We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't miss the viewpoint” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. Petri zu Lubeck

St. Petri zu Lubeck
Ranked #5 of 51 things to do in Lubeck
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Don't miss the viewpoint”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

When you walk around Lubeck, you'll see lots of wonderful architecture. For a mere three Euros, you can get to the top of this church via a lift (plus a few stairs) to see it all from above! I found that the best photographs of the city were obtained from up here. Don't miss it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank S-Man283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    103
    20
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
963 reviews
687 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 392 helpful votes
“Great views from the top”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

When you visit this church, don't expect to be able to walk around inside the church. There were no pews or alter when I visited.

This church is recommended for the great views from the top of the church, which cost €3 and is accessed via a lift (after a few, not many, stairs).

Well worth the visit for the views.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KylieIsTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luebeck, Germany
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A nice view from the tower”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

It is the last church that was rebuilt after WW2. I heared that the reopening was in 1980ies. There is a obeservation deck in the tower that provides a nice view of the city.

Visit it while you can. There are some cracks in the wall and the ceiling. The experts are concerned. Maybe the need to close the church for reconstruction.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Seidenpriester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level Contributor
404 reviews
106 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“panorama from the top, cultural activities on the ground floor”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Since we usually like to climb all the way to the top of towers, we were a little disappointed that the only way up was to buy a ticket and take the lift. But before we went to the top we had a look at the bare white-washed interior of the church bathed in bright summer sunlight. A fascinating exhibit with the intriguing name Gegenlicht (“against the light”) displayed a combination of statues by the German sculptor Hans Scheib with mythological and social aspects and paintings and collages by Robert Weber, some of which reminded us of Russian icons. We later learned that the church is now used not only as an art gallery but also as a place for public readings and concerts.

The short elevator ride 50 meters up to the top of the tower provided us then with the promised panoramic 360 degree view including a look at the contrast of roofs: a controversial department store built around ten years ago with much older and restored roofs of the surrounding area of the famous Markt plaza. Lübeck's iconic Holstentor from above looked more than a toy than the weighty imposing gate it really is.

We were lucky enough to have absolutely gorgeous weather on our day in Lübeck and thus could really enjoy the panorama – but we’d come back to St. Petri for other activities on a cloudy day too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GermanJody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Views are amazing”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

There is a lift up to the tower so there is no excuse not to go and see the amazing views of the city especially at sunset. The church itself is lovely and has a great history.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank ag27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed St. Petri zu Lubeck also viewed

Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
 
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
 

Been to St. Petri zu Lubeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing