We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kiel by Golden Tulip
Nearby Hotels
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$117
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$98
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$111
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$81
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (200)
Filter reviews
200 results
Traveller rating
23
62
73
31
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
23
62
73
31
11
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 200 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Reception kind but very matter-of-fact. Room big and acceptable. Breakfast fine and very good service. Evening meal (3-course dinner) not interesting, bland and common. Staff very kind. A 15-minutes' walk to the harbour and Altstadt makes it convenient for sight-seeing. And Kiel is a friendly and interesting town.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms not facing the street
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gummerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

At arrival we were given the room key card, 4th floor. We came up, opened the door to our room...which turned out to be occupied! Down to reception - they told us they had some system breakdown problems and handed us key card no 2, room on 2nd floor...key card did not work, back to reception. They gave us a new key card AND a normal key, in case this card did not work either. It didn´t. Normal key opened the door, room was not in use and we unpacked, just to find out afterwards that the room had no cold water. Down to reception, where we told about the water problem ad asked for a ironing board and iron. We went shopping and were promised that the issues would be solved when we came back. 3 hours later we came back and were told that they could not fix the cold water in our room and that we had to change to the 3rd room, once more to 4th floor. Since we had already unpacked, we asked if they had moved our belongings while we were away. No, we had to move it ourselves. Asked if they had brought up the ironing board and iron, we were told "YES, it is in one of the rooms"...OKAY! They did however offer us to borrow the Gepäckwagen for our belongings, ironing board and iron...so we rolled off into the sunset and moved to our third room. They had now given us the suite, nice of them, but...the suite may sound fine, but is really just exactly the same amount of furniture as in the normal rooms, but is perhaps 4 times bigger and has a sofa and bath tub. no tv in the bedroom, shower was broken, one of the lights did not work...

we had a gift certificate for a 2 course dinner for 2 people. The week before our stay we called to ask how this worked and were told then AND upon our arrival that we could chose 2 dishes from the menu card. In the evening ready to have dinner, we were then told that there was 1 appetizer (broccoli crème soup, which tasted fine) and we could then chose between only 2 dishes (which were not even on the menu): a turkey roll with rice and vegetables or pasta with aubergine, chorizo and tomato sugo. We took the pasta...a VERY small portion of spaghetti and a bit of oil soaked tomato sauce with some very small pieces of chorizo and aubergine, on top was half a tomato and a dried in slice of cucumber....no bread, no grains cheese....

at the neighbor table some guests were served by a female waitress in a grumpy mood, she was quite rude and answered the guests with sighs and turning her eyes...embarrassing!

Room Tip: one not occupied
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anne-Marie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The overall welcoming was very cold and not friendly. Requests made in advance, and not contested by email, where not available upon arrival. The decoration is poor, and the omnipresent pale turquoise blue, grey and white make you feel like in a hospital. The furniture style belongs in a 1990 Ikea... and the prices are five star like....for a standard that isn't... for exemple 13 Euro for breakfast or 4 Euro for a beer.

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and spacious.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

We came by car from Klaipeda ferry and needed a hotel with the parking lot and wifi. There are not so many choices in Kiel as you might think. We are familiar with the Best Western and would not have picked it but as we got a free night option from the hotel.com, we decided to spend it in BW. It could be actually quite good hotel but their interior design. It was just so unbelievable tacky. If you do not know how to match the colors and patterns, leave it neutral and simple. Cheap marble imitation in bathrooms was ok maybe in 80-es. Maybe. Etc. Otherwise, bed was good, room was big and clean, parking was free and breakfast was rather good. Wifi worked only in the lobby and was quite slow.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reesepp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The only downside to this hotel is that it's about five or so blocks from the Central Train Station--a 20 minute walk. Otherwise, it was superb. I got a suite on the second floor, and it was one of the nicest I've ever stayed in. Hardwood floors, spacious, a comfortable settee, nice big screen TV. Bathroom was a little small. The breakfast buffet is superb. The front desk were sometimes sticklers for protocol, (a little anal at times), but sometimes they could bend and be flexible--Herr Christian (I forget his last name) was particularly helpful, as was Frau Kunstmann. The bicycles rent for 5 euros/day. This hotel seemed to be punching above Best Western weight (although Best Westerns in Europe seem to be better than in America and Canada). All in all, this was a 4 star stay for me.

Room Tip: The second floor suite facing the street is majestic
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MyNightAtMauds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews