We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to evrything”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Hotel Excelsior
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Erfurt
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Parking (*@^%$# is a challenge!!! Durch diese hohle Gasse musst Du erst mal kommen!
The hotel itself is warm and friendly, I had an upgraded room which was very spacious, clean and nicely furnished.
WiFi worked without problems.
Location is great.
Breakfast is outstanding.
Staff is friendly and helpful.
Nothing to complain, I would book here again.

Room Tip: The place to stay in Erfurt, you can't be wrong here.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (122)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Hotel Excelsior
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

I've stayed in this hotel for the past 4 years. It's clean and simple with friendly staff. Breakfast buffet is clean and they had improved by providing healthy choices and also pointing out what contents were in them.

Hotel is conveniently located nearby the main train station and directly opposite a small grocery shop. There are food shops nearby and local stores eg dm and Rossman stores (equivalent to Boots in UK).

Hotel provides free wifi service. It can get laggy sometimes. Only one login per guest. Takes about 10-15 min of inactivity to be logged out of system.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Myremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

the hotel looks terrible from the outside facing the busy Juri Gagarin Ring; almost prompted me to abandon to check in. If you come by car you need to drive around the block to find a small entrance to the hotel parking lot ( 8 Euro per 24 hr. for parking is ok) ; if you come by train just walk down the road for 2-3 min..
Anyway; once you are inside the hotel it is actually very nice. My room was spacious ( ca. 20 sq. m or 200 sq.ft) , quiet and clean, working internet (free); the staff is friendly and the breakfast buffet is superb. There is a nice sauna and fitness facility in the basement
Unfortunately , there is no air condition in the room. It might get hot on the upper floor during peak summer time.
The hotel is located in walking distance to the beautiful historic downtown. Plenty of good restaurants are around there.

Room Tip: rooms facing the court yard are probably more quiet
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BruderLustig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Our third visit to this hotel, and each visit seems not quite as good as the last. This time we had a problem with the room door which wouldn't lock from the outside. The reception staff were unable to fix the problem and the hotel was fully booked so we couldn't change rooms. The next day we packed our bags to change rooms, but the problem seemingly sorted itself out. All rather inconvenient, and all we were offered in return was 2 free drinks each in the bar. Our room faced onto the street and there were some issues with noise from shouty people. The breakfast offering consisted of a reasonably good range of hot and cold items, though the hot selection was a bit disappointing (scrambled egg with lots of green bits in it?!) As noted in my previous review, the hotel restaurant is not normally open on Saturday and Sunday, which means the bar isn't open either, and that's not really good enough. The best feature of this hotel is the convenient location close to the railway station.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Dennis_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2011

Ideally located for the main railway station. Our room was very large and comfortable, with free wi-fi Internet. Excellent breakfast included in the rate, which was very good value for money. Staff very helpful and friendly. Just one criticism - the bar and restaurant are only open Monday to Friday, so if you stay at the weekend, there is no bar. In my view, therefore, this is not a 4 star hotel at weekends! We ended up having to use the mini-bar in the room for our nightcap. Other than that, well recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennis_Alexander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2010

Hotel is located along the main street around 500m from the railway station. It is a small friendly establishment and the staff were very helpful on arrival with places to eat, things to do etc. The rooms are small and slightly dated but fine and the morning breakfast buffet is well laid out and plentiful. A good location for the main attractions which are all within walking distance. The hotel gave an access card for internet access. I would recommend.

Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
1  Thank PQrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2007

Close to the train station and public transportation. Very quiet, clean room. Friendly service. Great Breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gzsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erfurt hotels
0.3 mi away
Mercure Hotel Erfurt Altstadt
0.8 mi away
Dorint Hotel am Dom Erfurt
0.3 mi away
Ibis Erfurt Altstadt
Ibis Erfurt Altstadt
#5 of 45 in Erfurt
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Erfurt
0.4 mi away
Hotel Am Kaisersaal
Hotel Am Kaisersaal
#4 of 45 in Erfurt
134 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Kramerbrucke Erfurt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Hotel Excelsior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Hotel Excelsior

Address: Bahnhofstr. 35, 99084, Erfurt, Thuringia, Germany
Region: Germany > Thuringia > Erfurt
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Erfurt
Price Range: £94 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Hotel Excelsior 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Best Western Plus Hotel Excelsior reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Erfurt
Erfurt Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing