We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal place for a stopover”
Review of Astral Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Astral Hotel
Ranked #55 of 100 Hotels in Leipzig
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ideal place for a stopover”
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My boyfriend and I drove to Poland and needed somewhere to stay for one night on the way there and the way back.

We were very pleased with the Astral Hotel. The hotel is itself is modern and clean. There is a nice restaurant and bar in the hotel. Great beer garden. Lovely breakfast. Staff were efficient and polite, except for one female who must hate her job. The hotel is not in Leipzig itself but more on the outskirts of the city (a 10 minute drive).

If you're going on a city break to Leipzig don't stay at this hotel unless you're willing to do a bit of travelling while you're there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    22
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
5
26
8
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Erfurt, Alemania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

OK, the hotel is not terrible, but we payed a ridiculous price for such a hidden hotel placed in the middle of nowhere. The location is half an hour from downtown via tram, like 13 stops. The area is desolated, the girl in the reception was simply annoying and with bad attitude. Also we asked for a double-size bed for a couple, and we found out two uncomfortable single beds put together. I don´t use to argue about hotels, all I need is a clean and suitable room, plus good attention. What we got was a clean room with killer beds, bad service and the worst location in Leipzig for an expensive value. Not planning to return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joakkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leipzig hotels

Pfronten, Germany
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2011

There were several things about the hotel that weren't...the best.
The location was absolutely horrible. It took us 15 minutes to walk there which wasnt bad, but for some people, especially the elderly, the walk would have not been very nice. It was located in literally the middle of nowhere surrounded by many old and delapidated buildings. The price for our room was quite a bit expensive. Our room was very small and I would have not expected the price at all.
The breakfast was not good as the croissants werent fresh, the orange juice and coffee tasted strange and the yoghurt was out of date. Our one and only dinner that we had in the hotel diner area was not very good either.
The staff however were helpful and friendly. And the hotel is clean and otherwise very nice. (internet is quite expensive there though)

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cherokeeallyse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 August 2010

The perfect hotel for "sleep/fly" option - you sleep in this hotel and leave your car at the airport parking. By car is to airport about 3 minutes. Clean rooms, friendly staff. Standard of rooms and breakfast is average - you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrzej M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon - England
Level Contributor
133 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

I stayed at this Hotel as a single traveller. The reason for my visit to Leipzig was to watch football at the Zentralstadion. I only stayed their 1 night. It was a good 20 to 25 minutes trip from the Central Station by tram to the a metro stop which was still a good 10 to 15 minute walk away. The hotel facilites were really good. The hotel receptionaist did not have good customer service skills. Apart form the that the room was really clwean and tidy. The breakfast was excellent and had a good chose. It was vlaue for money but the location is out of the way. If you are alone traveller- women - then you might like to consider that the walk is some 10 to 15 minutes away from the Metro stop. At night the streets are dimly lit which increases your hightened awareness. It may be a good hotel but the location is a fair way out of the city. for me personally this was not a problem as I am a totally independent traveller. I would suggest it would be best to get a taxi form the Station. For me it was definately value for money. Having travlled around all the world Cup 2006 cities in Germany, Leipzig is totally different and it does make you wonder what it must have been like before re-unification. Parts of it are crumbling and can only be described as DRAB. I was glad to experience it but also glad to get back to the normal sights of western existence. Having said this its worth taking a look for yourself.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2008

Arrived and at first we were a bit dissapointed but you get what you pay for!!!!
The man at reception was rather miserable and didn't give a warm welcome (looks like Gok Wan)

The hotel itself is very nice inside, think Travelodge decor. Room was basic but clean and the shower was very good.

There were cracks in the mirror and tiles but other than that can't complain about the standard of the rooms. Oh no kettle provided and the .T.V only has german channels.

The hotel is very noisy and woke us up every morning at 5am, We had to get up early anyway but still quite annoying!!

The hotel is quite far away from leipzig centre but if you drive this isn't a problem.
2 supermarkets down the road if you require anything. All in all not bad

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank donaldpotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leipzig hotels
6.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Leipzig Messe
Ibis Budget Leipzig Messe
#33 of 100 in Leipzig
230 reviews
3.4 mi away
No photo provided
Apartment-Hotel Rackwitz
#67 of 100 in Leipzig
3 reviews
4.1 mi away
City INN Hotel Leipzig
City INN Hotel Leipzig
#50 of 100 in Leipzig
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Stern Hotel
Stern Hotel
#66 of 100 in Leipzig
23 reviews
2.3 mi away
McDreams Hotel Leipzig
McDreams Hotel Leipzig
#18 of 100 in Leipzig
109 reviews
3.6 mi away
Novum Apartment Hotel am Ratsholz Leipzig
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astral Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astral Hotel

Property: Astral Hotel
Address: Fabrikstr. 17, 04178, Leipzig, Saxony, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony > Leipzig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 100 Hotels in Leipzig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Astral Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Astral Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astral Hotel Leipzig

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing