We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 4* standard, little value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Galerie Hotel Leipziger Hof
Ranked #43 of 100 Hotels in Leipzig
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not 4* standard, little value for money”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

The Hotel is fine and reasonably clean, but:
+ size of room definitely not 4*
+ relatively loud
+ no shampoo
Overall low value for money and disappointing, but with a 3* rating and for a lower price it would be fine.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vosswamperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    22
    20
    3
    3
See reviews for
1
18
6
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Galerie Hotel is a pretty standard hotel that's typical for this area. The things that make it stand out as a little different from the chains popping up in every city is that it is a living art gallery and the eccentric jacuzzi downstairs. I'm not someone that understands art which was probably just as well with what is on offer but there are some striking pieces and I think the concept is good. The jacuzzi and steam room is not what I expected to find here but it's a quirky feature which I would say is worth giving a go but just make sure there's no more than two of you using the facilities or it would get crowded. The beer garden is fine and a simple beer with sausage and bread for lunch more than ample. Only thing that lets the hotel down is the area that it is situated in but it's very easily accessed by the tram. Staff are very accommodating as we'll. All in all if you have ended up in Leipzig then something has went wrong straight away but you could do worse than stay at the Galerie Hotel.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KJAM80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill A, Verkaufsleiter at Galerie Hotel Leipziger Hof, responded to this review, 16 November 2012
Thank you for staying in our hotel and for evaluating our facilities. We are happy, that you liked our concept and would be looking forward, if we can welcome you again in our house during your next stay in Leipzig.
Kind regards.
Bill Apel
Galerie Hotel Leipziger Hof
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

would you like to sleep at the construction site listening to heavy machinery noises?? or do you prefer to put your pillow next to the street cart and enjoy the clinking of the metal wheels? or may be your idea of a lullaby is a three hour conversation between two loud med speaking an unknown language right under your window? it the answer is no to all tree options, i suggest not to stay in galerie hotel. do not get me wrong: it is a nice place, almost clean, with a good size room and pleasant staff. but they do not have a/c and with the windows wide open we had to listen to construction noise, street cars sounds and very loud conversations in the street for hours on end. i do not think that in the winter the picture would be different. most likely the windows are not sound proof. on a side note - i have never seen a dirtier place in europe than leipzig and less alluring. goethe , according to frommer's guide, called leipzig "miniature paris". may be some things change in time, i suspect that the famous poet opinion would become different today.

Room Tip: find a different hotel and even better - a different city for your vacation
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irene1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Stayed during a week when it was 30+ degrees celcius, had a room facing south with no airco, so it was an oven. Rooms are tiny, and the overall look is a bit worn down. The neighboorhood looks crappy. The biergarten outside is nice, although no-one will serve you anything unless you ask reception. The art gallery was really nice.

Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Martine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill A, Verkaufsleiter at Galerie Hotel Leipziger Hof, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for your kind words. I am sorry, that your stay in our hotel had not been satisfying. For hot days you can ask for a fan at the reception. If available, it is also possible to ask for another room (not to the south). We would be looking forward to welcome you an other time in our hotel and to show you a better service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leipzig hotels

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Hotel a bit of a walk but if you take the number 1 or 3 tram to eiberstrabe no problem. Area of walk a bit dodgy so don't walk alone at night. Good value though. Big room and okay bed. Staff was very helpful and recommended a great local Mexican restaurant where the locals eat. We could also buy tram tickets right at the desk and they had printed directions. Breakfast was in a quaint room and was very tasty with many options. I couldn't stop eating the muesli. Recommend it for the budget traveller who wants comfort and value.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank shoesareme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill A, Verkaufsleiter at Galerie Hotel Leipziger Hof, responded to this review, 6 September 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Our staff is struggled to help you in all cases. We would be looking forward to welcome you soon in our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2011

I stayed at the Galerie Hotel in Leipzig for more than a week in July 2011. I was in Leipzig for business and was booked into this hotel by my workplace, so I didn't choose this hotel to stay at.

The hotel is located in the east end of the city. There are some shops around - two small low-end grocery stores are nearby, some Turkish restaurants etc. There are two tram stops nearby and it is less than a 10 minute tram ride to the main train station (where there is a mall with everything including 2 grocery stores and a post office).

However, as a solo female traveller, I did not feel safe in the neightborhood. There are a lot of abandoned buildings nearby and no one is around at night (except for the locals leaving the bars). I always had to take a cab back to the hotel in the evening and the cost for that adds up. Also, the hotel locks the front door at midnight, and you have to get buzzed in. Waiting alone at night after the cab left the first time for the door to open was not a fun experience to say the least.

The main draw of the hotel is that there is a lot of art work there and each room has a original piece of art. That was interesting and it was like a gallery there because of it.

However, the rest of the hotel is looking tired and outdated. The decor in the room was that of a typical motel (flowered bedspread, which had cirgarette burns in it), and 1970s style furniture. The TV was older as well and had 1 English channel (Eurosport network). There was a mini-bar and you had to pay 5 Euros for the internet (for your entire stay). The room was clean though and the bathroom was spacious, which helped.

There was a free breakfast and it had a huge selection - cereal, hot items (eggs, sausage), milk, bread, jam, yogart, fruit, meat, cheese and drinks. The staff at the breakfast was very helpful and always offered refills when needed. The breakfast room also doubled as the hotel's restaurant in the evening but I never ate there.

The staff at the hotel was very nice and always willing to help with directions to local attractions, calling a cab etc. They also have tram tickets available to buy (the 1.50 and 5 Euro ones), which is very helpful and saved me from the confusing machines most morning.

Overall, I wouldn't stay in the hotel again. I had an OK stay and the staff was great. However, I just didn't feel safe in the neighborhood and thought that the hotel is in need of renovations and updating.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SassySarahToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashland, Oregon
Level Contributor
131 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in May 2011. Our room was spacious and clean, although we had to open all the windows for comfort (thereby letting in street noise). Air conditioning would be a big plus - I expect the summer months could be very uncomfortable. The staff is friendly and helped with local transportation advice. Tram stop is about 7 minutes walk, followed by a short ride to the main station. The breakfast was great.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 100 in Leipzig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,356 reviews
Hotel Berlin
#27 of 100 in Leipzig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zentrum-Südost
Days Inn Leipzig City Centre
Mercure Hotel Art Leipzig
#18 of 100 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Galerie Hotel Leipziger Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Galerie Hotel Leipziger Hof

Property: Galerie Hotel Leipziger Hof
Address: Hedwigstr. 1-3, 04315, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 100 Hotels in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Galerie Hotel Leipziger Hof 3.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The GALERIE HOTEL LEIPZIGER HOF is Leipzig´s famous art hotel with an own art collection and an own art gallery about the "Leipziger Schule".Beside the usual standard of a 4 star hotel all of our 73 rooms, which are equipped with bath/shower, WC, hairdryer, satellite-TV, minibar, telephone, connection for wireless LAN, offer a unique art collection from and about Leipzig. There are more than 350 original paintings you can admire in the entire house and gallery (“With us you will sleep with an original”). Our conference area offers excellent possibilities for meetings and events from 5 up to 90 persons. The hotel is located downtown, about 1300m east of the main station, easy to reach by public transportation. From the Autobahn Nürnberg - Berlin (A 9) and Leipzig -Dresden (A 14) you can reach us within 15 minutes, from the airport in 25 minutes.In addition the hotel offers a great restaurant, an area for recreation with sauna and whirlpool (10.00 EUR per person).Roofed parking spaces are available in our inner courtyard for 7.00 EUR per night and car. Parking spaces free of charge you will find in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Galerie Hotel Leipziger Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Galerie Hotel Leipzig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing