We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel with great location”
Review of Am Schwanenteich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Am Schwanenteich
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Wittenberg
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Charming hotel with great location”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This charming small hotel is located close to all of the tourist sites in Wittenburg and about 15 min. walk from the train station. The room was comfortable and clean with a well-equipped bathroom. The food is good here, too. The breakfast that was included in the price offered lots of choices--cheese and cold cuts along with yogurt, breads, and cereals. We also had the four-course fixed price dinner the night before, and it was delicious. Staff members were very accomodating and helpful, though they were not fluent in English. However, they spoke better English than we spoke German and all went well. I would stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bardfan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    23
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
8
14
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia, USA
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

My sister and I stayed here for one night. The hotel is near all you would want to see in Wittenburg. It is a little bit of a walk from the train station, but it is not hard. Make sure you come out of the station on the correct side. The one away from the station and toward the bike parking is the best way out to get into town and to find a cab, if you want one. The hotel is very clearn and comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful and worked hard at talking to us in English. It seems to be a hotel Germans stay in, which adds to its charm. Breakfast was very good. We also ate a great dinner, too. I would give it a very strong recommendation.

Room Tip: The rooms are not really large, but the are comfortable. Watch out for the side of the train statio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DonnieRam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Located just a ten minute walk from the station this hotel offers a great location being just off of one of the two main high streets in Wittenberg. All major tourist sights are within easy walking distance. I was located with my Father in room 63 which was of great size! The beds were comfortable and everything was clean. Breakfast was basic but for what we paid was very reasonable.

The only negatives were the fact wifi was not complimentary and cost around 1€ per hour, however it didn't even work on my I-pad. Also the receptionists speak little English. Other than that I would highly recommend!

Luke

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukie89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We arrived late in the day after exploring Lutherstadt-Wittenberg - which is just as well as there was no parking at the hotel, meaning you need to find on-the-street parking nearby. It's either metered or with one of these parking dials all the Germans seem to have. We paid till 18:00 when it becomes free, but still found a printed note on our windscreen next morning saying something (I don't know what) about parking!

The young lady who checked us in was friendly and helped us to know where to park and spoke better English than my German, so that was good. The room was tiny but immaculately clean with new IKEA type beech furniture and a very comfortable German double bed. It all looked newly refurbished including the spotless bathroom with its large mirror and bright lights. A nice thought was the Luther Bible on the table - it seemed appropriate in this important reformation city.

Their restaurant was shut that evening so we walked 5 minutes into town. Their restaurant being shut also meant the elevator to the ground floor didn't work as this would bring you out into the closed area.

Breakfast in the morning was a good mix of meats, fruits, eggs, breads etc and set us up nicely for the day. The breakfast room was again looking as though it had just opened.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

An excellent family run hotel right in the heart of Wittenberg. Rooms a little small but scrupulously clean and the showers were excellent - plenty of hot water. I stayed here for one night on a room only basis in March 2012 and would recommend it for a short stay, but I would have found the room cramped for more than one or two nights.

I had a very short stay in Wittenberg and did not have time to use the bar or restaurant facilities.

Room Tip: There is building work in progress at the hotel at the moment, but this did not start until 9.30 a.m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CFPANDDWP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

For those visiting Wittenberg, the heart of the German Reformation, I strongly recommend the Hotel Am Schwanenteich, which is not even five minutes walk from the historic main street, where most of the sites and restaurants are. A small, three-storey building, the hotel has been recently refurbished and fully modernised - thoughtfully. Motion-detector lighting in the stairwell, fine bathroom fittings, good internet access, and clean, comfortable, and easy living bedrooms. Fine standard German breakfast buffet with good coffee, and meals in the restaurant.
Parking is not easy near the hotel, but the helpful staff enabled me to park beside the house. Nearby is a major construction site (I think, a new department store), and there's a park across the road, with "the swans' pool" that gives the hotel's name.
This hotel is excellent value, in a quiet and safe area, but close to the action.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lxj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pirbright
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2006

This is a small basic hotel that has recently been refurbushed and is very good value. It is central and close to the town hall. The staff are friendly and the restaurant serves very good food at really low prices and the wine is very good. Internet Wifi is available via T-Mobile but there are also some free routers nearby. Highly recommended - and if you have not been to Wittenberg (Lutherstadt) I would recommend that strongly. It is about 40 minutes train ride from Berlin and steeped in history.

  • Liked — Good value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Pirbrightgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wittenberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Luther-Hotel Wittenberg
Luther-Hotel Wittenberg
#1 of 13 in Wittenberg
135 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Stadtpalais Wittenberg
0.2 mi away
Brauhaus Wittenberg
Brauhaus Wittenberg
#3 of 13 in Wittenberg
52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alte Canzley
Hotel Alte Canzley
#5 of 13 in Wittenberg
48 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Gruene Tanne
Hotel Gruene Tanne
#10 of 13 in Wittenberg
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ringhotel Schwarzer Baer
Ringhotel Schwarzer Baer
#4 of 13 in Wittenberg
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Am Schwanenteich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Am Schwanenteich

Property: Am Schwanenteich
Address: Toepferstr. 1 | Lutherstadt, 06886 Wittenberg, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Wittenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Wittenberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Am Schwanenteich 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Am Schwanenteich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing