We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean and handy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Wiking - Kiel
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Kiel
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Clean and handy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2012

The room was clean and had everything we needed, but wasn't any bigger than it needed to be. Ideal if you just need somewhere to sleep. The bathroom was especially compact. The restaurant offers breakfast only, but restaurants are not afr away. Breakfast was a simple continental style, offering a selection of rolls, with cheeses, sliced cold meats, jams, yogurt, fruit juice, tea and coffee. Staff were helpful and efficient, and spoke some English. I suspect most of their guests are on business, unlike us. The hotel was easy to find off the main appraoch road to Kiel, and conveniently located - we walked everywhere (but we like walking) and the free onsite car park was much appreciated. Our room overlooked the street but we weren't bothered by noise.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Margo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    18
    22
    8
    4
See reviews for
13
20
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Odense, Denmark
Level Contributor
160 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2011

We stayed two nights at Hotel Wiking and it is a fair hotel with modernized rooms and free WiFi. The bathroom is extremely small and the furtinutres the cheapest models available. Helpful staff and good breakfast. The hotel is centrally located, 10 min walk from the pedestrian area and easy to accessible by car. Free parking and some good restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelBNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2011

Free parking available, convenient location. Staff helpful and breakfast available until 1030 AM. Room very clean and warm.

Shower room was adequate and very clean, but a little cramped. No English TV channels, SKY news or similar would have been nice.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ww33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia, US
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2007

It appeared to be run by a very kind and friendly family - who fortunately spoke English because my German is very poor. There wasn't anything fancy or flashy about Hotel Wiking, but the room came with the essentials i.e. bathroom, beds and a closet. This is perfect for those who travel on a budget!

The hotel was located on a slightly busy street and was within walking distance of downtown Kiel. A couple of restaurants are located within a few hundred meters, one of which was directly next door.

The downside with Wiking were the very thin walls. In my room, at the beginning of the hallway, I could hear a tv and others talking in a room three doors down.

So if you are on a budget and don't mind hearing other guests, Hotel Wiking will probably fit all of your essential needs.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank joenc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2007

The only problem one could have with this hotel is that the rooms are small, especially the bathroom. But they are clean and modern, it looks like the hotel was redecorated not too long ago, most things looks quite new.

The location is very good, within walking distance of the "old" town and the central station, and easy to reach by car. Free car parking behind and underneath the hotel.

The staff is very friendly. The breakfast is simple but good, especially the coffee is very good!

There is free wireless internet available in all rooms.

All in all, I think this hotel offers very good value for money, I would certainly stay there again if I need to be in Kiel again.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank paul12391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2004

Hotel Wiking was a wounderfull choice. for the price class. the hotel
is a littel and small and run bye a family.

the roms, are bright with plenty of changes to get air in. you even get
a balcong.
The balcong is just a simpel and ok. the room are also simpel and ok, but really clean. a small tv, chair, doubbel bed, and a desk.

Own bathroom also comes with the room, with shower. The staff are
really nice, and incridibel nice and helpfull. the reception girl (only
one) she spend almost one and a half houre helping me.

And the houskeeper, dident want to accept my tips.

you get a simpel breakfst, enough to get you day starting. This hotel
is nice and wounderfull if you travell with a budget. and not want to
have a fancy hotel with a fancy room. Anyway ho planing to stay in the
hotel the hole holiday.

Hotel layes 10 minuttes walk from the ship and kiel centrum. the place
are nice and safe there. Myself i was walking there 3 in the night with
almost no peoepl on the street. you have some food shop close, that
sells finish food. the hotel did not serve dinner when i was there.
because i stayd not in the high season.

remcond highly for travlers.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiel hotels
2.6 mi away
Hotel Dietrichsdorfer Hof
0.4 mi away
Basic Hotel City
Basic Hotel City
#16 of 37 in Kiel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
1.4 mi away
GHOTEL hotel & living Kiel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Comfort Hotel tom Kyle
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kiel by Golden Tulip
0.3 mi away
Hotel Consul
Hotel Consul
#21 of 37 in Kiel
3.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Wiking - Kiel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Wiking - Kiel

Property: Hotel Wiking - Kiel
Address: Schuetzenwall 1 - 3, 24114 Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Region: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Kiel
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 37 Hotels in Kiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Wiking - Kiel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Wiking - Kiel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Wiking Kiel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing