We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High up in the center of Leipzig”
Review of The Westin Leipzig

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Leipzig
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Leipzig
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    376
    127
    32
    14
See reviews for
74
254
99
404
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amstelveen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
127 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The views from this hotel are excellent, and so is the breakfast buffet. Buffet is expensive, but if you book room via the hotel's own website, you can also book an interesting discount on the breakfast!
Most rooms are the same size, but the more expensive rooms have better views, and the decoration of the room is a bit nicer.
The matrasses are nice: not too hard, not too soft. The less expensive rooms have two beds placed against each other. We did not like that, and we needed to upgrade ourselves to solve it (reasonable price difference!). In the more expensive rooms they somehow they managed to avoid a "canyon" between the two matrasses.
The hotel was initially Japanese owned and still has some marks of it. The Japanese restaurant on the ground floor serves good quality food. Please make sure to reserve a table or you're likely to be disappointed. The German waiter was not particularly welcoming, so go for the food, not for the atmosphere. If no tables are available, and you want Japanese food, then ask for room service. Do not go to the "Japanese" restaurant on the other side of the street, on the rim of the old city centre. That restaurant focuses on quantity, no quality (although their sushi were OK).

Room Tip: If you are given the choice, take a room facing the old city centre, and try to get as high up as po...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antje R, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this review, 28 December 2015
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Westin Leipzig with us. We hope to see you soon again. Kind regards A.Reichstein - Area Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Nice hotel, located in walking distance to the city center. Superb service and staff. Beautiful bar. Draw back, small rooms, building was built a long time ago, Eastern European standard, small rooms east style.... Positive amazing breakfast

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TSK759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken a moment of time to share your thoughts and impression with us and the Tripadvisor community. Your feedback is much appreciated and gives us the unique chance to listen carefully to our guests' voice. We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Very nice accommodations, conveniently located to both the main train station and trams. We required daily travel to the convention center, and this hotel served our purpose. Delicious breakfast available, along with fitness center. Only negatives, morning coffee available in room via very $$$$ room service. Fitness center/swimming pool also required out-of-pocket $$ cost.

All in all, an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DVogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having shared your impressions with us and with Tripadvisor - your feedback is really appreciated and I am glad you had a good time all in all. Please let me know if I can do anything for your future stays. Hope to you see you again.

Greetings to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

What a great location, close to the city center and whatever you may need. The train station is a short walk, bank across the street and a perfect little bakery. The hotel has everything you may need, great spa and pool which is a must to visit. The staff are excellent and so helpful. Morning breakfast is the best in Germany!

Perfect hotel.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tmengel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and for sharing with us your impressions. The nicest reward for our daily work in the aim to make the stay of our guest comfortable. Thank you! Greetings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
216 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

No heavenly beds here; standard EU style rooms and beddings. Small bathroom. Gym is small but adequate and accessed via a separate elevator. Staff were friendly and helpful. A bit of walking distance to train station and city center; not fun in the frigid winter. Breakfast was buffet style and very well supplied with both warm and cold selections, German and American style breakfast. Definite highlight of the stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeeTee54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Westin Leipzig for your stay and thank you for making us happy and of course for having taken a moment of your time to reflect on your experiences. I will be very happy to welcome you back on your next visit to Leipzig and wishing you all the best for 2014! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duesseldorf
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Stayed at Westin in Leipzig after Xmas for two nights. The standard room was nothing special, but we loved the view over the old town! Right after check in we called the service express for two bath robes which seem to be missing in our room. 5min. later they were there in front of our door :-) Air condition, which we feared by reading critiques was warm enough. Swimming pool and Sauna, both we enjoyed eveyday was clean and surprisingly empty, assuming due to the 3EUR entrance fee. The only minus was the breakfast. Was not worth to pay 22EUR per head and up to the standards of other Westin hotels in Germany. For the price we must pay we would expect to find much better selections for breads and cheese.

Room Tip: Anywhere above 18th floor you can get a nice view of Leipzig!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank apfelstrudel_monster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antje R, Marketing Manager at The Westin Leipzig, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear guest, first of all we wish you a Happy New Year! Thank you for your feedback - we really regret that you were not satisfied with our breakfast. Certainly we can not meet all expectations of our guests but we always do try to improve our service if possible. Should there be something we can do for you please get in touch with me. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
0.6 mi away
pentahotel Leipzig
pentahotel Leipzig
#4 of 100 in Leipzig
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,365 reviews
0.4 mi away
Steigenberger Grandhotel Handelshof
0.2 mi away
Hotel Furstenhof, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Leipzig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Leipzig
0.2 mi away
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
Leipzig Marriott Hotel
#7 of 100 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.1 mi away
InterCityHotel Leipzig
InterCityHotel Leipzig
#15 of 100 in Leipzig
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Leipzig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Leipzig

Property: The Westin Leipzig
Address: Gerberstr. 15, 04105, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Leipzig
#7 Luxury Hotel in Leipzig
#8 Business Hotel in Leipzig
#10 Romantic Hotel in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Westin Leipzig 4.5*
Number of rooms: 436
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Leipzig Hotel is situated in the heart of the city centre only a short distance from the main train station and close to attractions such as the Leipzig Zoo with the outstanding "Gondwanaland" tropical African rainforest. An unparalleed fusion of local history and modern design in Leipzig. As soon as you enter our hotel the special atmosphere is palpable. The aesthetic and distinct elegance of our lobby is reflected in our 436 rooms and suites with magnificent panoramic views. Enjoy our undivided attention as we attend to your every need with excellent and courteous service. Take a culinary journey and experience the variety of our restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Westin Leipzig reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Leipzig Hotel Leipzig
Westin Leipzig
Leipzig Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing