We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay”
Review of Hotel Zollhaus

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Zollhaus
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Schleswig
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“A fantastic stay”
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed here only one night and wished we were staying longer! We stopped over in Schleswig on our way from Germany up into Denmark. Our room was spacious, comfortable and modern, and was perfectly quiet despite facing the road. It is right by the Schloss Gottorf and there is a little path to a side gate out the back of the hotel -- we had a lovely stroll around the grounds in the early evening before returning to Zollhaus for dinner, which was both delicious and very nicely priced given the quality (it was only about €110 for three courses for two people and a bottle of wine) -- we savoured it even more knowing we were heading to Scandinavia where that standard of cooking would be out of our budget! The dining room looks out on the garden and is particularly beautiful on a sunny summer evening. The husband and wife running the place were very friendly and helpful (he speaks good English) and let us leave our cases there the next morning as we had a look around Schleswig. There's far too much to see in such a short time, so we'll definitely be coming back, and definitely staying here again when we do.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ermanaricus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    25
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
8
30
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
roskilde
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We celebrated our golden wedding here and the host and hostess spoiled us with kindness good service and fantastic food. Else and Ib Lammers

Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lammersRoskilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

This hotel is a great example of a small "mom and pop" place. The building was the former customs house for the neighboring castle, Schloss Gottorf, 250 years ago. Now it houses 10 guest rooms and a restaurant. The proprietors are a husband-wife team. He hosts and she cooks fabulously. Their enthusiasm about their guests' enjoyment of Schleswig makes for a pleasant stay.

Our room #5 was very spacious, sunny, and decorated in shades of peach and yellow. It faced out the back toward the castle. There were two soft chairs, a desk, and a TV. The beds were comfortable with down pillows and duvets, but it was the first time we had slept on the terrycloth bed sheets sometimes found in northern Germany. The bathroom was reasonably large, and there was a shower without a bath.

The culinary restaurant has a diverse dinner menu with fish, duck, soups, etc. The recipes are German to continental. At breakfast (included with the rate), your place is set with diverse meats, cheeses, vegetables, bread, yoghurt, and an egg.

Schleswig is a long town, spread along the shore of the fjord. You can be close to the castle, or you can be close to St. Petri Dom. The walk between them is 20-25 minutes. If you are a museum hound, staying at the Zollhaus is an obvious choice. Both the archeological and the extensive, comprehensive art collections housed at the Schloss Gottorf are a short walk over a pedestrian bridge. A scenic walk east along the fjord takes you into the center of the town where you can visit the historical zones.

N.B. The owners take a break and close the restaurant for dinner on Sunday and Monday. There is no front desk, and they rest from about 3-6 in the afternoon. So if you plan to arrive during those hours, call ahead so they can meet you.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thrall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2007

We stayed in Schleswig for 2 nights on the way back from a Grand Scandinavian tour! We arrived to find that there was a music festival taking place in town and everyone was entering into the spirit, despite the weather.
We liked the fact that the room was huge, modern, clean and quiet and also that the hotel was a little out of the centre of the pedestrianised area of town. However, the location was still good - it was a 10 minute walk into the centre and with a noisy music festival taking place in the centre, we were happy with the location.
The main attraction in town as far as we were concerned was the Schloss Gottorf and we were really close to it. The owner was very interested in what we planned to see and was able to give us some helpful tips re what else was unmissable.
Considering what you would pay in Scandinavia, (and, indeed, Britain!) for a similar room, I thought this hotel was excellent value for money. Highly recommended and would stay there again.

  • Liked — Quiet but good location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chenks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schleswig
1.1 mi away
Hotel Waldschloesschen
Hotel Waldschloesschen
#1 of 9 in Schleswig
146 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Strandhalle
Hotel Strandhalle
#4 of 9 in Schleswig
69 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alter Kreisbahnhof
Hotel Alter Kreisbahnhof
#3 of 9 in Schleswig
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.5 mi away
Seehotel Toepferhaus
Seehotel Toepferhaus
#1 of 2 in Alt Duvenstedt
196 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel an der Schlei
Hotel an der Schlei
#1 of 1 in Fahrdorf
26 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Schleiblick
Hotel Schleiblick
#6 of 9 in Schleswig
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Zollhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Zollhaus

Property: Hotel Zollhaus
Address: Lollfuss 110, 24837 Schleswig, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany
Region: Germany > Schleswig-Holstein > Schleswig
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Schleswig
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Zollhaus 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HRS, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Zollhaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing