We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
IntercityHotel Erfurt
Ranked #26 of 45 Hotels in Erfurt
Reviewed 20 October 2013

The hotel is very conveniently located near the main railway station, tram-stop and bus-stop. The hotel offers a good breakfast buffet. The only shortcoming is that you will have to pay for the internet, by the hour!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheJonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (193)
There are newer reviews for IntercityHotel Erfurt
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2013

Very clean, comfortable room. Superb buffet-breakfast. Friendly staff. Adjacent to Erfurt Hauptbahnhof. Some rooms have views of the railway tracks. Five minute amble to the city centre. My third visit, hope to return next year

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ALANMaidenhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This is a standard and reasonably comfortable hotel right next to Erfurt railway station.

The breakfast buffet is very varied, and provides what most people would expect of a German hotel breakfast (cheese, cold meat, cereal, yogurt, scrambled eggs, bread, coffee).

The night receptionist was not very friendly. A smile and pleasant service would have been welcomed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Weekender057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

A very comfortable hotel right next to the railway station - the only way to travel in Germany - which caters for tourists as well as business travellers. Rooms are very comfortable and if you're lucky you'll get a window overlooking the station, which is great for anoraks like me. The double glazing ensures there is no noise ! Food is very good and it goes without saying that German breakfasts are as legendary as the "full British" version. All guests get free local transport ticket on trams and buses and it's only two stops to reach the old town with its wide variety of restaurants and the cathedralamongst other sights worth seeing.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluedixie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Do not accept room 224!

There is the sound of a running water pipe in the wall to the adjoining room 226. It does not develop into the Victoria Falls category, but it is annoying and a far cry away from the sound of a soothing mountain creek. The next morning the sound had ceased, but started again at 08:00.

There is a cozy inner courtyard, but in the morning of my stay a woman started to reveal her personal domestic problems at 06:00 on a mobile phone. 1 hour later she was disturbed but the guy who wheels out the dustbins and she abruptly ended "the story of her problems". Otherwise it is a nice clean room, with two separate beds at the end of the corridor. Breakfast is served from 6 o'clock, - so it was time for “resurrection” anyway.

There is a wireless named “my cloud”, but you have to pay. I thought the hotels in the world had moved on to “an Internet for all”?

Erfurt is a nice little city with a majority of Caucasians. I am not a dedicated racist, but "when on Rome" and all that. I come to Germany to meet Germans and the German way of life, not some beggars out of Romania like you meet in Madrid in the south and Oslo in the north.

The shops in town and the staff at the hotel know what the term “service” implies, and they try to please you. The staff does however not seem particularly interested in capturing guests for the “Steinberger hotel chain reward program”. That is a first for me. Tonight I am staying in another Steinberger hotel. Maybe the staff there is more aggressive for their employer's future guests?

The doors in the reception area were filthy and had not been cleaned for days, not from sticky fingers, neither from the last rainfall dragging dust down the glass.

Our stay makes us want to return to Erfurt, but in this hotel? Maybe not.

Room Tip: It is close to the loadspeakersystem at the railway sation, so that limits your options, soundwise...
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phagerup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We chose this hotel for its convenience to the station. We had a small but clean room overlooking the tracks. Breakfast was not included and there was no free WiFi. The hotel restaurant wasn't open while we were there. We did appreciate the free city transport ticket. This is not a hotel to stay in for more than a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juneabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

The only good thing about this hotel is the location. It is just few steps away from Erfurt Central Station and there are some places very close by where you can have a late dinner in case you arrive late. I wouldn't go so far, as to say that the rooms are terrible, but they really are nothing special. And also, since it is so near to the station, if you have your window open, you will have the feeling of sleeping IN the station. But, OK, this is something you count on when you book a hotel so close to a train station. But the worst thing is service. Not so much at the reception, but at the breakfast. I was there with my sister. All of the sudden one of the waitresses, came to my sister telling her : "Young lady, just look around you! Do you really need to use more than one coffee cup? I can't stand it when people do this!" What had happened, is that my sister accidentally poured normal coffee instead of decaf in her coffee cup, so she took another cup from the seat next to her (but same table) , since she can not drink any normal coffee because she is 9 Months pregnant. After we tried to explain this ( which is more than ridiculous anyway..), she went even further: " Yes, but you took another CUP instead of a GLASS to get your milk!". The whole discussion took quite a long time, us getting quite upset, where at the end she said :"Well, I don't get it, why you're getting so upset. I just told you very calmly without raising my voice, you were using too many cups and it costs me a lot of time to get the table ready again." Well, it was a question of 30 seconds to exchange the cups. The nerve to come to us and talk like this!!! And, it was not that the whole room was too full and they were running out of coffee cups. Actually, only 3 tables were taken by that time and 3 waitresses working. So what is the big deal about using 2 more cups? It is quite embarrassing for any hotel, especially one which claims to have 4 stars. After this incident happened, we felt so uncomfortable, since you never knew if all of the sudden you maybe did something wrong again without knowing it and will get yelled at again. We kinda took this with a lough and just left as soon as we could, but really, it is not that funny. All in all, if you don't need to stay next to the central station, avoid this place. Go somewhere else where you can enjoy your morning coffee without prisonward-waitress observing you to see how many cups you use for your coffee, or if you take the right glass for your milk!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peri28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erfurt hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Erfurt Altstadt
Ibis Erfurt Altstadt
#5 of 45 in Erfurt
133 reviews
0.4 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Erfurt
0.4 mi away
Mercure Hotel Erfurt Altstadt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Excelsior
2.2 mi away
Ibis Hotel Erfurt Ost
Ibis Hotel Erfurt Ost
#17 of 45 in Erfurt
429 reviews
8.5 mi away
Best Western Hotel Erfurt-Apfelstaedt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IntercityHotel Erfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IntercityHotel Erfurt

Address: Willy-Brandt-Platz 11, 99084, Erfurt, Thuringia, Germany
Phone Number:
Region: Germany > Thuringia > Erfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Erfurt
Price Range: £68 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IntercityHotel Erfurt 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As guest of the comfortable InterCityHotel Erfurt located in the centre of the city, close to the main station, you have all possibilities to discover the sights of Erfurt. Not only the Mariendom, the cathedral, and the famous Kramerbrucke can easily be reached by bus or tram but also the historical city centre as well as you might decide to go shopping. With the Erfurt FreeCityTicket which is included in the price of your room, you can get to know the city without any additional costs in an environmentally friendly manner. Furthermore, the InterCityHotel Erfurt also is the ideal starting point for your business activities with the exhibition grounds in quick and easy reach of 4 km. The InterCityHotel Erfurt offers 160 hotel rooms and 1 suite. All rooms are furnished in a modern and friendly manner and equipped with TV, telephone and WiFi. Five air-conditioned conference rooms with dimmable daylight illumination effectively contribute to making your work a pleasure. For all InterCityHotels concerned the usage of the WLAN is free of charge up to 256 KB/s. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your IntercityHotel Erfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Erfurt Intercity Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing