We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible customer service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IntercityHotel Magdeburg
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Magdeburg
Bracknell
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Terrible customer service!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is directly beside the main train station - and where this may be useful in providing transport links - it means you shouldn't expect to sleep much. On the day we arrived it was 34oC - at 5 1/2 months pregnant I was rather struggling with the heat. Having checked in - I discovered my room was on the side of the hotel which looked directly out over the railway tracks - the first thing that greeted me was the heat and the train announcements!! Having had a look round the room I realised there was no air con and no fan. Realising my chances of sleep would be minimal I went down to reception to enquire if there was any chance of changing rooms - without even looking at the computer the girls said no. I then asked if they had any fans. This time I was told "no - the only fans we have are for the staff on reception" and she pointed to the fan in front of her! I was gobsmacked! Needless to say I had to sleep with the window open as the room was unbearable with it closed! Trains run all night long and it literally felt like I might as well he been trying to sleep on the station platform!! I managed about 2 hours sleep at best!! The next morning I decided to try and see if it would be possible to change rooms again - and again without looking I was told NO! Needless to say another night of no sleep ensued. I will never stay at an intercity hotel again. Customer service is something they clearly don't give a second thought to. If you want to sleep - don't stay here.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    62
    49
    19
    3
See reviews for
9
41
22
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
131 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Nice front desk staff, clean room with most amenities (no iron/press board), but average mattress quality. The breakfast was just outstanding - a great way to start your day and. The location is excellent - just next to the central station and city center. Also, they provide a free ticket to use all public transportations throughout the city for the entire duration of your stay. One major problem is their so-called free wireless internet that was ultraslow. I bought their paid-internet service, which was still very slow and annoying. I have a feeling that fast internet is a problem in most hotels throughout the Europe. Overall, a good place to stay in Magdeburg.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDP_Love_Traveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield, England
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I was recommended to The InterCityHotel at Magdeburg by a colleague at work. I flew from Birmingham England by Flybe to Hannover - the rest was 2 simple train rides to Magdeburg Hbf. The Hotel is literally 3 minutes walk from the front of the Hbf and you don't even have to cross a road. It is fairly modern with a spacious, airy Reception area. I had requested a room on the 4th Floor overlooking the Hbf (being a Rail Enthusiast and the purpose of my holiday) but was persuaded to have a room on the 1st - the whole floor is Smoking Bedrooms! I thought it would have been more logical to have the Smokers on the 4th. Check-in was soon completed by a lovely young lady who spoke perfect English. The room was light, airy, spacious and well appointed. It was, in fact, a double - even though I was solo. I could still view the Hbf from the open window so best of both worlds. The en-suite was excellent and the TV had BBC World to keep in touch with the outside world. I rarely eat in Hotel Restaurants - and apart from Breakfast - chose to eat at a superb Vietnamese Restaurant called QILIN - about 5 minutes walk away towards the City Centre. The weather was so good, I ate Al Fresco every night - which also allowed me to indulge in my miniature cigars. The food was amazing and many dishes were about 9.50e. MY favourite beerof the holiday was Hasserode Schwartz Dunkel - 3.40e in the City and 1.40e in the rural villages. 5% of heaven in a glass. The Hotel Bar is small but well stocked. A large Vodka and Orange Juice was 6.50e. About 0800 next morning I had the surprise of the holiday - one of the best Buffet Breakfasts I have had anywhere. The selection of hot and cold dishes was truly amazing. The hot included scrambled eggs, spicy sausages, spicy fricadelles (must try and find the recipe), crispy bacon and halved tomatoes in a cheese sauce. Coffee was on the tables in a thermal jug, there was my favourite multi-vitamin juice as well as orange and apple. Large bowls of flavoured yoghurts included a delicious strawberry flavoured one. There are two large lifts with good information panels - I never had to wait more than 45 seconds. The rooms were cleaned every day to a high standard. Every member of staff had a warm smile - it is obviously a working environment that is enjoyable so compliments to the management. I had never heard of the InterCityHotel brand before but I am going to recommend them to anyone staying in Germany. True 3* quality at a reasonable rate. I usually base my Railway Holidays in Koln but I will certainly be going back to The InterCityHotel in Magdeburg. Find such a gem and stick with it. IT EXCEEDED ALL EXPECTATIONS!

Room Tip: The front of the Hotel faces the road which is fairly busy and also has tram lines. The rear of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raratrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I just stayed here for three nights during my first trip to Magdeburg. The hotel is in a great location for exploring the city and is literally right next to the train station. However, I never really heard any train noise.

The rooms were average but sufficient and included a flat screen television and minibar fridge. There's some extra space in the refrigerator, so it's possible to just buy some food/drinks at the grocery store across the street (in the lower level of the mall).

The breakfast was much better than I expected and had plenty of options. There were hot and cold options, and it really looked more like a breakfast buffet in a restaurant rather than the traditional hotel breakfasts you'd find in the United States.

Finally, the hotel was within a few minutes walk of the tram stops to other areas of the city and a transportation pass is included with the room.

The main drawback was the cost of the Internet. It's 14.50 euros per 24 hours. To make matters worse, there aren't many businesses that I found in the area that advertised free wifi. A few places gave me the password if I asked, though. On a related note, while there's not a business center at the hotel for printing, etc., there is a copy shop with reasonable prices (about 5 cents/page) that's about a two-minute walk away. The person at the front desk recommended it.

All in all, I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dvesc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mandal, Norway
Level Contributor
69 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Stayed here last year, and came back this year again. The hotel is near everything in Magdeburg. The rooms are nice, but the hotel entrance still smells from cigarettes... It should not be allowed to smoke at the entrance...

Some of the rooms are headed against Haubtbahnhof (train station) and you can hear all night the trains coming and going... A bit disturbing. Try to get a room heading the opposite direction.
The beds are ok, but I've had better. Bathrooms ok, and everything is clean. Breakfast is very good.
Excellent staff!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trond K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis Mn
Level Contributor
349 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We have stayed in this hotel seven times, starting in 1998. We keep returning because of the friendly and helpful staff, its central location, good food, and comfortable rooms. The breakfast buffet is one of the most complete we have encountered in Europe. They have added a do-it-yourself espresso machine that dispenses perfect cappuccino at the push of a button.
Rooms are small but well laid out, and include a mini-bar. None of the bathrooms have bathtubs. The south side rooms are the quietest, but with the windows closed noise is not an issue. The restaurant has a short menu but serves excellent food, including regional specialties.
All the major retail areas are within easy walking distance, and the public transportation pass that comes with the room allows you to travel to all points of the city on its excellent streetcar system.
The hotel is immediately adjacent to the main train station (Hbf), a convenience for those traveling by train and for popping over to the station for sandwiches, beer, newspapers, etc. The dates of our most recent visit were September 13-17, 2012.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandJ67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

Very friendly and helpful receptionists. The rooms are rather small but intelligently furnished. Sound insolation good and keeps off the noise of nearby trains. Sufficient parking available.Touring cyclists welcomed. Breakfast abundant and quickly replenished. Free ticket for townwide public transport with timetables available at reception although all remarkable places of Magdeburg are in walking distance.

Room Tip: Streetside rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulrich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magdeburg hotels
0.3 mi away
Arthotel Magdeburg
Arthotel Magdeburg
#1 of 23 in Magdeburg
131 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maritim Hotel Magdeburg
Maritim Hotel Magdeburg
#2 of 23 in Magdeburg
319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Hotel Geheimer Rat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Plaza Magdeburg
Plaza Magdeburg
#13 of 23 in Magdeburg
84 reviews
2.4 mi away
H+ Hotel Magdeburg
H+ Hotel Magdeburg
#10 of 23 in Magdeburg
118 reviews
4.3 mi away
Classik Hotel Magdeburg
Classik Hotel Magdeburg
#6 of 23 in Magdeburg
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IntercityHotel Magdeburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IntercityHotel Magdeburg

Property: IntercityHotel Magdeburg
Address: Bahnhofstr. 69, 39104 Magdeburg, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Magdeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Magdeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — IntercityHotel Magdeburg 3*
Number of rooms: 175
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The InterCityHotel Magdeburg is centrally located, right next to the city's main station. The Magdeburg Exhibition Grounds are only 3 km to go, and the nearest motorway junction can be reached within 5 km. Thanks to its first-class location you can easily reach all of the sights of the city from the InterCityHotel easily. In addition to the Magdeburg Cathedral, the famous Elbauenpark with the Jahrtausendturm (Millennium Tower) and the butterfly house you can also reach the city centre for your shopping tour in comfort by bus and tram. The FreeCityTicket in your pocket guarantees free travel with the local public transport in Magdeburg. In the morning, a richly varied breakfast buffet awaits the hungry guest, and in the evening following your business appointments or your discovery tours, 185 rooms guarantee the relaxation you require. For business matters there are 5 conference rooms at your disposal. Whether for discussions, presentations or seminars, our event area is well equipped to take care of your event in Magdeburg with high standards. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your IntercityHotel Magdeburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercityhotel Hotel Magdeburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing