We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice One” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Glockenhof Eisenach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Glockenhof Eisenach
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Eisenach
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice One”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

very Nice hotel, i stayed five days and had a very beautiful experience in this hotel. service was good overall. cleanness was nice. Behaviour of hotel staff was so good. Also food quality was perfact.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Priyank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    32
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
9
25
2
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

My wife, two daughters and I stayed in a two-room suite on the top floor for three nights. Hotel Glockenhof offered just enough amenities to be very comfortable, while maintaing the charm that comes with old buildings. If you crave modernity and luxury, go elsewhere. This hotel offers an ambience that is in harmony with with an experience of exploring one of Germany's truly great medieval cities. We ate each evening in the hotel restaurant and enjoyed the food and the beer brewed just down the street. Many locals came in to enjoy this unpretentious gathering place. Central location was superb. We could walk everywhere in town. Very good value for the cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Of all the stays I've had in Germany through the past ten years, this was the worst. Looked okay on the surface upon entering the dated lobby. But finding the room was not easy. It was down a dingy hallway that felt dark and creepy with doors closing off different sections of the floor. Real helpful to have to open hallway doors when you're hauling lots of luggage to get to your room. The rooms were very dated, beds were hard and pillows were thin foam garbage. The best part came in the bathroom. There was hair in at least four different places on the bathroom floor and also shower that I saw. The toilet did not look exceptionally clean. There was old dried, what appeared to be lettuce, stuck to the wall under the soap holder on the wall. There was at least four or five small droplets of blood spatter on the wall as well that had not been cleaned near the sink. Carpeting was worn out as well. TV was old and with a poor channel selection. The cleanliness alone would have made me move out of the hotel immediately if it weren't for the fact that I was stuck there with a large group. Breakfast was the typical breakfast and was okay, but the food was not replenished very frequently and we ended up waiting for several things. Dont care how central this place is in Eisenach, there has to be many better places to stay that are newer and CLEANER! Would not stay here again for free.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frosty5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
171 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2010

Pros:
easy to reach
parking
spacious rooms
good price /quality ratio

I thought the 10 minute walk to the city centre was great - maybe not everybody likes the distance

Cons: a bit of a struggle with the (free) internet on the password

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrLoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annapolis md
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2009

we stayed here for one night to go to Wartburg- clean, a bit dated, but okay. room was actually large, parking was FREE, breakfast great. internet did not work- but staff was helpful. Make sure to take the guided tour of the castle- we were thrilled to have a private tour, as there were no other English speakers who signed up with our group.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rmalinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PARIS
Level Contributor
131 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2009

I just returned from Eisenach, where I tried the Glockenhof for a change.

PRO:
- fairly central, property well kept
- room was quite nice although TV set was small and a bit dated, no mini-bar but a bottle of water was offered
- bathroom, modern, very clean, well equipped, good shower
- restaurant was quite good, service friendly and quite efficient
- room was very quiet

CON:
- underground parking a nightmare ... parking slots small and awkward AVOID
- breakfast not up to standard I had the most dreadful orange juice of all my life, cheese was deadly, I had the taste of it all day long and it was not pleasant ...

NOT A MEMORABLE HOTEL BUT WOULD RECOMMEND

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AESCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Grove, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
299 reviews
157 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 291 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2005

Eisenach was in the former East Germany, but reconstruction has been rapid since the fall of communism. The town was the birthplace of J.S.Bach and where Martin Luther spent his boyhood. Hotel Glockenhof is convenient to all the historical sites, yet far enough away from the town center to allow convenient parking near the hotel. If you come by train, take a taxi from the station because it is an uphill walk and, with luggage, can be exhausting. Without luggage, you can easily hike to the train station from the hotel. We have not been to the Glockenhof in several years, but always go there when in Eisenach. It has always been clean, has a pleasant reception area, offers a fantastic full German buffet breakfast (meats, granolas, eggs, fruit, breads, juices, coffee or tea or hot chocolate, etc., etc.) and generally provides what you would expect. Rooms are typical European size (small) but not too crowded. The staff is friendly and helpful. You can visit the church where Luther sang in a boys choir, see the family house where generations of the Bach family lived and is remembered with an inviting historical display and a collection of antique musical instruments (with keyboard concert at times). The nearby Luther-Cotta House is less impressive than either the Bach House or other Luther sites. In good weather do climb through the most gorgeous park to the fortress Wartburg high above the town (which inspired Luther's hymn "A Mighty Fortress is our God"). The park walk begins only several blocks from the Glockenhof. Plan to take the long walk up the hill to the Wartburg in early morning to arrive when it opens and avoid crowds, but be prepared for an arduous hike. See the room where Luther translated the New Testament while hiding from Charles V and thereby practically created the modern German language. Love this hotel and town! If you have a railpass, Hotel Glockenhof makes a fine base to explore nearby Erfurt, or Halle, or take a day trip to Wittenberg,

Helpful?
8 Thank Awarely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eisenach hotels
0.3 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Thuringer Hof
2.7 mi away
pentahotel Eisenach
pentahotel Eisenach
#1 of 39 in Eisenach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.9 mi away
Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#6 of 39 in Eisenach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Goebels Sophien Hotel
Goebels Sophien Hotel
#7 of 39 in Eisenach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kaiserhof
Hotel Kaiserhof
#17 of 39 in Eisenach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Glockenhof Eisenach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Glockenhof Eisenach

Property: Hotel Glockenhof Eisenach
Address: Grimmelgasse 4, 99817 Eisenach, Thuringia, Germany
Region: Germany > Thuringia > Eisenach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Eisenach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Glockenhof Eisenach 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), HRS, Expedia, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Glockenhof Eisenach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing