theopera and Gewandhaus concert hall. Our friendly service will ensure your stay in Leipzig is a pleasant one. After a busy day, relax in our wellness area or enjoy Saxon specialties in our restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Hotel Leipzig Am Johannisplatz

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing