We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in an excellent location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ringhotel Schwarzer Baer
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Wittenberg
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
193 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Great hotel in an excellent location.”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I really can't find anything bad to say about the hotel, so it gets 5 stars. Below are some things we enjoyed about the hotel....but I want to send out a caution about the town: The major churches are not open to visit due to reconstruction. That leaves only one major site in the very small city. We should have arrived later in the day. We arrived early and were left with little to do.

What we liked about hotel:

- parking in the back for free. Pretty easy to find. You can't drive into the old town area, so your only option is to turn left/right down Wallstrasse. Turn left and look for the name of the hotel and turn into driveway. May be cramped if you arrive late.

- front desk staff was very friendly

- hotel has a lift (YAY!)

- room looks like it was recently renovated. Nice rain shower head. Hot water. Beds were comfortable. Only minor thing is that the beds slide around if you lean up against headboard (i.e., trying to sit up in the bed).

- wifi was free and worked well. I was able to Facetime with no problems.

- great restaurant right downstairs

- in the town centre, so you are next to the major sites (see comment above about the sites actually being open right now)

Cons: Really, I can't think of anything that is specific to this hotel (anything is generalized to all continental hotels: square pillows and only 1 english channel on television).

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Naomi E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    35
    12
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
45
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marysville, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The rooms at the hotel were very nice and clean and had everything that we needed for a wonderful stay. The parking in the rear of the hotel was full when we arrived so we had to seek parking elsewhere but it was close by. The front desk receptionist did not speak English, although the literature was in English and we got checked in without problem. We were VERY disappointed when, at 10 minutes prior to the front desk closing, we realized that the internet code we were given only worked for 1 of the 2 rooms we had booked, so we went to the front desk to retrieve a second code (which was to be included in our room fee). The receptionist had already shut her computer off and was packed up and ready to go home at 10 minutes prior to closing time. She gave us significant attitude about requesting another internet code and ended up not giving us one because she was ready to go home. Customer service was NOT a strong point of this hotel. The same gal was working the next morning when we checked out and gave us further bad attitude when we told her that we did not eat breakfast and asked to have the charges removed from our bill. The rooms were great, staff attitude left MUCH to be desired! The location was superb if you're visiting the Luther sites!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loegstoer, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Hotel excelente, com otima localizacao, espaco, atendimento, muito limpo e bem barato.
Tenho certeza de quem for vai gostar.

Excellent hotel with great location, space, service, very clean and very cheap.
Sure who is going to like.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RafaelLemke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed here 1 night on our way back from Bavaria to Denmark. As the other tripadvisors have stated it was a bit hard to find the parking yard of the hotel. We ended up driving down the pedestrian street >.< and almost drove into a shoppingcenter .... but somehow we ended behind the hotel and found their parking yard. Very nice hotel and the price was decent. We paid 75 euros for 1 doubleroom with breakfast and they didnt charge extra for parking or our dog. The room was clean, and with a street view. Since it was friday evening there was quite a noise there but with earplugs it went fine. You cant stay in the heart of a city and then expect it to be dead quiet. Location was awesome right in the center and all Luther sights was in a very short walking distance.
Breakfast was good - nothing special the usual cold cuts, cheese, juice and coffee

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aethel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richland, WA
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We stayed one night at the Schwarzer Baer (Where is this Bar coming from?) and found it's location to be very convenient to all the Martin Luther sites which are along the same street. Secure parking is provided behind the hotel though that is a bit of a problem to find for the GPS. The room was large, comfortable and clean though a bit stark in its furnishings.

The staff were helpful and the breakfast good in a cozy room with lighted candles on each table.
Prices were very reasonable and we recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuropeAnnually
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

One of my favorite hotels, we loved our room overlooking the hof... Comfy bed, a great modern bathroom and huge windows/French doors to sit at. Breakfast was great and the Kartoffle Restaurant next door was very popular we had a great meal (watch out for the huge servings!). We were cycling the Elba Radweg so the hotel was very conveniently situated and had a great lock-up for our bikes.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novara, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This very nice hotel ( an excellent blend between old and modern architecture) has a private parking in its courtyard.
Its position is really fantastic ( 50 mts. trom the central square and about 150 mts from the Cathedral).
The staff is very helpful and professional.
The rooms are very clean, well equipped, cosy and quiet. Bathrooms are extremely clean, too.
The breakfast buffet is very good.
Very close to the hotel, the restaurant Wittenbergische Kartoffelhaus, where they serve a very good Saxon dinner.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franco M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wittenberg hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Stadtpalais Wittenberg
0.2 mi away
Luther-Hotel Wittenberg
Luther-Hotel Wittenberg
#2 of 13 in Wittenberg
127 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brauhaus Wittenberg
Brauhaus Wittenberg
#4 of 13 in Wittenberg
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel Gruene Tanne
Hotel Gruene Tanne
#10 of 13 in Wittenberg
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Alte Canzley
Hotel Alte Canzley
#5 of 13 in Wittenberg
45 reviews
0.7 mi away
Acron-Hotel
Acron-Hotel
#7 of 13 in Wittenberg
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ringhotel Schwarzer Baer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ringhotel Schwarzer Baer

Property: Ringhotel Schwarzer Baer
Address: Schlossstrasse 2, 06886 Wittenberg, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Wittenberg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Wittenberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ringhotel Schwarzer Baer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ringhotel Schwarzer Baer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing