We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must while in Lübeck...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holstentor

Holstentor
Book In Advance
More Info
US$430.68*
and up
Private Full-Day Hamburg Countryside Tour in a Large SUV
Ranked #2 of 51 things to do in Lubeck
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Tijuana
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A must while in Lübeck...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2011

I saw many tourists using this landmark just for taking "the picture" of Lübeck but let me tell you that it goes fay beyond that usage, to visit the Holstentor museum is to learn about the importance of this city through time. Visiting the Holstentor museum made us learn about the city and experience it as Medieval town and as Queen of the Hanseatic League.

Highly recommended for history lovers, couples, children and families. Also, cute souvenirs at very good prices in the ticket shop. Visit the museum!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Psicoloco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    238
    55
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
500 reviews
238 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
“One of Germany's greatest icons”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

The Holstentor is one of the most significant structures in German history. The iconic nature of this amazingly shaped gothic building is steeped in centuries of history. It is the gateway to the Hanseatic past and evokes a picture of what the Queen city of the Hansa once was.

The outside of the Holstentor is tremendous - it is a building unlike any other. The sheer weight of the structure has caused some sinkage so the shape it now creates is itself amazing. Anyone with an interest in history should make a visit to the Holstentor.

Inside the Tor is a museum. We may have been a little fortunate but we were given a personal guided tour in English by a very knowledgable museum staffer. This is definitely the best service from a museum I have ever experienced. It was great to see the various items and that experience was enhanced by being able to talk to our new friend about the details such as why Burgermeister Wittenborg was really executed.

The exhibits inside the museum range from explanations of the Hansa world, to a model of the once even more impressive entry to the city, through Napoleonic, and WWII issues. There are some unusual items that are well worth checking out.

The museum has access issues because it is an historic monument and so has winding stairs. Access should be possible for most and given that this building is the symbol of why someone would travel to Lübeck at all, it is definitely worth the entry.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Malarchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
1,246 reviews
407 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,722 helpful votes
“Lübeck´s main postcard. A respectable entry to the old town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

The entrance to the medieval old Lübeck is really beautiful and very well preserved. The twin towers in the Gothic style are the main postcard of the city and are also known as "The Witch's Hats". To me, that was ok to apreciate its outside, but for the most interested, there is also a visit to the interior of the towers.

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank GUSDALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A magnificent building,especially in sunlight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

This really is an eyecatching monument.The museum is informative and I was thrilled to see a painting by an ancestor,Zacharius Kniller.We only had five days in Lubeck but intend to return as it has such great architecture,this being our favourite.Viewing the building is free,only the museum has a charge

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank taylorgirl196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Holstentor also viewed

Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
 
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein
 

Been to Holstentor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing