We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT B&B , but what about a three star hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
TOP CCL Klassik Altstadt Hotel
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Lubeck
Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT B&B , but what about a three star hotel?”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

This is a not objective review. I booked for one night, considering it a three star hotel, which it's not. But it's very clean, with very good breakfast and caring people. There is no concierge after 10 at night, so it's kind of creepy, but it's mostly families so it's ok. Excellent for B&B, but not a hotel.
It has a personal touch and it's apparent that people care for this property. It is classy, and the restaurant area is nicely decorated. Rooms are equiped with LCD tv, which indicates that money are spent for upgrading this property.
Again my review is not objective. If i knew it was b&b, not doubt i would give 5 star. But not actually a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank okyalos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    25
    14
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
27
21
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

We were there in a group of eight people for my birthday, Everyone appreciated the hotel and the standard of the rooms allocated. Fantastic breakfast and very helpful and efficient staff. I just asked to have a table alltogether for the breakfast and we had the better one. Ideally located and quiet.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delft, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Lubeck is a place that deserves a visit, and the Klassik Altstadt is a pretty good place to stay. For sure the centre of the city is small, and despite its Unesco status, is hardly touristy (perhaps even less so because my visit was in January).

The Klassik Altstadt is clean and it has plenty of character, right down to the rooms dedicated to various literary figures. Breakfast is appealing to some tastes, as is the free Apollinaris water. My only complaint was that I had to pay full rate when I asked for a room with a bathroom when the place did not appear full. But that's no disqualification, and the staff was otherwise lovely.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mklein818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
853 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2010

The hotel is in the real centre of Lubeck and has some charme.
I had a room without private facilities but I had slippers and bathrobe. Moreover I think I was the only gust in the floor where the rooms didn't had private facilities and so I had a bathroom pratically only for me!
The breakfast was good with also some warm dishes.
To sum up: a very nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Kildare
Level 6 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2010

Setting: A traditional hotel well placed in the old town for walking to all the sights and for shopping. Like most large towns and cities on street parking is limited but there is off street parking a few minutes walk away.
Type of accommodation: Old fashioned family hotel. Décor and furnishings very 1980s style but all in good clean condition.
Comfort. Bed and room very comfortable, good sized shower room. Room was huge (we had booked a double) there was 1 King size bed and more than enough space for the couch which could have folded down to make another double bed plus 2 arm chairs. There was also what looked like another bed in a large alcove above the walk in wardrobe! There was a pull down ladder but we didn’t bother investigating. Effectively our room could have accommodated 5.
Cleanliness; Clean with very fresh perfectly laundered linens
Service; friendly and efficient, helpful with advice on transport and sightseeing
Food; breakfast was fine but I wouldn’t rate the hot food which was sitting on warmers for a long time if you were down late (we were)
Activities; nothing in the hotel. There is a bar and a small sitting area. We weren’t enticed by the sitting area but they were more than happy to serve us a nightcap to take to our room.
Pluses; good location for sightseeing and strolling through the town. Reasonable price
Downsides. Not the hotels fault but getting there from the airport. There were no taxis. We waited ages for a bus (despite being Germany it wasn’t on time!) Seemed a bit of a trek from the bus stop with suitcases, wasn’t really when you knew where you were. I was sure I had read on line that there was a train station at the airport but the tourist office at the airport and locals all said no. I have checked since I have returned and there is, very strange.
Who its for: Any adults who don’t need hotel entertainment
Who its not for: possibly children who would get bored easily and there is no outside space.
We stayed: August 2009

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ski-er-Co.Kildare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

We stayed at Klassik Altstadt on two occations this summer, both time in the same Studio-room. The room was actually more like an apartment with an extra bed upstairs. Lots of space for three kids. Friendly "old fashioned" service!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloKnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Goteborg
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2009

Booked the "marzipan dream" package ( 141 Euro pp for two nights incl breakfast, marzipan hearts in the rooms and a voucher for coffee and cake at the Niederegger café ) for me, bf and my parents. The rooms are quite big and niceley furnished and every room is dedicated to a famous literary figure or artist from Lübeck.
There is no elevator in the hotel and as my parents have a little difficulty walking nowadays I wrote the hotel and asked them to have rooms on a lower floor if possible. It was no problem and it was just a short flight of stairs to their room.
Breakfast was very good and as I am a teadrinker I was pleasently surprised by their selection of loose leaf teas, even green ones.
The location is excellent, just off the main street of the old town and very close to the famous restaurant Schiffergesellschaft.
There is a computer in the lobby to use, very handy. Parking is in a parking garage a short walk away.
Beware, do not eat at the cosy-looking italian restaurant across the street! We are not picky eaters but the food was terrible....

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misse62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lubeck hotels
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Hotel Lubeck
Atlantic Hotel Lubeck
#1 of 56 in Lubeck
480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Senator Hotel, Lubeck
0.7 mi away
H+ Hotel Lubeck
H+ Hotel Lubeck
#9 of 56 in Lubeck
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Excelsior Hotel Luebeck
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Luebeck
Holiday Inn Luebeck
#4 of 56 in Lubeck
354 reviews
0.4 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Lubeck Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TOP CCL Klassik Altstadt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TOP CCL Klassik Altstadt Hotel

Property: TOP CCL Klassik Altstadt Hotel
Address: Fischergrube 52, 23552 Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Region: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Lubeck
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Lubeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TOP CCL Klassik Altstadt Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your TOP CCL Klassik Altstadt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing