We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value foir money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Basic-Hotel Ostseehalle
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Kiel
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value foir money”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I have been staying in this little hotel a number of times when in Kiel. It is very centrally located and has a car parking deal with the near-by Karstadt Shopping centre.
There are different sized rooms, and at the time being they are being renovated. The twin bed rooms are the most spacious ones. Some are facing a large square, some the other way overlooking the back of some buildings, and either way will give you a good night's sleep, there isn't much noise. The beds are comfortable. The bathrooms have a shower cabin, and hair dryers are provided.
Breakfast is included, you take what you want from a large table and then seat yourself at smaller tables. The display of the food items could not have been made better! It is clean, varied, good tasting and abundant. I can really recommend this hotel!

As for shops and restaurants, you don't have to walk more than 100m, then you are in the middle of them.

Room Tip: Twin bed rooms have more space than double rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    9
    6
    6
    12
See reviews for
8
10
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
norway
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Very nice service, clean, good location in the senter of Kiel. Small, but nice rooms. Only minus for because we travelld with a baby- it was no elevator. But it was no problem to put the trolly at the resepcion. Good breakfast buffet. Good price.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ma24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We wanted a place to stay for 2 nights... And by we I mean my big family which need all in all 4 rooms. All the four rooms were dirty, well more like extremely dirty! We have a 3 months old baby with us and I couldn't let him sleep in our bed... Flakes are everywhere, the toilets were never cleaned... rusted... well horrible! We chose this hotel because of the location... which was good... but when we chose it we also thought it would be basic... So we weren't expecting any fantasy hotel but there is a minimum of hygiene...
I have also asked when reserving for a room where I could add a baby bed in it... the rooms where too small... almost no place for a baby bed. It was simply a disaster! Never again!!! NEVER!

Room Tip: Ask for the renovated ones... the older rooms in the old building are horrible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Human-84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Kiel hotels

Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This hotel near the centre of Kiel (though Kiel doesn't really have a strong town centre feel) is fine for cheap accommodation in easy walking distance of the train station and bus station (about ten minutes with a 'wheely' suitcase). The rooms are clean and tidy, the beds are reasonably comfortable (though I find the big pillows in Germany a bit strange), and the bathrooms are very spacious with good showers. The decor is old-fashioned in the bathroom and quite plain in the bedroom, but if you're not spending a lot of time in your room, that's not a problem. Towels, and a simple sachet of hair and body wash, are provided.

I have stayed here twice, and was pleased with the service and the hotel in general on both occasions. Some of the staff speak good English, which was very helpful for me because my German only goes so far.

The TV worked fine. I enjoyed the breakfast and was able to eat something that was gluten-free because there were yoghurts and fruit available as well as meats, cheeses, bread, cereals, tea, coffee and juice.

My room on my most recent visit was very warm, mainly due to the warm weather, so on the second night I had both windows open. I was kept awake by people on the street below going to and from bars and cafes every now and then, so I think I should have closed the window and put up with being too warm. That's my only complaint, really, and I don't know how I would have solved it as there is no air-conditioning in the rooms.

I would choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HBunyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Yes the place is basic, but perfectly clean, tidy, modern and well equipped. The bed was very comfortable. The breakfast buffet spread was generously extensive and very good quality indeed. The reception staff were bright, friendly, helpful and multilingual. Wi-fi access from a public wi-fi spot readily available throughout the hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank captainblood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tenerife, España
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

Hotel is a four floors without elevator, horrible, dirty, the bathroom is terrible and has never been cleaned. The bedrooms are too small, and the carpet had a rare smell.
The only thing that is good about this hotel is the location, at the europaplatz (kiel-center)

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msstibbetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kiel hotels
0.3 mi away
Basic Hotel City
Basic Hotel City
#16 of 37 in Kiel
46 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Wiking - Kiel
Hotel Wiking - Kiel
#29 of 37 in Kiel
57 reviews
0.6 mi away
Steigenberger Conti-Hansa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Consul
Hotel Consul
#21 of 37 in Kiel
36 reviews
0.4 mi away
Flaemischer Hof Hotel
Flaemischer Hof Hotel
#15 of 37 in Kiel
66 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Dietrichsdorfer Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Basic-Hotel Ostseehalle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Basic-Hotel Ostseehalle

Property: Basic-Hotel Ostseehalle
Address: Lange Reihe 5, 24103 Kiel, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Region: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Kiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 37 Hotels in Kiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Basic-Hotel Ostseehalle 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Basic-Hotel Ostseehalle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing