We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Alte Canzley
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$165
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$160
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tannenspitze(Wittenberg)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Am Schwanenteich(Wittenberg)
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$108
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acron-Hotel(Wittenberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Bruckenkopf Hotel(Wittenberg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (56)
Filter reviews
56 results
Traveller rating
31
18
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
18
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprotestant reformationlarge roomone nightmartin lutherkitchenettecastlehistorywifiluggageanniversarytownsights
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 56 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel is small with only 8 rooms but has a very nice breakfast room and restaurant. The building is quit old, built in 1391, but has all the modern conveniences. The rooms were very clean. The beds are traditional German twin beds put together. The reception is not always staffed but the restaurant staff handle any questions. The breakfast was a light German breakfast but very good. The selection of breads, cheeses, fruits, meats, hard boiled eggs and cold cereals was excellent. The service and food in the restaurant was very good. They were also very accommodating to children. The location is very convenient to the Castle Church and easy walking to the rest of the sights in Wittenberg. Free parking is conveniently located next to the back side of the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jmm30534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We selected this hotel because it is located next to the Wittenberg chuch with Luther Thesis door. The peacefull location is about 200 meters from the main square.

There is a nice restaurant and breakfast room downstairs.

Room and bathrooms were big and clean, and "homey".

There was no 24 hour reception as it is a small hotel and the entrance to the hotel was through an other small door during the night.

The knowledge of English among the staff and poor ventilation in the room (we slept the windows open in December) was the only negative side we experienced.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Turo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

First of all, the hotel is excellent with email correspondence relating to your stay.
Second , the town itself is an outstanding spot to overnight. Multiple food choices and walkable.
The hotel was a model of Teutonic efficiency-clean, nice bathroom and good beds. Breakfast was excellent also.
One negative was no wifi available - they did have a plug in set up for laptops.

Also-and this has nothing against the hotel-but there is a lot of restoration going on at the 2 churchs in prep for the 500th anniversary of the 95 theses.And this is in 2017!
So be aware not everything is available for viewing. It was still great-- go

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jfadds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

The location is fantastic. Once you figure out how to get to their parking lot, you're all set. The parking is in a large lot behind the hotel and it is gated, you are either buzzed in our use your room key to get in. If you're going to Wittenburg, you're there for Martin Luther. This hotel gets you across the street from the Castle Church and most of the rooms have a view of the "Theses Door." From the hotel, you can walk the main streets of Wittenburg, all the way down to the Lutherhaus. Everything Luther is close and easy to walk to. If you have a bike, it's even quicker and bicyclists are everywhere in Wittenburg.

The room we had, the Erasmus room, was roomy with high ceilings. It was very clean. The bathroom was very good. The bed was reasonably comfortable. If you leave the windows open, it can be a little noisy early in the morning when a few trucks and cars drive by. In late July, when we stayed, it was a little hot and got a little muggy in the room, so we needed to keep the windows open. My personal opinion is that I prefer a shower and not a bath/shower. This room had a bath/shower. Not a big deal. The fan in the bathroom seemed to act of its own accord. I prefer to have a bathroom with a fan I can turn on and off or is always on if the light is on. There is internet access in the room but it is only by ethernet. The hotel supplied us with a cable and there is more than one ethernet outlet so more than one person could go online at the same time. The internet connection was then fast and stable. I prefer wi-fi, but it's not the end of the world. Another nice thing about the hotel is the restaurant downstairs. The food is very good, reasonably priced, and mostly organic. On a multi-day stay, make sure you eat at the restaurant at least once.

Breakfast was very, very good. A good selection of food and juice, coffee and/or tea, plenty of smoked salmon, and a nice room to eat it with windows looking out onto the Castle Church.

The biggest problem that I had with the hotel, which is more of a commentary on the former East Germany in general, is that there are not a lot of people who are fluent in English. This area was inaccessible from the west only 20 years ago and English isn't as familiar here as it is in what was West Germany. This puts more onus on you to figure things out, learn German, or a combination of the two. I did travel to *their* country but more interpretive signs and publications with English subtitles or versions would be nice. I did bring my English speaking money. But, this is part of travel. A little inconvenience isn't the end of the world. I guess I was spoiled by my trip to England where everyone seemed fluent in English :)

Room Tip: Not hard to do but make sure you get a view of the "These Doors." I think 7 of their 9 rooms have a view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steven3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

This quite hotel is in the middle of the historic centre of Lutherstadt Wittenberg across of the Schlosskirche. This is were on October 31, 1517, Luther nailed his 95 theses against the selling of indulgences at the door of the Church, marking the beginning of the Protestant Reformation.

Rooms are on two floors and are named after famous minds. On the ground floor there is a restaurant and a bar all in good German style.

Rooms are very large and all have a double bed with more than enough room for a third bed. Good and modern bathroom which is very clean. The rooms are fitted with an ISDN-connection on the room phone for internet connection. There are cables available at the reception.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view at the schlosskirche such a the "Erasmus of Rotterdam" room.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flateric09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews