We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to cruise ship terminal/train station”
Review of Rabe's Hotel Kiel

Rabe's Hotel Kiel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rabe's Hotel Kiel
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Kiel
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My family and I stayed 1 night before we boarded our cruise ship. The hotel is close to the train station about 5-10 minute walk. We had two rooms, checked in, had to carry our suitcases up 3 flights of stairs because they do not have an elevator, we knew this when we booked online. The rooms were basic with 2 twin beds, TV, no refrigerator, basic washroom facilities, and hair dryer. We were given the key to our rooms because there is no hotel attendant on after about 8pm. The key opens the hotel front door and your room. Our 1 room was located over the street and it was noisy all night. It was Kiel boat week and there were alot of people in town so that night they were people yelling, drinking, and destroying property all night long. The hotel itself is okay for a nights stay but not any longer. Kiel has a great promanade to walk along and an international market on the weekend. All together is was a good place to stay for the night, it was clean, comfortable and the morning breakfast was good.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back not facing the street and remember you have to take your luggage up th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1968Travelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 22 August 2011

Hotel interior is - as others have pointed out - rather dated. Room itself was clean, location is good. So was their rate compared to other Hotels in Kiel. We parked our bicycles and trailers in the courtyard and staff was very welcoming which is not always the case when you show up with a lot of luggage for a one night stay. Breakfast was satisfying. Cold cuts, ham and eggs were good. Not that much choice of fresh fruit and vegetables though.

Recommended for non-fuzzy travelers looking for affordable central accomodation. If light sleeper ask for rooms facing the yard as some are facing the street. Good windows but they do not kill all traffic noise.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patboner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

I liked this hotel from the very beginning although it is not the most modern hotel in Kiel. On the contrary it looks as one of the building that survived the war. It is very close to the main train station, a just 5 minutes walk, it is very easy to find and the hall and the reception are small but welcoming. So I checked in, I got my key, I climbed up the carpeted stairs (now I realize I didn't pay attention to if there is any lift) and I went in the room.

This was a single room, so it was quite small (I'll try to attach some pictures so that you can see it) but it looked comfortable. In addition the furniture and the carpet were well maintained, and the walls were well painted. The room had a good quality single wide bed, a desk, a chair, another "chair" but without back, a tall wardrobe, a radio and a TV (not flat screen) under which there was a small closet. There wasn't any fridge but there is a big one beside the reception. Every room has a sheet with the list of drink prices.

The whole room was very clean and on the pillow there was a packed chocolate, a sweet gift for the guest. The private bathroom was also very clean, quite new but very small (I'll try too to attach a picture). The only thing which is less positive is that walls seem to be a little bit thin, so it is possible that you can hear some noise from the room next door. This is not the case with the noise from the street because windows are quite insulating. By the way, the street hasn't any attraction at all and in front of the hotel there is a tank station, so don't expect to have a beautiful view out of the window.

As said before, this hotel is very near the train station which means that the center of Kiel and all its cafes and restaurants are easy to reach. Kiel, by the way, seems to be very safe.

In regards to the breakfast, which was included in the price and which is served in a pleasant room, it was a delicious buffet which offered bread rolls, slices of black bread, slices of white bread, butter, margarine, honey (in small boxes), slices of different sorts of cheese, different types of ham and sausages, scrambled eggs, poached eggs, cooked bacon, coffee, several types of tee, orange juice, milk, six or seven sorts of jam, four types of cereals, yogurt and bananas. I loved it.

Finally I want to mention that the people from this hotel were nice and professional. I didn't have any problems at all, so from my point of view, this hotel is a good place.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gwaladar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2008

The Rabe's Hotel Kiel is a simple hotel located close to main station. The last redecoaration seems to have taken place some years ago: The interior still has 60's feel. Also, the breakfast is rather simple (e.g. no tomatos). On a plus side rooms are clean and prices reasonable.

You need to consider for yourself. I for my part will be looking for a nicer place to stay in Kiel.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Roundtrip_Rob1n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank reda60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiel hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel an der Hoern
Hotel an der Hoern
#21 of 36 in Kiel
46 reviews
0.2 mi away
IntercityHotel Kiel
IntercityHotel Kiel
#9 of 36 in Kiel
238 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kiel by Golden Tulip
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Am Segelhafen Hotel
Am Segelhafen Hotel
#13 of 36 in Kiel
59 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Astor Kiel by Campanile
5.3 mi away
Hotel Kieler Foerde
Hotel Kieler Foerde
#15 of 36 in Kiel
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rabe's Hotel Kiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rabe's Hotel Kiel

Address: Ringstr. 30, 24103 Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Region: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Kiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Kiel
Price Range: £61 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rabe's Hotel Kiel 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Rabe's Hotel Kiel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing