We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel but Be Careful When They Take Payment”
Review of pentahotel Leipzig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
pentahotel Leipzig
Ranked #3 of 102 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 August 2012

This is a very nice hotel close to the centre of Leipzig.
However, please be aware that on top of paying for your room, they will take, without telling you, an extra 50 euros, as a deposit, returnable on check-out. Of course, this will take several days to appear again on your credit card after check out.
If you are travelling on a budget, this could have a severe effect on your trip, as it did with mine.
When I discovered this, I enquired at reception but all I got was "It's Company Policy". I find this appalling, especially when you are not told, and only discover this when you try to use your credit card. This "Company Policy" ruined my trip.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingDaveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,692)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

265 - 271 of 3,692 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2012

After we arriving at this hotel, just for 1 night, we wished we had booked a longer stay. Huge bed in a big room, great WIFI (free), lovely lobby & bar, great breakfast and 10 minutes walk from the medieval centre. All for a very cheap price.
Don´t stay anywhere else!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SenorCharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

A quirky hotel, located 5 minutes walk from the historic city center. I liked the lobby with the reception being a bar at the other end. The seating areas invited you to sit there wand watch people. The prices for beverages and food were also not as bad as I had anticipated in such a trendy hotel and came as a pleasant surprise. The room I found to be spacious and the beds very comfy. Nicely decorated and clean. Had a room at the west wing, overlooking the park, and it was lovely and quiet.The air con was a bit of a waste of time, and could really have done with it as temp were in the 30C s.
The bathroom could do with upgrading, it is starting to look a little dated, but nothing major. The staff were all very friendly and efficient. Had a very enjoyable stay
If you have time try the Museum in the Old Rathaus, it is worth it, but very little info in English. The Egyptian Museum is a gem, but be warned : there is no info in English at all, so German reading is essential. The walking tour organized by the Tourist Office is however bilingual and excellent

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2nightowl432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Penta Hotel was very good. The hotel is in a city centre location, a 5 minutes walk to Augustusplatz and a 10 minutes walk to Hauptbahnhof, bars and restaurants also in easy reach of the hotel. The room was big and clean, had comfortable beds and satellite television including Sky Sports. The staff were helpful, looking after our bags after we checked out earlier on in the day. The breakfast buffet was lovely. The facilities were good with a vending machine on our floor. My negatives would be that the hotel bar was quite expensive compared to the city centre and there wasn’t a safe in the room to store our valuables. I can see why the hotel is rated 3rd in Leipzig and we would stay here again if ever in Leipzig.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Bolase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2012

We spend one night in this hotel travelling to our holiday destination in Tsjechie. We loved the hotel: good beds, great linnen, dark room, clean bathroom, modern interior, a sitting area in the bedroom, silent. Nothing negative to add. We had to single beds, but they were a bigger size then usual wich is great.
The bar and restaurant area was lovely and very trendy. The hotel is just outside the city but in a five minute walking distance you are in the city so I would say the location is perfect. We found free parking around the hotel. Around the bar area, there is a large sitting room were you can enjoy reading. We had a cocktail and dinner in the hotel and it was very good and not pricy. I would certainly go to this hotel or other Pentahotels again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaraBxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

I would suggest this hotel as the absolute first choice to anyone visiting Leipzig. Gemütlich is the German word for cosy and I feel that this is the best way to characterize this modern, dynamic and yet very friendly hotel. We spent a night there, courtesy of Lufthansa which reprotected us there since our flight was cancelled and rescheduled for the next day.
You make a grand entry into the foyer, reminiscing a discothèque, with the reception and the well-stocked bar placed back-to-back. But the immense lounge has more relaxing corners, with a reading area with a full library, a warm fireplace, a pool table and many more amenities. The staff looks much like disco people in their black t-shirts, but their performance is impeccable, friendly and professional at the same time. They give the impression that having you there is an incredible boon and make every effort to make you feel at home..
Located near the ring road, in a low-traffic back alley, it is incredibly quiet and yet close to the old town. The rooms are spacious, very clean, well lit, with king-size ultra comfortable beds. The bathroom is spacious, with three differing kind of bath/showers. A courtesy bottle of water is waiting for you on the table, together with other treats in the bathroom and an array of IT connections.
The restaurant is really good, serving generous portions of well prepared food. The choice of beverages is equally wide.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefano M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

The PentaHotel in my opinion has really found and defined its own individual sense of style, as opposed to fit the mainstream. The staff are polite and professional. Being so close to the city centre it has proved excellent value for money...and the steak selection needs a special mention hmmm

Room Tip: If you stay on the second floor, it is worth getting the executive club access. Buffet meals and unl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alpesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
The Westin Leipzig
#10 of 102 in Leipzig
976 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zentrum
Seaside Park Hotel Leipzig
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#8 of 102 in Leipzig
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Leipzig

Address: Grosser Brockhaus 3, 04103, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany (Formerly Renaissance Leipzig Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
#2 Family Hotel in Leipzig
#4 Business Hotel in Leipzig
#4 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range: £70 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Leipzig 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pentahotel Leipzig enjoys a central yet totally peaceful location, just a step away from countless attractions. Everything is within easy walking distance – including the Gewandhaus concert hall, the opera house, a wealth of museums and galleries, the main railway station, interesting shopping arcades and the legendary pub districts. Why not have a listen to the famous Thomaner Choir or immerse yourself in the city’s colourful night life? Our large pool, fitness and sauna area, which occupies two floors, is a place of relaxation and pleasure. Enjoy a swim before breakfast or a sauna session before bed. The area is open to you 24 hours a day – free of charge of course. Enjoy the pentahotel Leipzig where the pentapeople always provide a sense of lively community amongst hotel guests, drop-in customers and hotel associates while giving our guests pentafun and surprise in lounge and guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your pentahotel Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentahotel Hotel Leipzig
Renaissance Leipzig
Leipzig Pentahotel Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing