We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oldtime Charme”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Historisches Herrenkrug Parkhotel an der Elbe
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Magdeburg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

don't expect too much from those 4 stars, the rooms are dated, the place is kinda old-fashioned and stiff, BUT !!! the location is marvelous, sitting on the porch, sipping a Gin Tonic at night is like traveling back in time into some colonial setting, Bar is ok with a very genuine BarKeeper, Breakfast is good, I'm not a big fan of the restaurant, which is also over prized, over all it's the most charming place (at least in the Magdeburg area) and worth a try, let' see how you like it

Room Tip: the hotel is still recovering from last years flood and there was a lot of construction activity, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank climax56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (230)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 230 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014

I had a meal here on my birthday, beautiful grounds, delicious food, would reccomend for a special occasion, enjoyable ambience, staff welcoming and friendly, nice to walk around the grounds and take in the atmosphere.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gymrachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I lived two years in Magdeburg so I know the hotel and the area around. So when I came back I decided to stay here. Very good experience. This hotel is very beautiful and charming. Great restaurant. Recommend to everybody!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marooned2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Stayed one night while on business in the area. Had a late dinner in the restaurant that was delicious.

This hotel is beautifully situated in a parklike area with lovely surroundings. the building seems a mixture of some old parts and some never parts. Everything held in a classical and beautiful style.

My room was very spacious and was nice and clean. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Arild S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

What more is there to say than.... EVERYTHING was just excellent! The location in the park: very quiet and relaxing, the decoration of the rooms: beautiful and so different to the typical cookie-cutter boring modern style furniture, the staff: super-helpful, the restaurant: what a truly beautiful room, the food: just great. The bar: we felt just like at home, very cosy and relaxing, our drinks were served at the table together with little nibbles; the breakfast: sumptious, also some little extras that you would not expect: Chicken tikka salad, Obazda, a whole Serrano ham, champagne, freshly baked pastries still hot from the oven! Taste the difference! An extremely nice place and certainly worth every Euro. Unfortunately, we spent so much time in the restaurant and the bar that we did not have time to try the spa or have a massage. But we can't wait to go there again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

I made a reservation for two nights, but had to leave after the first night. The hotel charged for two nights. The restaurant offers only German cuisine with a poor description of its dishes in English. Unless you like German cuisine and are prepared to pay for nights that you eventually do not stay, my suggestion is to avoid this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VFA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

The hotel is located a bit outside the city center in the very quiet surroundings of a large forest/park close to a horse track. The hotel is old which gives it its charm, but rooms are up to modern day standards with a TV and mini-bar, but unfortunately (or at least I couldn't find it), without air-conditioning. There is also no free WiFi. The quiet surroundings mean a good night sleep is guaranteed. Breakfast is served in the restaurant and offers an immensely wide selection of foods and drinks. In the evening a very good, but not excellent diner, can be enjoyed here. Staff are competent and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m1508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Magdeburg hotels
2.6 mi away
Maritim Hotel Magdeburg
Maritim Hotel Magdeburg
#1 of 23 in Magdeburg
356 reviews
2.6 mi away
Arthotel Magdeburg
Arthotel Magdeburg
#2 of 23 in Magdeburg
149 reviews
5.1 mi away
H+ Hotel Magdeburg
H+ Hotel Magdeburg
#8 of 23 in Magdeburg
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hotel Residenz Joop
Hotel Residenz Joop
#5 of 23 in Magdeburg
73 reviews
3.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Geheimer Rat
2.7 mi away
IntercityHotel Magdeburg
IntercityHotel Magdeburg
#15 of 23 in Magdeburg
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historisches Herrenkrug Parkhotel an der Elbe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historisches Herrenkrug Parkhotel an der Elbe

Address: Herrenkrug 3, 39114 Magdeburg, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Magdeburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Magdeburg
Price Range: £65 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Historisches Herrenkrug Parkhotel an der Elbe 4*
Number of rooms: 147
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
- a unique location between 46-hectare Herrenkrug Park - extraordinary art nouveau architecture from the turn of the century - 147 rooms, large & high quality furnished - 200 free parking spaces - free WIFI - Herrenkrug SPA with pool, whirlpool, sauna, steam bath and sun terrace - Beauty treatment for massages, baths, cosmetic treatments - Parkrestaurant THE SEASON with winter garden and terrace (12 points Gault Millau) - Bar with covered terrace and park view - Beer garden on weekends - Public transport connection to the main station and to the city center in 200 m - 7 minutes by car or 18 minutes by tram into the city center - 1 historical art nouveau conference hall and 9 other meeting rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HRS, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Historisches Herrenkrug Parkhotel an der Elbe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing