We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best turkie snitzell” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Porterhouse im Gnomenkeller

Porterhouse im Gnomenkeller
Ranked #5 of 173 Restaurants in Flensburg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Steakhouse, German, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Flensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best turkie snitzell”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My favorite restaurant in my hometown. I love the turkie snitzel. The service is good and the prices is fair.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Heinz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    122
    43
    12
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Nice interior atmosphere ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We tried the turkey schnitzel, it was very good. We got a good service and the interior atmosphere was nice and relaxing. Easy access, it is in the main shopping street.

Helpful?
Thank Kaveh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torslanda
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a wonderfully nice restaurant:-)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We were travelling a bit in Northen Germany during September and found Flensburg and Gnomenkeller just by chance - what luck!
Gnomenkeller is a cellar-vaulted, very beautiful restaurant full with nice historical decorations which gave us a most pleasant experience. As the food very well lived up to our expectations when we first saw this exciting room, we will certainly return to Gnomenkeller whenever we visit Flensburg again! We both ordered medium-rare steaks and found the cooking excellent! We are not always very fond of German cooking but this steakhouse is definitely on our favourite list now. A lovely restaurant strongly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ulla-Carin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark
Level Contributor
87 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Superb steak house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

This is a really excellent steak house. Located in a cellar, the ambiance is perfect really for any occasion be it a romantic or family meal. The service was excellent and the prices reasonable. The steak was tender and fat free. I requested medium and if you wanted to be super-critical it was possibly just a little under that but was very tasty and I thoroughly enjoyed it. I would certainly recommend a visit here if you are in Flensburg.
I think the Trip Advisor question 'Is this one of the beast meals you've ever had in a restaurant? answer yes or no a little unfair. As a steak house meal it was hard to fault, hence I've given it 5 stars but I can't say yes it was one of my best meals ever.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterDane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
146 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Flensburg's Best Steak House”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Porterhouse im Gnomenkeller is absolutely a great steak house in Flensburg. The steaks we got were perfect, the waiters were very friendly and serviceminded and the restaurant had a very nice atmosphere.
The prices were cheap compared to prices in Denmark, and the overall quality of the food was excellent.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mads P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porterhouse im Gnomenkeller also viewed

Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein
 
Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein
Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein
 
Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein
Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein
 

Been to Porterhouse im Gnomenkeller? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing