We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A short stay but impressed”
Review of The Westin Leipzig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westin Leipzig
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2012

A one night, mid-week stay on a business trip with the room rate being a corporate rate that, to be fair, was excellent value (approx £60 inc breakfast). A 27 storey hotel, very close to the centre of Leipzig (a five minute stroll had me in the main square and close to numerous bars and restaurants). The room (the "deluxe" double) was clean with great views (17th floor). The bed was large and comfortable although it was clearly a twin pushed together to make a large "double". Two matresses and two quilts kind of gave the game away. Lots of storage, mini bar, room safe, no tea / coffee making facilities, wired internet (€7.50 for one hour, €19 for 24hrs), decent sized bathroom and a good, hot shower. Bathrobes and slippers supplied for use, although the bathrobe was very thin and not particularly nice against the skin.

There is an attractive bar on the 27th floor and a two star Michelin restaurant up there and there is a separate restaurant lower down (first floor?) and then another bar in the lobby area. Rooms start on the 10th floor so if you're worried about heights then bear this in mind. Lots of conferences take place here (built for that very reason as I understand) so it can be busy at certain times. They offer a limo service if that's important to you.

The staff I dealt with (Reception - check in and out - and the Falco Bar) were polite and attentive and spoke excellent English. The breakfast (on paper) didn't appeal so I gave it a miss. Looking at the information left in the room, it appears that there is a Pool and Sauna area (with it's own dedicated lift, apparently) but the information made it sound like using these was at additional cost to the guest. Clearly, if that's true then it's not what many guests to a (supposed) five star establishment would expect. However, time was limited so I wasn't able to check it out for myself.

English and American newspapers appeared to be on sale at the front desk.

Room Tip: At the height they are, they all have pretty good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GingerChimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,012)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

198 - 204 of 1,012 reviews

Reviewed 15 April 2012

I've stayed many times at the Westin Leipzig over the years, travelling for business, latest in April 2012. It's a high rise from the DDR times, renovated to a very good standard. Location right next to the historical center and the main railway station.

At around 100 € per night it is really good value, although charging extra for internet pulls the impression down. Breakfast buffet is large and good value, and there is also a really good sushi restaurant on the top floor.

Rooms are very good standard, although the single rooms are really single, ie a bit small and with a single bed, so if you want space book a double.

Room Tip: All rooms come with a great view over the city. It's rumoured that the Stasi had a whole floor i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Huge luxury hotel, very close to central station and short walk (approx. 10 min) to historic city center. Superb views from top floors. Nice and helpful staff. Quiet and comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast buffet. Sauna and pool area kind of seedy and in need of renovation, not really up to the standards of a contemporary luxury hotel. Internet service poor (no Wifi). Bar on top floor offers great views but rather small and overpriced.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HScuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Standard facilities are available like any other average hotel of same league, with no particular strengths or weakness. Location is good and breakfast excellent. Concierge is very courteous and prompt.

Only drawback is that the concept of wifi and internet facility ( which is a basic facilityin today's world) does not seem to have adequately reached this hotel. There is NO wifi available in room.Wired access in room has to be purchased that is valid only for 1 hr (at 7.5 Euro) since your purchase ( or 19.50/24 hrs) . Users should be careful while buying these slots because unlike the routine with most hotels here they do not allow you to use the purchased one hour or 24 hours of internet facility over your whole stay (interestingly the concierge also was not aware of it ) .In other words if you stay for 3 days and need 15 min internet everyday either you purchase 1 hour every day or buy a slot for 1 week (which is actually unnecessary for you)

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anil_gn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We had our sales conference there, 700 people, efficient check in, friendly staff. Needed to go to another place for meetin hotel's transportation took care. Breakfast very good, serving the cappuchino when asked. Food during breaks and in the evening good.

Overall very good place to have a conference, parking available, rooms are modern.

Room Tip: Stayed at the 24th floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheVanHs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2011

I was in this hotel for one night on 24th Nov 2011. The hotel is at a good location nearby the christmas market and the front office staff are realy smart for a quick check in or check out. Only negative thing is that although I got my room at 15:00 hrs but my other two friends had to wait another one hour for check in. The breakfast is really good with lot of varieties but becomes too crowded if you go around 8:30 AM. Overall the stay was realy good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank prakdora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2011

I was part of a fairly large travel party with an artist.
Originally we were supposed to be at another, only 4-star hotel in Leipzig.

Having heard good things about The Westin I made the proposal to switch over from our old hotel.
Re-scheduling and booking went super smooth, checkin was handled professionally and speedy - without loosing the eye for details and special requests (connecting doors, anti-allergic pillows, etc).

The rooms (deluxe and junior suites) were just great, a little outdate here and there, agreed - but still in excellent shape and very clean.

We did not get the chance to enjoy the breakfast, due to early check-out, but some of us had dinner and room service and were full of good criticism.

Over all The Westin is my first choice when in Leipzig - its location is super convenient, the staff is great and the hotel is amongst the best the city has to offer.

I'll be there again soon and I am looking forward to it.

Room Tip: get a room with a city-view, especially in the winter time. You'll have a amazing view over snow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coastbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 103 in Leipzig
3,916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#11 of 103 in Leipzig
607 reviews
Zentrum
Seaside Park Hotel Leipzig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Leipzig

Address: Gerberstr. 15, 04105, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Leipzig
#8 Business Hotel in Leipzig
#9 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
#10 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range: £86 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Leipzig 4.5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Leipzig Hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre only a short distance from the main train station and close to attractions such as the Leipzig Zoo with the outstanding "Gondwanaland" tropical African rainforest. An unparalleed fusion of local history and modern design in Leipzig. As soon as you enter our hotel the special atmosphere is palpable. The aesthetic and distinct elegance of our lobby is reflected in our 436 rooms and suites with magnificent panoramic views. Enjoy our undivided attention as we attend to your every need with excellent and courteous service. Take a culinary journey and experience the variety of our restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Westin Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Leipzig Hotel Leipzig
Westin Leipzig
Leipzig Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing