We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel & Wellness Goldenes Fass Meissen
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Meissen
Certificate of Excellence
Marysville, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This was one of our favorite places to stay in Germany! We actually ended up staying in one of the apartments and it was wonderful! The receptionist was friendly and very helpful and spoke fluent English. We were offered the "pillow bar" if the pillows in our room did not suit our taste (this was free of charge). Parking was a bit of a challenge but not something we would complain about. The food in the restaurant was outstanding and affordable. The breakfast served in the morning was also outstanding and plentiful. The surrounding area was very quiet but off the beaten path so we had to drive into Meissen to really do any site seeing. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a quiet place for some pampering! Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    23
    2
    4
    1
See reviews for
13
32
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and couldnt be happier. The receptionist was more than helpful. The rooms were very clean and airy. I loved the cozy feel of the hotel. I felt as if i was staying in the countryside. There was more than enough to eat at breakfast. You must try the Flammkuchen in the restaurant. The hotel is a short walking distance to the town. Great value for the money!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FerrariFanNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

This small hotel is over the river from the old town of Meissen. It is easy to find and in a quiet area. 10 minute walk to old town. We decided to stay here rather than the more touristy Dresden which is about 30 minutes away.
We had a suite which had 2 bedrooms, bathroom, kitchen and large sitting/dining room area all for the price of a reasonable room in a larger town. Breakfast very good and fresh in delightful breakfast room.
The main restaurant serves excellent locally sourced food at good prices with very wide choice of wines.
Dogs were warmly welcomed with biscuits and water bowl.
The staff were friendly but lacked that extra empathy, but do not let that put you off.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FossFollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

Looking for a small, individual hotel in a good location, we booked a room at the Goldenes Fass, based on the good reviews we read. We were very pleased, the old vineyard farmhouse offered absolutely everything we had hoped for.
Our comfortable room had WiFi, the gourmet restaurant featured local, seasonal ingredients (like the famed white asparagus), and the charming breakfast room is even equipped with a mill to roll you own cereal grains!
Meissen's beautiful historic center with its cobble stone streets, cathedral, fortress (and lots of cafes!) is only a short walk over the bridge. The only issue could be parking, since there's only room for 3 cars in the yard, but that is a slight inconvenience, compared with the value of the overall experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanseata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

... from the well known chain hotels! Our room was nice, bright and spacious, the bathroom also spacious and bright with! Tastefully decorated. Very friendly staff! We liked the fact that there were enough electrical outlets (not hidden behind the bed, etc) for the chargers of all the gadgets that nowadays travelers carry with them. We stayed only one night and had chosen this hotel on the same morning, but wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex758758
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beavercreek, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We booked the room for two nights based on TripAdvisor ratings. The WOW started when we pulled into the courtyard and continued when we were shown the room. The complex of three buildings have all been renovated, and we were given a large ground floor room with a beautiful bathroom and side sitting room. All were spotless, well lighted, and immaculately furnished. The small touches like an apple by each bed and a jar of jam were nice touches, as was the free internet. A personalized letter from Frau Muller made us feel welcome, as did our interactions with her. She was pleasant and very helpful with information about the area. Parking is limited, but we recommend it highly!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bergbahnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We booked this room based on the TripAdvisor reviews.

The room was on the second floor of a separate building and was quite new and very nice. The bathroom was modern and neat and clean. Parking was marginal (I think there is space for only three cars).

Breakfast was also very good the next morning, although it opened at 7:00am and the scrambled eggs didn't make it to the buffet until we were leaving at 7:20am.

Dinner at the attached restaurant was another story - see separate review.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SabreSailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Meissen hotels
0.2 mi away
Parkhotel Meissen
Parkhotel Meissen
#1 of 16 in Meissen
144 reviews
0.1 mi away
Design Hotel Faehrhaus Meissen
0.4 mi away
Hotel Goldener Lowe
Hotel Goldener Lowe
#5 of 16 in Meissen
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Romantik Hotel Burgkeller
0.6 mi away
Hotel Alte Klavierfabrik
Hotel Alte Klavierfabrik
#7 of 16 in Meissen
31 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Landhaus Nassau
Hotel Landhaus Nassau
#9 of 16 in Meissen
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Wellness Goldenes Fass Meissen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Wellness Goldenes Fass Meissen

Property: Hotel & Wellness Goldenes Fass Meissen
Address: Vorbruecker Str. 1, 01662 Meissen, Saxony, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony > Meissen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Meissen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Wellness Goldenes Fass Meissen 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A dream comes true In the beginning it was only a dream - a dream of something personal, something historical, something that inspires the imagination and demanding our passion and profession to the greatest degree. This dream received a name: Hotel Goldenes Fass Meissen. For you, the hosts have implemented their ideas and breathed new life into an exceptional hotel village located in a former winery. The Gasthaus Zum Goldenen Fass was first mentioned in 1829. The hotel represents over 150 years of history and living hospitality. The aim is to preserve tradition, but also to revive it. In the entire hotel - where modernity is always present - you will find testimonies of earlier times. Be delighted by the attention to detail and the people and staff who care for your well-being at Goldenes Fass Meissen. Be pampered at all levels. Enjoy the special atmosphere of the hotel, the surrounding landscape, the good wine, the good food, and the diverse attractions that the hotel has to offer. The hosts only have one aim: they want you to be enchanted! Try it out and be enchanted by the Hotel Goldenes Fass Meissen! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel & Wellness Goldenes Fass Meissen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing