We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the better places to stay in this area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Flensburg
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“One of the better places to stay in this area.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

This is probably one of the better hotels 100km either side of the Danish/German border.
Even though it is not a 4-star hotel as Expedia and Hotels.com would have you believe it is definitely a solid hotel with good sized rooms (by European standards).
The bathrooms are fairly roomy albeit with a stand up shower and the bed is comfortable.
The highlight of the stay was the breakfast buffet which was excellent, comparable to many 4-star hotels in say Geneva.
Overall; a good choice and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Probably get a room in the min building - less to walk
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    163
    96
    32
    13
See reviews for
108
168
5
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kristiansand, Norway
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

We have just returned from spending 1 night at Best Western, Flensburg and were really pleased with the service we received. We were late arriving to the hotel (about 11:30pm) but despite this we were greeted by a nice man on reception who spoke excellent English and was very helpful. The room was bigger than anticipated, very clean and to a quite modern standard. The beds were extremely comfortable and despite there being quite a busy road outside there was no traffic noise. The breakfast was also very good. Overall very pleased, good value for money and we will be coming back!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Luliebeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aarhus Denmark
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

An older hotel just meters from the danish border. Rooms were bigger than we anticipated which was very nice. Good beds, bathrooms. We enjoyed the extra floor space in the rooms, didnt feel cramped at all. The dinner buffet was ok but the breakfast buffet was excellent. The best part was the heated outdoor pool. So wonderful to swim outside in feb, with the ground covered with snow.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAC1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

Wow. I have visited this Hotel in many occations, and I must say the standard has grown dramatically. Super service, super atmosphere, super food, and Best of all...super swimmingpool.

Perfect hotel for the businessmann, family holiday or just a roadtrip with the boys

We will soon be back.

BR the kitesurfer

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitesurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed here as we were unable to find any vacancies in similar hotels across the border in Denmark. The rooms are comfortable if rather plain and old fashioned, and the beds comfortable, but the bathrooms are small and cramped - it's impossible to use the wash basin unless the door is closed, which makes the surrounding space (sic) very claustrophobic. Also, the wash basins are a fine example of style over substance. They are so shallow that almost any movement of the water results in wet feet. The restaurant was superb. We arrived late in the evening after driving from Lystrup through a blizard, but the full menu was still available with a wide selection of courses at reasonable prices. Breakfast had a superb selection of cold foods plus the perfunctory bacon and eggs, although there were no staff around to answer queries. Overall good value for money, if a little cold and teutonic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a proper sized wash basin (if they exist)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tau, Norway
Level Contributor
99 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stayed 1 night only. Fairly decent Best Western hotel, just outside the picturesque town of Flensburg. Ample parking facilties. All written information is first posted in Danish, so they are apparently Scandinavia-oriented, but when I spoke to the staff (at the front desk, in the bar and in the restaurant) in Norwegian, they seemed to understand perfectly, but all of them replied in German or English, not in Danish. Pretty typical for Flensburg, I guess. The room was large and comfortable enough, but not fashionable, There was no minibar in the room, and the bathroom floor was not heated (there was a heated towel rack on the wall, though). Free WiFI, but a bit unstable. Dinner and breakfast in the restaurant were both fine. There is a swimmingpool, you could smell the chlorine all through the corridors, but I did not use the pool. As I have frequent business in Flensburg, I might stay at Hotel des Nordens again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sigmundm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Hotel des Nordens is a funny one, the room are well equiped and large but are a bit old. The Spa and heated outdoor pool has been super nice after a long day at work (it closes at 10pm). The staff are nice and helpfull however not particular professional. For the price and the facilities this is definately my prefered hotel of choice in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NJFenger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flensburg
3.6 mi away
Hotel Alte Post
Hotel Alte Post
#1 of 25 in Flensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
3.5 mi away
Arcadia Hotel Flensburg
Arcadia Hotel Flensburg
#3 of 25 in Flensburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
3.8 mi away
Vitalhotel Alter Meierhof
Vitalhotel Alter Meierhof
#2 of 7 in Glucksburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Flensburg City
Ibis Budget Flensburg City
#7 of 25 in Flensburg
3.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel am Fjord
Hotel am Fjord
#8 of 25 in Flensburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Nordig
Hotel Nordig
#9 of 25 in Flensburg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens

Property: BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens
Address: Alte Zollstrasse 44 | Harrislee, 24955 Flensburg, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Region: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Flensburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Flensburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Hotel Des Nordens - Your hotel at the Danish / German border. BEST WESTERN Hotel Des Nordens is a true border hotel that you can easily find right of Krusaa border (exit 74 from highway E45). The hotel has 127 lovely double rooms and suites, a wellness area, fitness, skating rink and much more. We offer the optimal framework for pleasure, business meetings, parties, corporations or a comfortable overnight stay on a trip to the border. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel des Nordens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing