We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly place, good food, nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Luther-Hotel Wittenberg
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Wittenberg
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Friendly place, good food, nice rooms”
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The hotel is centrally located, the staff members were very nice (with one exception), the rooms were reasonably spacious and clean, and the restaurant was very good for a hotel restaurant. The servers were all very friendly, did their very best to accommodate us (three travelers, only one of whom spoke German) and were prompt and good at what they did. One item on the menu was cream of goose soup – which sounds odd until you remember cream of chicken soup is commonplace; it was outstanding. Duck entrée was great; the rib eye steak the next night was also excellent, with a very good and properly done backed potato. Internet was a little iffy, but we made use in the lobby when we had to. Definitely a place to consider favorably when next in Wittenberg.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosson45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    60
    33
    8
    2
See reviews for
19
59
8
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nieheim, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is located central, but still a quiet area. The rooms are clean and big enough. There's no HVAC, but that's normal for germany and mostly not necessary. The internet was free of charge. Only the charge of the parking area it not a good reputation for a hotel. Breakfast was really good.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wolfgang M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We stayed for one night during our Europe trip back in May 2013. The hotel was convenient located, check-in and out was quick and the rooms are pretty spacious. The staff was great, the room was clean. The only thing we didn't like was that by the end of the breakfast buffet time, not much service was in the dining room, we walked in with noone to direct us to a table and most of the food was finished with nothing much left. It was partly our fault to go down so late, but it wasn't that late before the end of breakfast, there was still almost an hour left to the end of breakfast, so we were a little surprised. Other than that it was a great stay at Luther-Hotel. The location was excellent, we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go and parking was easy, the only downside was that the internet only allows for one device to be used at a time, with 3 people in the room it was kind of annoying.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asheky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakewood, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel for a couple days mainly from the reviews on Trip Advisor. The hotel is a little confusing to find unless you know where you are going as the entrance faces a side street. You then park below the hotel in a garage and depending on what staff person you get, it is either 7 euros a day to park or free. I received one day free and paid for the other. The rooms are large and mine was somewhat modern. The tv is an old tube tv but I don't come on holiday to watch tv so didn't care. I rented a single so my room had two twin beds but they are quite small even for twin beds. If you want to have a sleeping companion then these will not work! The bathroom is huge and modern. The only downside to the room is the lack of air conditioning. It's only a problem if you are in the room during the heat of the day. In the evening with the window open, it is no problem. The town has a number of church bells that ring the hour all night, so if you are a light sleeper this could be an issue for you.

The hotel is close to everything so you don't need to drive to any of the sites. Wittenberg is a pretty small town with some very nice architecture. This hotel is central to all of it. The staff is very nice and helpful. The hotel has a restaurant and the food I had was very good. I took the 11 euro breakfast which is a little expensive but there was definitely a lot of food. It was buffet style with meats, eggs, bread, cereal, yogurt, etc. I'm sure you can find something cheaper but this was very convenient. I would stay at this hotel again with no issues.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank TravelingAggie1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We stayed in Lutherstadt Wittenberg for a couple of days and booked this at the last minute. The room was good, maid service prompt. It's very convenient to both the town center and train station. Bike can be rented for 10 Euro and we took advantage of that. Altogether, a friendly, nice place to stay in a beautiful, historic town.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MInneapolis
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

This hotel is only at a walking distance (20 min) from the Wittenberg train station and 5 minutes from the main square in downtown. It is confortable but with some issues like the bed matress being deformed by too much use, the TV is still an old tube TV (not flat screen) with only German channels and the internet is very slow. On the other hand, the people at the desk and at the restaurant/bar is very friendly, a reasonable good breakfast and OK dinner. If you park your car in the garage, take care with the columns as there are many and tight space to manouver. Heating works well, bathroom is good with a good shower with good pressure water.

Room Tip: Elevators doors are slow to close, be patient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulo_MSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 482 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Friendly, helpful staff. Clean, comfortable and quiet rooms. Free internet in back of lobby desk for guests. Conveniently located to Luther sites, shopping and eating.

BUT rooms have no air conditioning. If staying in summer months request a fan in your reservation or even brian a small portable one with you. Very hot at night even with window wide open.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hatlad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wittenberg hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Stadtpalais Wittenberg
0.2 mi away
Brauhaus Wittenberg
Brauhaus Wittenberg
#3 of 13 in Wittenberg
54 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Gruene Tanne
Hotel Gruene Tanne
#11 of 13 in Wittenberg
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ringhotel Schwarzer Baer
Ringhotel Schwarzer Baer
#4 of 13 in Wittenberg
84 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alte Canzley
Hotel Alte Canzley
#5 of 13 in Wittenberg
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Acron-Hotel
Acron-Hotel
#9 of 13 in Wittenberg
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luther-Hotel Wittenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luther-Hotel Wittenberg

Property: Luther-Hotel Wittenberg
Address: Neustrasse 7 - 10, 06886 Wittenberg, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany (Formerly Park Plaza)
Region: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Wittenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Wittenberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Luther-Hotel Wittenberg 3.5*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our personally-run 3-star Superior hotel offers 159 modern guest rooms and eight meeting rooms. The hotel is located in the historic center of Wittenberg, which can offer a variety of cultural activities. Parties and conferences in the Luther-Hotel Plan your next family or business party or a large wedding party with extended family and friends coming up? Or are you looking for representative, modern meeting rooms? In Luther-Hotel you find the place, excellent service and a professional events team to make your event enjoyable memories! We have put together attractive conference packages for you and provide you with our 8 meeting rooms for all the right ambiance. For the palate and culinary background music for your event or celebration chef Christian Hirsch, makes his fresh creations. But even if your party in your own home, you do not have to give up treats, because with our catering service, your party is also home culinary succeed! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Luther-Hotel Wittenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luther Hotel Wittenberg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing