We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel on a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Residenz Joop
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Magdeburg
Winterswijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great Hotel on a great location.”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Residenz Joop, is a good 4* star hotel, not too big, only 20 something rooms.
Good roomsize, good breakfast, very quit neibourhood.
Superb parking garage, which for us as motorcyclists was fantastic !
Another USP of this hotel is its location, the famous Dome of Magdeburg and its other sightseeing venues are all within walking distance (approx. 5 minutes), same goes for the restaurants.
All and all might not be the cheapest location for spending the night(s) but it shure is worth it !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janwillempeters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    8
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
26
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bålsta
Level Contributor
116 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This family operated "hotel" actually is a B&B. I cannot understand how it has achieved its four stars.
The establishment is situated in a fashionable part of Magdeburg - but it is not in any way hotel-like.I'd rate it "B&B" because that's what it is!
Staff is most helpful and a lot of money (I guess) has been spent on decorations. Rooms, bathrooms and other areas as well are neatly decorated with brassplated handles, etc., but at a price, evidently. When the outside (and interior) temperature exceeds 25 degrees C you would most likely - if you had the possibility to choose - prefer an A/C or at least a fan to replace the decorations. But we hadn't that possibibility. Which had a serious impact on our sleepless night.
The free WiFi is fairly good.

Room Tip: Until they install A/C or provide the rooms with fans - choose a room at a low a floor as possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claes T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehovot, Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I came with a group of Soroptimist International women from different countries and we spent time in this lovley hotel and its quiet garden.

The rooms gave us the feeling of home and the service was really like being in a familie's home.

Breakkfast was served in two rooms and was an excelllent spread.

the hotel is situated in the center fo activities but also when you have a car it is convenient to visit the outlying towns and see the special sights of this area. Especially interesting in the town of Quedlinburg which is a Unesco treasure.

We loved being in the hotel.

Aliya Kedem Rehovot Israel

Room Tip: Any room is lovely but if you can have a room which is toward the garden it is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kedem_a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Ontario
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Beautiful property, a nice change from chain hotels. The hosts were very welcoming and helpful. It was very quiet and comfortable in the rooms, especially being located off the main streets. It is a close walk to restaurants and the town center. I enjoyed the buffet breakfast as along with the standard cold cuts they offered fresh cooked eggs. If it is important to you, the room was not air conditioned and there is a set of stairs to carry your luggage up. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Endy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
277 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Nice reception in a former Swedish Consulate in one of the few areas in Magdeburg city that was not destroyed during the war. It is opn walking distance from the city center and has a few nice restautrants around it. The best being a nice Italian trattoria with terrace close by. Mr. Joop can take care of the booking. The neighbourhood consists of old villa's that are in itself worthwhile looking at. Most of them built between 1850 and 1915. The river is close by but even during the flood this year there was no threat of this neighbourhood. The host and hostess run this small family hotel that has nonetheless the service level of a five star hotel.

Room Tip: The garden side in the back of the hotel is nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henk58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Stayed three wonderful nights. Owners were very warm and accommodating. Great location, close to good restaurants with a great staff. We were a group of friends traveling through Germany and this hotel was a highlight of our trip. We highly recommend this propert

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtaylor42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

I went to Magdeburg to atend a one-day conference and chose the hotel because it was convenient to walk, but I found out that I had been really lucky. The neighborhood, nice and peaceful, adds to the quality of the hotel, the confort of beds, the buffet breakfast and above all the wonderful and helpful hostess. I fully recommend the place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magdeburg hotels
1.0 mi away
Arthotel Magdeburg
Arthotel Magdeburg
#1 of 23 in Magdeburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
3.6 mi away
Historisches Herrenkrug Parkhotel an der Elbe
1.1 mi away
Maritim Hotel Magdeburg
Maritim Hotel Magdeburg
#2 of 23 in Magdeburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Hotel Geheimer Rat
1.0 mi away
InterCityHotel Magdeburg
InterCityHotel Magdeburg
#11 of 23 in Magdeburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Ratswaage
Hotel Ratswaage
#14 of 23 in Magdeburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Residenz Joop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Residenz Joop

Property: Hotel Residenz Joop
Address: Jean-Burger-Str. 16, 39112 Magdeburg, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Magdeburg
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Magdeburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Residenz Joop 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming little hotel with ambiance, run by owners, beautifully restored old mansion centrally but quietly located in Magdeburgs finest residential quarter highly ranked in hotel guides and on internet platforms.Entering the house guests will feel the spirit,friendliness and the commitment of staff and owners and last but not least an outstanding service will make them feel at home. 25 rooms are individually styled and furnished according to 4 star - standard. Elevator,parking-space and -garage, conference-room, garden-terrace and internet access (free of charge) are available.The historic Altstadt with it’s ancient cathedral, the Hundertwasser-House, the river Elbe,other points of interest and a great variety of restaurants are within walking distance. Leisure activities, e.g. walking, jogging, cycling, golfing are feasible in nearby sport-facilities and parcs. - Magdeburg is an ideal starting point for scenic tours along the “Road Romanesque, to World heritages Quedlinburg, Wittenberg and Wörlitz. Europe’s biggest waterway-bridge and the motor-speedway Oschersleben are less than 30 minutes away and even Berlin can be reached within one hours drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Residenz Joop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing