We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Stadt Lubeck

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Stadt Lubeck
Ranked #23 of 56 Hotels in Lubeck
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Convenient location, helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

This was the first hotel we stayed in on a trip across northern Germany. We flew to Hamburg and took the Traveliner bus to Lübeck, which we picked up outside the terminal, paid on the bus, an easy journey of about an hour. The hotel is between the bus station and the railway station, and very conveniently placed to walk into town past the tourist office. There was some noise from outside if the windows are open, but none when they were shut. The room was small and slightly stuffy, but clean and fresh. The shower room was a little dated but with a good shower. The breakfast room is airy and bright and the breakfast buffet is excellent. The staff couldn't have been more helpful. There were plenty of places to eat nearby on the river or in the city centre. Prices overall were on the high side compared with central England where we live, but not unreasonable, we felt.

We enjoyed three days in Lübeck, including one at Travemünde on the coast - we went there on a boat and came back on the bus. There's quite a lot to see, and the two hour walking tour from the tourist office was excellent to get an overview, although if you want it in English it depends on whether other English people are around. The climb up the tower at the Petrikirche was worthwhile, and the puppet museum next door was fascinating!

We would certainly go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    60
    27
    4
    4
See reviews for
17
42
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed here for a one night stop-over during April, arriving late into the bus station which is conveniently just around the corner, as is the train station which I needed the following day.
A lovely warm and friendly welcome greeted me at reception. The room was small, but clean and comfortable and the German breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Den J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The hotel is 2 minutes walk from the main Lubeck train station and it takes about 10 minutes to walk from the hotel to the centre.
Our room was ok, everything was clean and there was a tv etc. The complaints I would have are that the room was a bit old fashioned and there was no tea or coffee making facilities.
The breakfast was nice - we went down at 9.45 and the breakfast finished at 10.00 and there was still everything available and we didn't feel pressured to hurry. The reception staff were also very pleasant.
We paid 59 euro for one night - which seemed rather expensive compared to other cities in the same area (in Hamburg we paid 30 for a basic room which was modern but had no tv or breakfast).
Overall the experience was good.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pudddddin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altona, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

This hotel was within walking distance of the Altstadt and the attractions of Lubeck. We had a small room, but for a place to sleep it was great. Friendly staff, and the breakfast included was a great value! We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tasaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, denmark
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2010

A one night stop over with my partner in Lübeck after family visit in Cologne. We travelled by train so the location just across the station was perfect. Not noisy at all in spit of that. Very friendly staff who were prepared for our arrivel. Good clean but not fancy rooms. Nice beds, good bathroom. good breakfast for the price (included). very helpful with luggage, maps to the city etc. Very easy and comfortable. We can only recommend the hotel to everyone, who doesn´t expect luxury, but good value for money and then a little ekstra we think.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nusle24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2010

Good location between the main train station and bus station, despite this the hotel was very quiet, not a sound at night. Only a 5-10 minute walk to the Holsten Tor and entrance to the town.
I booked a single room and found it to be basic but very clean. The breakfast room was spotless. No hot food avilable for breakfast but enough choice of cold cuts, cereals etc.
Excellent rate for three nights.
Lubeck is a small but beautiful town, you will probably only need a couple of days to visit it and Hotel Stadt Lubeck provides a very good value for money location to to base your visit from.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noonehasthisname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lubeck hotels
0.0 mi away
H4 Hotel Lubeck City Centre
0.1 mi away
Baltic Hotel
Baltic Hotel
#24 of 56 in Lubeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Hotel Am Lindenplatz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Excelsior Hotel Luebeck
0.2 mi away
B&B Hotel Lubeck
B&B Hotel Lubeck
#9 of 56 in Lubeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Luebeck City
Ibis Luebeck City
#6 of 56 in Lubeck
4.0 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Stadt Lubeck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stadt Lubeck

Property: Hotel Stadt Lubeck
Address: Am Bahnhof 21, 23558 Lubeck, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Region: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Lubeck
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Lubeck
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stadt Lubeck 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Stadt Lubeck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stadt Lubeck Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing