We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wise choice”
Review of Am Schwanenteich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Am Schwanenteich
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Wittenberg
Ancona, Italy
Level Contributor
1,335 reviews
174 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,700 helpful votes
“Wise choice”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Good if smallish room with an excellent shower, etc, outstanding dinner (huge servings - so be warned) in a lovely dining room, good breakfast in the breakfast room, staff mostly very helpful, in a good position up an alleyway quite near the centre. Price OK. There's a lift, so no problem on that score. If you're coming on a local train, ask which stop you should get off at - the town has more than one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ELear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    23
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
14
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This is a smaller, "old-world" hotel on an alley in Wittenberg. The room we had was very pleasant, as was the bathroom and oh-so-clean! Our room had no frills, but the mattresses were really comfortable and we slept well. We left the windows open and listened to distant trains going back and forth through the night--wonderful! The breakfast was better than most and the Frau who served us was really nice. I would stay again anytime! The only complaint is that our pillows were really lumpy or flat. There is a newer parking garage one block down from the hotel and it cost us only three Euro per day.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelsmomnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

I am traveling with 4 family members and we were pleased with both rooms. The air conditioning was much appreciated because the temps were warmish. Delightful dinners are available and the breakfasts were a great start. Staff was friendly and dealt with our lack of ability to speak German. We used a taxi service to and from the train station (cost about 10 euros).

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deltadame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Selsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I liked everything about this charming hotel. My twin-room was spacious, attractively decorated, comfortably furnished and well equipped. The staff were welcoming, gracious and attentive. Dining in the intimate restaurant each evening was a very agreeable experience. The food was exquisite and, I assumed, typical of the region. The hotel is perfectly situated in a quiet street in the centre of Wittenberg, which is one of the most beautiful and most interesting towns that I have ever visited. All the main attractions of the town are just a few minutes' walk from the hotel, except the Hunterwasserschule, which is about 30 minutes' walk from the centre of the town.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank John_D1096378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Richland Hills, Texas
Level Contributor
97 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

Great option for Wittenberg. The rooms were very clean, and the bathrooms were spacious with wonderful showers (and heated towels.) The breakfast that is included with the room price was very good - many choices and it was a great start to our day. Our German was a bit limited, but the staff was very gracious in communicating with us. If you are traveling with family, I'd recommend one of the larger rooms that is laid out almost like an apartment (two bedroom areas and two large baths with garden-sized tubs). We were a party of 7, so 4 in our group had that space, and it was a good gathering spot for everyone. We were directed to close-by street parking for our van for the night, and then for our day in Wittenberg (after checking out of the hotel) we were directed to the parking garage attached to the (new) mall - that was helpful and made our day easy.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jackmom1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trenton, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012 via mobile

Excellent option, close to Luther House and Melanchton House. Room was very clean, very quiet, breakfast was excellent and the staff very friendly. Hallway wall drawings are worthy of notice. Could be better: offer free wireless internet / not recommended if you have luggage and plan on walking from the train station Wittemberg streets are paved with cobblestone and kill luggage wheels). Overall, this is a fine hotel and I was very satisfied with the stay.

Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank padregerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This charming small hotel is located close to all of the tourist sites in Wittenburg and about 15 min. walk from the train station. The room was comfortable and clean with a well-equipped bathroom. The food is good here, too. The breakfast that was included in the price offered lots of choices--cheese and cold cuts along with yogurt, breads, and cereals. We also had the four-course fixed price dinner the night before, and it was delicious. Staff members were very accomodating and helpful, though they were not fluent in English. However, they spoke better English than we spoke German and all went well. I would stay here again and recommend it highly.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bardfan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Wittenberg hotels
0.1 mi away
Luther-Hotel Wittenberg
Luther-Hotel Wittenberg
#2 of 13 in Wittenberg
127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Western Stadtpalais Wittenberg
0.3 mi away
Hotel Alte Canzley
Hotel Alte Canzley
#5 of 13 in Wittenberg
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ringhotel Schwarzer Baer
Ringhotel Schwarzer Baer
#3 of 13 in Wittenberg
79 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brauhaus Wittenberg
Brauhaus Wittenberg
#4 of 13 in Wittenberg
47 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Gruene Tanne
Hotel Gruene Tanne
#10 of 13 in Wittenberg
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Am Schwanenteich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Am Schwanenteich

Property: Am Schwanenteich
Address: Toepferstr. 1 | Lutherstadt, 06886 Wittenberg, Saxony-Anhalt, Germany
Region: Germany > Saxony-Anhalt > Wittenberg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Wittenberg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Am Schwanenteich 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Am Schwanenteich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing