We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alt und unfreundlich”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steigenberger Conti-Hansa
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Kiel
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We Stände there for a Weekend. The Location is great. The Hotel itself, the interior is old and outworn. The staff is unfriendly and not very welcoming. They seem to have a Problem with the door locking system. It is a card system which seems to be used up. Many Hotel guests complained having Problems to get in their rooms. So we did, after trying for minutes, i went down to the reception to get help. As i was told someone is coming up to help in a few minutes. After 15 minutes the manager on Duty showed up and before trying asked us if we done this and that wrong and if we understand the simple system (not very nice). After trying herself a few times she had to admit that the card didn t work and used her own card and opened the door. Without any apologize she left. Thank you madame for helping you guest it will not happen again.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Matthias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (903)
There are newer reviews for Steigenberger Conti-Hansa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

130 - 136 of 903 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

No aircondition and safe in the rom. Exterme slow free Internet axsess. This should be netter in 2014. We expect ene the same slow axsess in other Steigenberger Hotels as well

Nice restaurant and great breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReidarSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Very nice hotel,excellent service,short way to shopping or restaurants,or nice walks by the sea,parking is in the hotel,or 2 minutes away.20 minutes walk to railway station,or take the bus who is stopping right outside the hotel.We have stayed at the hotel,a week each time,for many years,and we come again next year.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank johnny w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We spent 3 nights over a long weekend in a junior suite which was beautifully decorated in a Nordic style (see photos). We arrived early evening and ordered room service dinner which arrived promptly and was delicious and good value. During the weekend it was unusually hot and very humid and we were glad for the efficient and quiet air con which we kept on during the night.
Beds were twins, firm and comfortable. The spacious room was well equipped, with a safe, a mini bar which was somewhat sparsely stocked (orange juice, beer and water), there was a coffee maker, plenty of storage and seating. The TV was perhaps a little small to watch from bed. The bathroom was lovely, with optional blue mood lightning, double basins, plenty of toiletries, slippers (no robes).
Everything was spotlessly clean.
The main hotel areas were of a more traditional look. We didn't have lunch or dinner but breakfast there which was buffet and very good. It was very busy on Saturday and Sunday and very quiet on Monday - much more relaxing!
We also liked the long breakfast hours - till 10.30 except Sundays when it was available till 11.30, very civilised.
Reception was very professional, friendly and helpful. They provided advice on sightseeing, extended our checkout and were always smiling. We would definitely choose the Steinberger again for our next Kiel stay.

Room Tip: Kiel room (renovated)
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Karla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

First class Hotel in Kiel. Close to center and old city. Good parking facilities in the basement and rooms of very good standard.
The restaurant is excellent and we experienced the aspargus season in Northern Germany in the Jacob Restaurant. Great breakfast as well and a top service from the waiters.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milkman57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

They give you a free internet access and let you fall into hight speed internet that you have to paid at the end. They don't write anywhere that it will be charge to you. In any other hotel if you want the hight speed internet you have to paid FIRST. So you can have the choice to have it or not. FORCING SELLING. I want to write it on a complains book but they haven't ..... Really strange for a 4 stars hotel. Or maybe they get to much complaining ... I was thinking it's was a obligation to have a complains book.... Really bad for them to allowed that clients have a bad recordation of this hotel.

Stayed: May 2014
3  Thank LeaFlowers86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Been here for the last 35 years in connection with the Kiel/Oslo ferry.
Traditional hotel with pleasant atmosphere, and a very good restaurant (not too many in town).
Very nice to spend a night in the modern room, after days of driving.
The breakfast, good and rich of what you desire.
The WIFI should have been free of charge.

Room Tip: The modernized rooms are ok, even if smaal
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Finn Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiel hotels
0.9 mi away
IntercityHotel Kiel
IntercityHotel Kiel
#10 of 37 in Kiel
223 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#1 of 37 in Kiel
378 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Birke
Hotel Birke
#2 of 37 in Kiel
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Maritim Hotel Bellevue Kiel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Astor Kiel by Campanile
0.2 mi away
Comfort Hotel tom Kyle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Conti-Hansa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Conti-Hansa

Address: Schlossgarten 7, 24103 Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Kiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kiel
#2 Green Hotel in Kiel
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kiel
Price Range: £80 - £122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Conti-Hansa 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Steigenberger Conti-Hansa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Conti Hansa Kiel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing