We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location & friendly staff, a good 3*”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Steigenberger Hotel Thuringer Hof
Ranked #2 of 39 Hotels in Eisenach
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good location & friendly staff, a good 3*”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here with my wife for three nights business & exploring the area.

The hotel is in a good central, but quiet location. Getting into the car park is a nightmare, you drive through a very narrow stone arch (with many scrape marks on each side), doing it in the dark with a strange rental car was not fun - and entirely unnecessary as the exit is unrestricted! Why the hotel doesn't use the exit as an entrance to the car park is beyond me.

The reception staff (in fact all the staff) were friendly, and the breakfast was excellent.

The room was pretty much what I would expect from a 3* hotel, clean, reasonable size, but nothing to write home about (and we were in a superior room).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robh9999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    89
    40
    7
    3
See reviews for
22
78
20
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

The Steigenberger Hotel Thüringer Hof in Eisenach is situated in the middle of town, making it a perfect startin point for you trips. The rooms are large and clean, and very quiet - which is always a good thing.
The reception desk was very friendly and helpful, while the restaurant stuff was downright grumpy and not very friendly at all. The restaurant / breakfast are is too small for a hotel of that size, so it can get really busy. Apart from that it offers all the comfort you could want.

Room Tip: Breakfast is rather expensive (20-25 € per person), so if you want to save money, book a room withou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revrazna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

A classic old fashioned German small town business hotel. It really does everything it should and provided exceptional value for money.

We had a recently refurbished room in a more modern annexe overlooking the courtyard. Beds were comfortable with decent quality bed linens. Noise insulation good all round.

Leander Restaurant and lobby bar with a rather limited menu but everything superbly cooked. Service friendly and un-hurried. Local Eisenacher Pilsner on tap which tends to slip down a little too easily !

Free Wi-Fi with access code provided daily from your room TV. Why oh why can't other chains learn from this ?!

Access to the car park is through a frighteningly tight gate entrance (pictured) which will test your driving skills. A tip - do not take a large vehicle !

We used this property for touring in the Thuringia region. It was perfect for this and the town of Eisenach is a worthwhile destination in its own right with good shopping and interesting local markets

Room Tip: For quiet and a more modern room as for a courtyard view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tromsopete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SWINDON
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2012

I have just returned from a four night stay at the Thuringer Hof not having been there for about seven years and i am happy to say it is still an excellent hotel ! The staff are all very friendly and helpful , ( they also are very patient when my very bad attempt at speaking german goes wrong ! )
Breakfast is also excellent , scrambled eggs , bacon , sausages all are available as well as a great selection of cold meats , cheeses and the all the usual breakfast items you would expext to find on a european breakfast table , the morning coffee is very good , if i can drink it black without sugar it must be good ! I chose this hotel to stay at because of my past experiences here and was NOT disappointed , my colleagues choose to stay at another hotel in Eisenach purely because the Thuringer Hof does not have free WI-FI , that is something that does not bother me . So i can thoroughly recommend this hotel for pleasure or business !!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adrian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2012

If in Eisenach to visit the Wartburg, Luther House, or Bach House, the Thuringer Hof is a great hotel given its classic charm and central location.

We had rooms on the front of the hotel overlooking the Karlsplatz. While we did get some street/bar noise until midnight, we enjoyed the view of the plaza and the historic town gate.

Our rooms did not have A/C so we left our balcony door open for the evening breeze.

The breakfast was well worth the extra fee as it was a wonderful buffet of cheeses, meats, bread, and eggs.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front have the view of the plaza but get street noise. The parking lot is tiny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012

The Steigenberger Hotel Thuringer Hof is a good, clean and reasonable hotel to base from for visits to the town and nearby Wartburg Castle. Standard rooms are quite adaquate, with firm beds, simple furnishings, and your basic comforts. Bathrooms don't have amenities such as lotion or bath products (except in a suite), but if you don't mind that you'll find good water pressure in the shower, a hairdryer, and good clean facilities. Breakfast was good with many choices, so no worries there. The location right on the town square was very convenient, and we felt very safe out walking in the evening in this rather sleepy historic town.

Be sure to visit the Bach house and museum, and Wartburg Castle was fascinating. The Germany hospitality in Thuringia was great...well worth a driving or train trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbiRichmond_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chennai
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Classy hotel, stayed in it for one night while road tripping through germany. Well stocked bar, as well as excellent kitchen for both breakfast and dinner. Wine collection is good as well. The rooms were comfortable, location of hotel is in the center of the city, the Wartburg being quite close by. Car park is available as well. Overall recommended.

Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank abhigopal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Eisenach hotels
2.6 mi away
pentahotel Eisenach
pentahotel Eisenach
#1 of 39 in Eisenach
915 reviews
1.0 mi away
Romantik Hotel auf der Wartburg
0.2 mi away
Goebel"s Sophien Hotel
Goebel"s Sophien Hotel
#7 of 39 in Eisenach
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Glockenhof Eisenach
Hotel Glockenhof Eisenach
#8 of 39 in Eisenach
64 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Hotel Eisenach
Ibis Hotel Eisenach
#4 of 39 in Eisenach
339 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Villa Anna
Hotel Villa Anna
#6 of 39 in Eisenach
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steigenberger Hotel Thuringer Hof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Hotel Thuringer Hof

Property: Steigenberger Hotel Thuringer Hof
Address: Karlsplatz 11, 99817 Eisenach, Thuringia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Thuringia > Eisenach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Eisenach
#2 Luxury Hotel in Eisenach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Steigenberger Hotel Thuringer Hof 4*
Number of rooms: 127
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Steigenberger Hotel Thüringer Hof am Karlsplatz is one of the most traditional hotels and is centrally located. Even if the 126 rooms and suites have been furnished with every form of modern convenience and comfort, good service and down-to-earth Thuringian hospitality have stood the test of time - just like the valuable paintings and exquisite wood relief work on the ceilings and walls. The LEANDER Weinwirtschaft does not just pamper you by serving an opulent breakfast buffet, but it also gives you the opportunity to realx and enjoy. In the evening, after an extensive tour through Eisenach and vicinity, you can take advantage of our comfortable sauna area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Steigenberger Hotel Thuringer Hof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steigenberger Hotel Eisenach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing