We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phoenix Hotel Alter Speicher
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Lubeck
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The good: central location, spacious and clean room, good breakfast
The bad:
1) The rooms are very dated (it did make us laugh though as the decor is hideous).
2) The rooms to the street are unbearable as this must be the party mile. Also, there is a traffic light just in front of the building so the cars with their thumping music make a real impact whilst waiting for a green light
3) They offer free Internet access but that didn't work when we were there (no Internet access at all)
4) They offered to store our luggage until check-in time (we were there at 13:00, check-in is at 15:00 - quite late), but the room where we were asked to move the luggage to was the smoking room! Who wants to keep their luggage in the smelliest room in the house?
5) One of their payment machines didn't work when we checked out, so we could only pay by credit card or cash -didn't impact us but lots of people do use their EC cards to pay for their stay.

Overall, I think I slept 3 hours in the two nights we stayed there. The rooms might be offered at a reasonable price but if you happen to get a room facing the street it's not good value for money.

Room Tip: Under no circumstance accept a room facing the street - unless you get some earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SomerscalesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 115 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

I liked staying in this small, older hotel much better than a new modern one. It was clean and comfortable and the staff was very pleasant. Looking out my window I felt like I part of the town. Almost too far to walk from the train station but if you like walking it is well within walking distance of all the town sites. If you take the bus and/or boat tours don't expect much in English. We received a book to read from while the guide talked in German. We kind of felt that we should have gotten a break on the price of the tours since we didn't get nearly as much information as the German tourists got.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The rooms were somewhat on the small side and the furniture and decor looked a bit old. But at the same time it was quite all right, the price taken into consideration. The beds were comfortable and everything was kept clean, which to us are some of most important factors. And one more thing; the breakfast was great with a lot of choises of cold as well as warm dishes, vegetables and fruits. If you are a smoker, you might like to know that they have a separate smoking room in the reception area. Also there is a computer in the reseption area, and free wifi in the reception and rooms for a limited time each day. When we had used our free time, they gave us a new period without charge, though. I don`t know if this was because the receptionist that day was nice to us, or if this is usual even if the information says you have to pay if you exceede the time. Anyway, we experienced nice and helpfull staff both in the reception and everywhere else in the hotel. Alter Speicher is situated very close to the new consert house, so if you want to enjoy classical music while in Lubeck, this is ideal. Also it`s close to both the new and the old city center, about a 5 to 10 minutes walk. We would certainly recommend this hotel if you are not looking for luxury, but are happy with average comfort.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mature_coupple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

The hotel is not very modern, but it is in good condition.
Check in went smoothly, and the hotel staff were friendly.
My room was on the ground floor, which is where i think the smoking rooms are located, so if you are a non-smoker don't forget to request a non-smoking room.
The size of the room and bathroom was ok. The hotel offers 30 min free wifi a day, and if u haven't brought your own laptop there is a pc in the lobby.
The food at the restaurant was extremely boring, and I would not recommend eating there, but instead find a restaurant in the town.
Overall a nice place to stay. Location was also perfect. 5 min walk to the harbour, and a 5 min walk to city center.
It is possible to park at the hotel but there is a parking fee 9 euros on the deck and 11 euros underground. however, it is also possible to park behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a room on first floor. it is more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hrg24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

My family & I were ending our vacation and decided to stop here on our way home. We thought the price was OK, certainly value for money. Our room overlooked the street, which was fine. Weird pillows though.

The hotel recommended a restaurant up the street called "Heinrich Böll" was served was a late dinner in nice surroundings.

If you're staying in Lübeck for a couple of days, check out as many of the city gates as possible.

The hotel also included a great buffet breakfast, including scrambled eggs, sausages, fruit & bread. A good breakfast is a luxury. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fxhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I stayed at this hotel 2 nights in August 2012, with my husband.
This is a small family run hotel: it has a very small lounge and the breakfast room, on the ground floor, has a street view. The hotel is hosted in an ancient building and the interiors follow this style. Location: few minutes walking from the centre and the main Lubeck attractions.
I was assigned a very small room, I could not move inside. However I promptly asked to change and we had a better one, on the inside yard. The room was comfortable and quite. Large bed, an armchair, a chair and a desk. Wardrobe was a bit narrow, however ours was a short staying. Bathroom with shower. The hotel has a little sauna that you have to book at the reception and it costs € 6.00. I suppose that rooms looking on the street may be noisier, as it is a very busy street, with cars and buses, so if you are a quite sleeper ask for a room on the interior side
Food: very good breakfast with plenty of everything.
Staff kind, attentive and English speaking.
If you come by car, there is a big public parking just on the other side of the river. It costs € 5,00 a day.
I would definitely choose again this hotel if I come again to Lubeck

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We were staying for one night and we found the staff helpful, the hotel and our room very clean,
but a little stark. The room didn't seem cosy and as we found in Germany no tea or coffee making facilities. No car park, but it was really easy to get to a huge car park and parking was 5 euros for 24 hours and within walking distance. Breakfast was included and there was plenty of selection.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are quieter as the hotel is on a main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank essexladyRomford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lubeck hotels
0.2 mi away
TOP CCL Klassik Altstadt Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Anno 1216
Hotel Anno 1216
#22 of 56 in Lubeck
67 reviews
1 mi away
Hotel Zum Ratsherrn
Hotel Zum Ratsherrn
#50 of 56 in Lubeck
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Luebeck City
Ibis Luebeck City
#9 of 56 in Lubeck
531 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ringhotel Jensen
Ringhotel Jensen
#14 of 56 in Lubeck
168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Stadtpark
Hotel Stadtpark
#45 of 56 in Lubeck
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phoenix Hotel Alter Speicher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phoenix Hotel Alter Speicher

Address: Beckergrube 91 - 93, 23552 Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Region: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Lubeck
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Lubeck
Price Range: £70 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phoenix Hotel Alter Speicher 3.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Phoenix Hotel Alter Speicher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alter Speicher Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing