We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Hidden Hotel"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Geheimer Rat
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Magdeburg
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"Hidden Hotel"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

If you have a satellite navigator, trust it! Otherwise you will not find this hotel. A "healthy" walk from the city centre. A typical BW hotel with its own charm.Old building but modern inside. Spacy and comfortable rooms. Excellent breakfast included. Parking place either in yard or garage.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WHISKY1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geheimerrat, Inhaber at BEST WESTERN Hotel Geheimer Rat, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
Thank your for your stay and your positive evaluation. Best regards Ingo Rektorik (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    55
    25
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
33
12
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I chose this hotel basically only because I was arriving late to Magdeburg. Cheaper and/or more central hotels did not have 24 hour reception like Geheimer Rat. It was still only 15 minute walk from the train station to the hotel. Its true that this hotel is a little bit distant from the city center but then again Magdeburg is not a very big city. From the hotel you can walk to the center in 25 minutes or take a bus or tram (single ticket costs two euros, nearest stop is about 8 minutes walk away).

The hotel itself is a little bit rundown but rooms are spacious and clean. The service is friendly and all the members of the staff that I encountered spoke English. There are no coffee making facilities in the room but you can grab free coffee near the reception throughout the day. The breakfast was otherwise good but I missed the vegetables. For example there were plenty of ham and cheese, but no salad, cucumber, tomatoes etc. Otherwise I have no complaints and the distance from the city center was a good reason to walk around more.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank the_vizitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geheimerrat, Inhaber at BEST WESTERN Hotel Geheimer Rat, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey.

Sincerely,

Ingo Rektorik
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

The hotel was very cold and unappealing with a lot of wasted space.
And a very inconsiderate member of staff with a porche, reved its engine alot.breakfast wasn't bad but only basic , we where not given an option with the water in our room ,and charged for 2more.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 757kerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geheimerrat, Inhaber at BEST WESTERN Hotel Geheimer Rat, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Google Translation
Wir würden uns freuen, wenn Sie uns Ihre Kritikpunkte detaillierter übermitteln. Nur so können wir Schwachpunkte abstellen. Ihren Hinweis, unser Frühstück würde nur aus "besics" bestehen können wir llerdings aufgrund unseres umfangreichen Frühstücksangebotes nicht nachvollziehen. Vielleicht übermitteln Sie uns auch hier die Dinge, die Sie noch vermisst haben. Vielen Dank und viele Grüße Ingo Rektorik (Inhaber)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

If you don't have sat nav I suspect you will never find this hotel. Its tucked away in the middle of a complicated one way system. There a car park and plenty of public parking nearby.

The hotel is located in the middle of a largely residential area. The street its on has wide strip of grass and a stream running down the middle, which I guess would be pleasant on a cooler summers day. Theres not alot of nightlife locally. It would be possible to walk to the old town. There are a few bars dotted around but you'll have to wander round and stumble across them as they are spread around.

The idea of aircon seems to have largely passed this part of Germany by. I had the misfortune of staying on a day where it was 33°C. The windows in the room at least opened wide enough to get some air in, and the info said that you could get a fan from reception. Take some DEET though as the mosquitos will come and feast!

Wifi is free with a voucher from reception. A little slow but fair enough.

There is no bar in the hotel - I beleive you can get drinks from receoption but that kind of misses the point of a bar. The restaurant serves OK food but for some reason they had the windows shut. Service was OK once someone realised I was there. There was a good spread for the buffet breakfast which was excellent value.

The hotel has a sauna, but bearing in mind the temeparture in the restaurant you may as well sit in there instead during the summer.

I couldn't fauilt the staff who were all friendly enough.

All in all I'd be happy to stay again but not in the height of summer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Businesstravelsadrag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geheimerrat, Inhaber at BEST WESTERN Hotel Geheimer Rat, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Thank you for your incitations. Maybe we will see us in our hotel again. Best regards Ingo Rektorik (ownwer)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ennis, Republic of Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Tired of chain hotels? You could be anywhere in certain well known chains...not the case with Hotel Geheimer Rat. Yes...a rather unfortunate combination of a not very well-regarded chain and a not very well appreciated rodent. Well, that was my thought as I entered to stay in the very German hotel. However, German food, German hospitality and German efficiency- so all good! Great beer (local)- interesting food dishes (ask the very attentive waiter for his advice) and a very Germanic (I must switch to Saxony Anhalt now!) feel to this hotel.
This area was covered in snow during my visit and looked very pretty. At breakfast which was nicely laid out and included smoked salmon and a wide range of very high quality dishes- meats, cheeses and special orders from the menu. The reception desk dealt well with an English speaker even though this was a stretch for them. Please understand this is a reflection of where you are in Germany not a deficiency at all. It was nice to try and speak German- a little and badly! Everyone was so gracious. Room was warm, cosy and pleasant. Arm chair and desk with shower room nearby- my room may have been a little better than others available. Situated 10min from the train station this hotel is perfect for those travelling without a car.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Custardx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geheimerrat, Inhaber at BEST WESTERN Hotel Geheimer Rat, responded to this review, 21 May 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey.

Sincerely,

Ingo Rektorik
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2013

Atrocious service in every respect!!! Following a disasterous booking experience with the agents - booking.com, we set off on our Christmas trip to Germany hoping all would be well. Upon check in, we were greeted by a less than warm welcome and were afforded VERY basic service and communication. Our first impression of our room was one of 'OK' but simple and certainly not conducive with a 4 Star status. The bathroom had open pipes with surrounding rust stains, the bed had mattresses with approximately 10cm difference in height & there was about 1cm of dust and grime behind a lightweight chair which we had moved for convenience - consequently, we recieved 'an extremely sorry' card and small box of chocolates.

Our first morning was shattered at approximately 5am by kitchen staff directly below our room clattering about their work merrily, with no regard to the guests directly above. Breakfast was of good quality, however, we were not once led to a table, asked our preference for tea or coffee nor greeted with a warm welcome - coffee was only hot on 1 morning from 5! Whilst the hotel welcomes pets, on our final morning, we had to share the breakfast room and food buffet area with no less than 3 dogs - one intent on wandering freely within the food buffet area and under other guests' tables!

That evening we needed internet access (apparently available as per BW website) only to be told it was not/never available - and just wifi only.

We had anticipated a meal and drink in the bar during our stay, only to be informed that the restaurant was closed indefinitely and that they did not have a bar - contrary to BW website!!!

Early morning disruption continued and in the evenings, the night porter became increasingly rude as we returned from our enforced meals out (about 22.30) - the porter grumbled about our nocturnal excesses and assumed our British ignorance was an opportunity to vent his impatience in German ... ironically and amusingly, as my wife is a German national from Magdeburg (we cringed at his entertaining antics).

Following further early morning wake up calls from the kitchen staff, we lodged a complaint on our 3rd morning - the reception manager sympathised with us and assured us he would take action, including a possible partial refund. Another 2 evenings of night porter rantings and 2 mornings of kitchen staff banter ensued .... We finally checked out - we were presented with a bill for 400 Euro (as opposed to our booking.com price of 364 Euro) ... We challenged this amount with regards to the level of service provided and afforementioned refund - but the rexeptionist said that it was beyond his control - we asked to speak to the manager, and he informed us that they had been away on holidays for the past 2 weeks and were not available ... A hotel without a duty manager? Is this legal? Were they hiding? Bizarrely, a corporate thoughtfull touch displayed staff photos, this suggested that such a manager was lurking in the background and somehow seemed reluctant to declare himself!

All in all, a dreadful place to stay (Fawlty Towersesque) - in a beautiful city ...

Room Tip: Avoid ROOM 18 - directly above the kitchens and adjacent to the room-service room ... Better still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank TimP-Grrrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geheimerrat, Inhaber at BEST WESTERN Hotel Geheimer Rat, responded to this review, 21 January 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

Sincerely,

Ingo Rektorik
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munster, Germany
Level Contributor
97 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 evening before travelling back home. -the first impression of the hotel isn't too positive as the entrance is somewhat small and the entrance area generally looked a bit tired. The hotel shouldn't be judged on first impressions however as the rooms were actually clean, tidy and spacious. The staff were particularly friendly and helpful; eg we wanted to know how to get into town. Next thing the guy on the reception had photocopies of a map of the area and of a timetable for the tram we needed. Also something I have never seen before: In the entrance hall FREE coffee is on offer 24 hours a day.The breakfast which we had included in our room price was also very well done with lots of staff who permanently saw that the breakfast buffet was always topped up. We didn't check the sauna (which is in the basement next to the underground garage!) as you had to get it unlocked and had to inform the staff half an hour before you wanted to use it. In summary, despite appearances, this is a good hotel and the staff make up for any shortcomings in the aesthetics.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy2811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magdeburg hotels
1.1 mi away
Arthotel Magdeburg
Arthotel Magdeburg
#1 of 23 in Magdeburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maritim Hotel Magdeburg
Maritim Hotel Magdeburg
#2 of 23 in Magdeburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
3.2 mi away
Historisches Herrenkrug Parkhotel an der Elbe
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
InterCityHotel Magdeburg
InterCityHotel Magdeburg
#12 of 23 in Magdeburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Ratswaage
Hotel Ratswaage
#15 of 23 in Magdeburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Residenz Joop
Hotel Residenz Joop
#4 of 23 in Magdeburg
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Geheimer Rat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Geheimer Rat

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel Geheimer Rat
Address: Goethestr. 38, 39108 Magdeburg, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Magdeburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Magdeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Geheimer Rat 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Geheimer Rat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Magdeburg
Magdeburg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing