We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pass on the inside, check out the seals outside”
Review of Aquarium Kiel

Aquarium Kiel
Ranked #7 of 52 things to do in Kiel
Attraction details
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Pass on the inside, check out the seals outside”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

As other people have mentioned, the inside of the aquarium is very small . . . and probably not worth your time or money. But the seals outside (free) are definitely worth a look if you're walking along the water!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jlscwg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    27
    24
    12
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
54 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Not much to see”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I think we spent about 15 minutes here. Not very much to see. a couple of fish and that is it. Brought Our 8 year old son,and he thought it was average just like us adults. It also looked like the aquariums were not very clean and it smelled a little bit in there, like the place had not been sleaned in a while. So just average

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank princessleyla73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Small but relatively cheap - seals ouside are free to watch.”
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Best thing was watching the seals swimming around the outside pool - which you can do by just walking to the aquarium - so that's free! Going inside was cheap but the aquarium is small and doesn't take long to go round. A bit disappointing

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“very good”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I loved where it is located more than the place itself actually, it was located near the sea, and facing a submarine factory, a lot of restaurants nearby and like a lovely place to take a walk near their :P so it was more about what was around it :P though the place was fine :) fishes, sea lion, and yeah that was all

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebrahem D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Kiel Aquarium - a place for improvement”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

I was really looking forward to visiting the Aquarium in Kiel.

The building is right next to the port which is a great location.
The pools with the seals are outdoors in front of the building and accessible by and visible to pedestrians and visitors alike.

The entrance fee for the aquarium is 3 Euros which is very reasonable compared to entrance fees for attractions in other European cities.

However, the Aquarium itself i.e. the inside of the building with the tanks is very old and tatty - the tanks are on one floor only and there are not very many. The atmosphere is dark and dull, the paint on the walls must be decades old. Everything looks desperate and in need of renovation. One tank was empty and undergoes repair or the like at the time of my visit.

I felt sorry for the fish, seahorses, crabs, etc. that are on display and living in this artificial world.

I do not think that the Aquarium itself was very informative either especially to those who are newcomers to marine biology.

I was done with all exhibits in less than 20 minutes.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilja W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aquarium Kiel also viewed

Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein
Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein
 
Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein
Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein
 

Been to Aquarium Kiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing