We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Excelsior Hotel Luebeck
Ranked #5 of 56 Hotels in Lubeck
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2014

This hotel is located just opposite the Railway station in Lübeck, and it is a 5-10 minutes walk to the Holsten-Tor and the Old city. Free parking outside, but it often seemed full (we were lucky). There was also a parking garage underneath, don't know if it cost extra. Nice breakfast, good service. Not very convenient with the stairs from the street to the reception area. Wifi was slow and unreliable (hotspot), and you needed one password for each device. Large TV screen - I don't usually watch TV in hotels but it was during the World Cup... enjoyed the Excelsior, but happy to look for another hotel if I go back to Lübeck (the city is well worth it!).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Arvehj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
There are newer reviews for Excelsior Hotel Luebeck
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Great breakfast. Lady told me at check-in I had booked thru travel agency when I has booked with hotel. Lost out on a few benefits as a result. Location okay, across from bus central. Easy commute to travemuende. Main issue lack of info.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillfromKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This hotel is very conveniently located opposite the train station and within 5 minutes walking distance of the old town centre of Lübeck. The road outside it quite busy but the windows are double glazed and you cannot hear any noise inside when they are closed. There is air conditioning as well. The room we had was large and well equipped (no minibar but there was a safe). A couple of items of furniture were a bit basic (two banqueting chairs instead of easy chairs) but there was also a sofa bed which worked well as a sofa so that was not a problem.
Staff were extremely friendly, spoke perfect English, and were always helpful. Breakfsat buffet offered a good range of cold meats, cheese, fresh bread, fruit salad etc.
Overall a very good hotel and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pevsner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We spent two nights in the wonderful city of Lubeck, using this hotel as our base. We were on a trip returning a car to the UK, so parking was important for us - the Excelsior has 24 spaces, allocated on a first come - first served basis, but there is alternative oparking nearby.
The hotel is close to both the train and bus station, and equally important is 5 minutes from the city gate.
The breakfast at the Excelsior is renowned, and we were not disappointed, not it appears were our fellow guests.
Would deffo stay here again if lucky enough to return to Lubeck.

Room Tip: I read elsewhere that noise from the bus station can be an issue - we were at the back so had no pro...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RomanCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed here for 1 night while passing through. The greeting was pleasant and the check in very fast. Our room was a good size(not to small) and it was very quiet at night. Breakfast was ample and it's very close to the train station. Would stay here again. Loved it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect. It's close to the old town, train and bus stations. The room was clean and comfortable although I found the bed a bit saggy in the middle. Not the greatest if you have back problems. We got a room that faced the bus station so some people might find it too noisy. The breakfast was a nice mix of the usual German meats and cheeses with cereal, fruits and yogurt. The coffee was so so. Overall it's a decent lace to stay with friendly service and good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the road.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Fine location as to the old city. If you do not bring too much luggage, the rooms are perfect. Good, plentyfull breakfast. Notice: the amount of free parking lots is limite, all though hotels.com says "free parking".

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lubeck hotels
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Luebeck
Holiday Inn Luebeck
#4 of 56 in Lubeck
370 reviews
0.1 mi away
H+ Hotel Lubeck
H+ Hotel Lubeck
#9 of 56 in Lubeck
240 reviews
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Senator Hotel, Lubeck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Atlantic Hotel Lubeck
Atlantic Hotel Lubeck
#1 of 56 in Lubeck
506 reviews
0.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Lubeck Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Vier Jahreszeiten Luebeck
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Excelsior Hotel Luebeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Excelsior Hotel Luebeck

Address: Hansestr. 3, 23558 Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Region: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Lubeck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Lubeck
#8 Business Hotel in Lubeck
Price Range: £79 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Excelsior Hotel Luebeck 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Excelsior Hotel Luebeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Excelsior Hotel lübeck

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing