We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful historic building”
Review of Hotel Anno 1216

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Anno 1216
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Lubeck
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is a converted old house from around 1216, now a small hotel with beautiful rooms. The service is very friendly, although being small not a full time reception, but they looked after us very well, with recommendations for food. Our room was on the first floor, very tastefully renovated with a mixture of new boutique hotel style fittings and old traditional furniture, very tastefully done, with the very old floor beams visible. The entrance hall and breakfast room are particularly lovely. The breakfast was also lovely.
It is located in the main island, only five minutes from the centre, with a lovely beer house brauberger next door, and other restaurants near by.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DagmarS543, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Anno 1216, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Thanks a lot for your review. We really appreciate that. Being a little hotel we just cannot offer the same as big hotels:-)
Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Anno 1216
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2013

This is an amazing hotel, right in the old town but close enough to the main road to be reachable by car.

Once you have unloaded your suitcases you go and park across the river in a public parking lot which costs € 5 for 24 hours. You r walk back will take you only five minute through a pedestrian bridge and are right in old Lübeck.

We had read that reception had a very short opening time, it is true but if you tell ahead you are coming in late, they will wait for you.

The hotel is one of the oldest public buildings in town, it has no elevator and it has been maniacally restored to an incredible standard of sleek beauty. Every single detail is carefully studied and chosen: a feast for a detail freak like myself!

Our double room wasn’t big but space was carefully planned and was perfect. Very good bedding, large bathroom, lovely view and super clean.

There is no air conditioning but you can, finally, open the window, an option I always welcome.

Wifi is free but it doesn’t always work. Complimentary water is always thee for you and local and international calls are free to 18 countries (States included).

In the basement there is a vending machine in case you want a snack or a drink.

Breakfast is extra and is very nicely served in the beautiful breakfast room, both the small and large are a bit frugal, I believe they should find space for improvement there, either make it more abundant or lower prices. As it is not included in price though, you are free to stay or go elsewhere.

We really loved it!

Room Tip: if you want to splurge go for the suites, amazing!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vanderluyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2013

Lubeck is a beautiful historic town, that found a way to incorporate severe architectural losses, to explore on foot. Hotel Anno 1216 had recently opened when we stayed there (May 2012) and it has been tastefully restored and converted.
As the reception is not available 24 hours a day, I prefer to call this a B&B, though top end.
The very helpful staff was available for checking in and out and for breakfast. Breakfast is made on the spot, therefore fresh and very appealing. We stayed in the suite on the entresol overlooking the court, which was beautifully furnished in a restrained way and well incorporated with the historic elements. The room as well as the bathroom were very spacious and well equiped; the bedding was excellent. A complimentory tray with coffee and tea making facilities in the rooms, with some fresh biscuits (!), would make up for unstaffed moments.
Recommended for those who appreciate staying in top end historic accommadations.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ZAS125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2012

The Hotel Anno 1216 is in Lübeck's oldest building. It has retained the historic charm and yet the rooms have been upgraded fully and tastefully to our 21st century comfort standards. Our hotel host was very helpful in assisting us with dinner reservations and suggestions for our time in Lübeck. The breakfasts were excellent. I've been on a restricted diet, and requested what I needed, if possible. The chef was very accomodating - he took a special food shopping trip just for me. The next morning my requested stir-fry vegetables weren't just sliced. Each "slice" was hand carved beautifully! I've never seen anything like it! And delicious! The only suggestion I would make to the hotel would be to warm up the atmosphere in their common rooms a bit. It's fairly stark. And a pot of tea or something warm when we come in from Christmas markets in the afternoon would have been a welcome touch. But no complaints!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank blackhillssilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

Lübeck is a pearl (not too far away from home in Sweden) and has the best Weihnachtsmarkt around. We come here every year and loved our stay at Hotel 1216: Historical, professional, clean and not too expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnotherKlaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Anno 1216 for two nights and had a great stay. We had the suite just off the lobby with the Baroque painted stucco ceiling. The suite is just gorgeous and has lots of charm with great hardwood floors and three huge windows that open onto a lovely courtyard. When we arrived we were met by an English-speaking gentleman who checked us in, showed us around our suite, suggested a better place to park, and helped with the luggage when we returned with it. He suggested some great restaurants then made the reservations for us. He also fixed and served our breakfast the next two mornings. Service could not have been better! The only drawback was the lack of a Wi-fi connection. The walls are too thick for it to work in this old building. I highly recommend the Hotel Anno 1216 in Luebeck.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alreadypacked1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claudio C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lubeck hotels
0.2 mi away
TOP CCL Klassik Altstadt Hotel
0.1 mi away
HOTEL an der Marienkirche
0.1 mi away
Phoenix Hotel Alter Speicher
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Hotel Lubeck
Atlantic Hotel Lubeck
#1 of 56 in Lubeck
507 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ringhotel Jensen
Ringhotel Jensen
#14 of 56 in Lubeck
164 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel KO 15
Hotel KO 15
#12 of 56 in Lubeck
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Anno 1216? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anno 1216

Address: Alfstr. 38, 23552 Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Region: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Lubeck
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Lubeck
Price Range: £128 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Anno 1216 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Anno 1216 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing