We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All-round satisfaction”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Radisson Blu Fuerst Leopold Hotel
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dessau
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“All-round satisfaction”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We stayed in the Radisson for five nights during the Kurt Weill festival and it was excellent from all aspects. It has changed beyond recognition since we were there in 2000 and the whole hotel is now very welcoming and well designed. The hotel is in a convenient location, two minutes' walk from the station (tip: walk through the alley across the road facing the station entrance and you're at the hotel) - and if you walk through the station the Bauhaus is very near. Parking in the hotel garage was quite expensive, though, at 12 Euros a day.
We had a large airy room with free wi-fi, the beds were very comfortable indeed and the bathroom roomy. Breakfast was excellent, with a very wide choice, and the snacks at the bar were reasonably priced and tasty - we only ate once at the restaurant, but the same applied. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful, without exception. The sauna and fitness area is also very well designed, and has no less than three saunas and a whirlpool - and free, though possibly this was because it was part of our Kurt Weill Festival package. We considered it all of a high standard and excellent value for money. If I may voice a word of criticism, it would be that the outside area of the fitness centre - much appreciated as a rule, as you don't always find this in hotels - was generally frequented by smokers while we were there, and as it's a fairly small enclosed area, we came out of the sauna and found we had to breathe in clouds of cigarette smoke instead of the hoped-for fresh air. If people really feel they have to smoke in a fitness centre, and the hotel is in agreement, then OK, but not right next to the rest of us, please. Perhaps we were just unlucky, but if it would be possible to create a small outside area especially for smokers, I'm sure that would be greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merz45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    323
    112
    20
    9
See reviews for
94
296
39
197
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

I booked this hotel after research on this site and the Radisson web site. Although I didn't necessarily have a 'bad experience' at this hotel it was the poorest one that I stayed in on my 10 nights out in Europe. It was difficult to find at night, although it should have been easy since it was close enough to the main roadway that had the lights been on it could have been seen. My first impression was that the place had 'gone under' from the time I booked it until my arrival. The marquee lights were all out and 3/4 of the lights in the lobby, bar and restaurant were turned off as well. Apparently this was their attempt to 'conserve' energy and be green, but it just looked cheap and uninviting. The receptionist did turn on the marquee lights after I pointed out that they were not light, so maybe it was a failure on a timer or personnel that left it dark that night.

The receptionist was less than friendly, but did an adequate job of getting me checked in. My room was clean and the bed linen was excellent! I must say that I give a thumbs up to the staff that still irons the sheets! The heating & cooling did not work in the individual rooms so we had to try and sleep with the window open. It was a downtown hotel but it was quiet enough, if you could have closed the windows when you slept.

Unless you are staying in the really big cities in the former East Germany your hotels are going to at this standard or below. I don't know what to suggest, but when I do find a jewel in that area I will post it on here for all to see.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winkysquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Osnabruck, Germany
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Stayed there just for one night. I made a late phone booking a few hours before i got there and everything worked out well. I had a wonderful big room (see pics). Breakfast was average for a 4 star hotel. Staff was nice and helpful. Then again i stayed just for one night but i had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dtravelaficionado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The bar and restaurant were OK and the staff were friendly enough. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and despite the fact the hotel was city centre it was set back from the main road and relatively quiet.

Having travelled to this region in Germany several times I chose the Raddison Blu in Dessau because it had everything I wanted. Air con, parking and free internet. The hotel may have individual climate control in the rooms, but it wasn't working. I'm sure it wasn't just my room as the public areas were also very warm. The internet in the room was wired only, but there was no connecting cable and I didn't have one with me because they said wireless was available. The wireless worked in the public areas.

Public parking was close by and I had no problem finding a space.

Utimately I if your chioce of hotel is based on the things they offer steer clear. If you're looking for a reasonable room with no bells and whistles its fine.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Businesstravelsadrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

It might be the best in dessau ( but not sure about that) but boy it's not what I expect from a radisson blu
Staff never at their station , seems like they are surfing the net most of the time , rooms must have been designed in the kremlin , we had 12 spare power points in the room???
I stopped there because it was a hot spell and it was supposedly air conditioned, but it hardly worked at all.
I would rate it at just 3 stars at best..lift your standards radisson blu this is not good enough!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bazamat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne UK
Level Contributor
131 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Just across the road from the Opera House this hotel is clean and comfortable in an East German way. The food is OK and the staff friendly. Dessau itself is rather sad and very quiet at night. The Bauhaus museum was disappointing.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PollyEastbourneUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We are staying regularly at the hotel, which was built in the 90ies as a 4 Star Hotel by Steigenberger, due to economic down turn in the region it is today in Radisson hands. Suites are best deal for money, pretty spacious, located in the upper floors and still have the goodies of the past (minibar etc). In summer terrace restaurant is nice place to spent the evening.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hopser9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dessau
0.4 mi away
NH Dessau
NH Dessau
#2 of 8 in Dessau
315 reviews
3.4 mi away
Days Inn Dessau
Days Inn Dessau
#3 of 8 in Dessau
159 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Kuehnauer Hof
Hotel Kuehnauer Hof
#7 of 8 in Dessau
12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Best Western Stadtpalais Wittenberg
16.1 mi away
Hotel Gruene Tanne
Hotel Gruene Tanne
#10 of 13 in Wittenberg
25 reviews
2.9 mi away
ibis budget Dessau Ost
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Radisson Blu Fuerst Leopold Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Fuerst Leopold Hotel

Property: Radisson Blu Fuerst Leopold Hotel
Address: Friedensplatz 1, 06844 Dessau, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Dessau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Dessau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Radisson Blu Fuerst Leopold Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 204
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Rezidor, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Radisson Blu Fuerst Leopold Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fuerst Leopold Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing