We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel centrally located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dorint Hotel am Dom Erfurt
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Erfurt
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2014

A newish hotel with glass/steel structure in a medieval town. I enjoyed our stay because of modern facilities but close enough to the tourist area, just within walking distance. It's such a walkable town so our stay was very pleasant. Our suite was spacious and bathroom was adequate. It has a business hotel feel and the breakfast had a good assortment as you would expect. A very spacious lounge bar with high lobby ceiling where people sat around to watch the World cup. Airy and welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19livyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (671)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 671 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank sweetgelato
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Pretty new hotel (sign in lifts say built 2004) well placed if you wish to visit the famous Domplatz and Aldstadt (Old Town) which are about a 5 minute walk away. The theatre is right opposite the front of the hotel. The rooms are a good size and nicely furnished but why no mirror over desk/ dressing table area for ladies to do hair/ makeup?. We had two rooms the first a Classic Twin which was perfectly adequate. We were then upgraded to a Junior Suite as we had Platinum Accor Club membership, however the room was only a little bit bigger with a better sitting area but not sure if I would bother to pay for the extra space. Only other difference was a nespresso coffee making machine in the suite. Beds were very comfortable and all have individual duvets for each occupant (very German) The bathrooms were pretty identical again both spacious and well equipped with nice modern tiling and double sinks and good size baths (Im tall so I know a decent size bath when I get one!). The over bath shower unit was easy to use and nice and powerful. Reasonably good sized and quality bath and hand towels and plentiful nice toiletries from Rodger & Gallet (more provided in suite but not really needed). Nice sized wardrobe with real coathangers (not security type). Also a minibar stocked with a couple of beers and some soft drinks and one bottle of complimentary water (offered in both rooms). There was a safe in both rooms and lots of plugs and reasonably fast AND FREE internet provided. Only criticism would be rooms could do with some extra overhead lighting as lamps dont really provide sufficient light for us of a certain age. Also the exterior rooms overlook streets on all four sides so can be quite noisy at night if windows left opened, though AC is fine and with windows shut generally quite quiet. No rooms really seem to have much of a view so would suggest you just book the basic Classic Room for best value.
Breakfast charged extra but an excellent buffet and the hot dishes were actually generally hot as small batches constantly topped up and you could order freshly cooked eggs to accompany. Fresh orange juice provided and excellent croissants, bread and pastries and good range of cold meats (from trolley where freshly carved), fresh fruit, cereals and yoghurts etc and cheeses. Nice tea selection on buffet and thermos jugs of coffee provided for default. Service generally pretty good though it did get a bit hectic on a couple of mornings when the hotel was full.
If you just require a drink at lunchtime only the lobby or restaurant are available as the bar itself doesnt open til 3pm so lacks a bit of atmosphere though there is a nice deck area where you can sit outside on warm days.
We have stayed in Erfurt before at The Mercure in the Old Town which is certainly slightly better situated but the Pullman is definitely a more up market product and hence generally more expensive, though on his ooccasion The Pullman was actually cheaper than the Mercure for some starnge reason when booked some time ahead.

Room Tip: None of the exterior rooms have much of a view except over other buildings or the very modern lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GastroInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a standard 4 star business like hotel (I don´t know why it has 5 stars), which is absolutely OK.
The rooms are relatively modern and clean - nothing special, not new.
I got a room which faces the internal lobby - try to avoid this, as others have already explained (can´t open the window, too noisy)
I was surprised that I only had only small pillow, in other four star hotely you usually get four pillows or so, why only one in a so said five star hotel?
The location is good, but it is not really centrally located. For older people it is not a walking distance.
The only thing that may be in line with a five star hotel is the breakfast, fresh, good quality, more than just standard.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xirxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

A conveniently located Luxury hotel close to all the famous sites of Erfurt.The modern design is inviting ,the room was very spacious and the bathroom one of the best we ever had in a hotel.We came by car and were delighted to find a very convenient underground garage to leave the car and just explore the town on foot.Finally the cost of staying in this 5star hotel was very reasonable and jgood balue for the money.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Gottschmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

New since my last visit to Erfurt and is nice addition to Aldstadt hotel offerings. Good location for visit to cathedral square and other center city sights. Luckily we had room with exterior window. It was stuffy as AC not on but warm days, so enjoyed a breeze. Interior of hotel was warm since it's all glass and recent days were sunny & warmer. Think an interior room would be pretty uncomfortable and noisy with windows to lobby (in US think Embassy Suites style.) Breakfast was too pricey at 18 Euro so ate a backeri at Domplatz. Lots of public space -- "chill out" area and huge lobby bar, so great place to meet up with friends/colleagues. 5 minutes walk to Domplatz and easy in/out with paid parking garage under building. Hotel has luggage carts and umbrellas loan and tram stop adjacent to entrance. We were given a handicap design room due to size needed for extra rollaway bed. So bath was spacious albeit odd large curtain enclosed shower set up. Overall was happy with stay. For this smaller city, it's a good pick over the older and in need of updating hotels with similiar amenities.

Room Tip: ask for exterior facing rooms if having fresh air is ideal
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YukonCornelius98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

stayed there moren than a dozen times over the years for mainly business travel.

+ central location ann close to altstadt, etc.
+ clean
+ fantastic breakfast and good room service

- basic and pretty clairaudient rooms that start to show their age
- basic gym (although you cannot really call this gym..)
- carpark always packed
- rooms of same category vary hugely in size

overall, no hesitation to return in the future

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2013sas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Erfurt hotels
0.7 mi away
Mercure Hotel Erfurt Altstadt
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel Erfurt
0.7 mi away
Hotel Am Kaisersaal
Hotel Am Kaisersaal
#3 of 45 in Erfurt
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Erfurt Altstadt
Ibis Erfurt Altstadt
#5 of 45 in Erfurt
138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kramerbrucke Erfurt
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Hotel Excelsior
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dorint Hotel am Dom Erfurt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dorint Hotel am Dom Erfurt

Address: Theaterplatz 2, 99084, Erfurt, Thuringia, Germany (Formerly Arcadia Grand Hotel Am Dom)
Region: Germany > Thuringia > Erfurt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Erfurt
#1 Business Hotel in Erfurt
#1 Spa Hotel in Erfurt
#2 Luxury Hotel in Erfurt
Price Range: £94 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dorint Hotel am Dom Erfurt 5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome! The Dorint Hotel am Dom Erfurt is located in Thuringia's state capital, in the middle of Germany. Thanks to its This phenomenal hotel with personal service offers the perfect place to discover Erfurt with its places of interest: the famous Mariendom, the Severie Church and the oldest inhabited bridge north of the Alps named Krämerbrücke. Opened in 2004, the modern style of the Dorint Hotel am Dom Erfurt, with its wide, light structures, is everything a stylish hotel should be. Contentment and harmonious As soon as you enter the lobby, you have an appointment with an atrium flooded with light. This transparency, design, functionality and comfort you will also find in the 160 stylishly furnished rooms and suites. The spacious rooms in modern colors create an atmosphere of amenity and reach the highest possible standards with their elegant marble baths, air conditioning, minibar and individual safes. With a high-speed Internet connection, the rooms also offer every technical comfort necessary. Delightful food and kindness Experience a variety of regional and international specialities in our restaurant "Gloriosa". Our restaurant "Gloriosa" owns an excellent reputation. Our lobby bar invites you to enjoy our excellent cocktails and drinks. The conference concept The conference concept offers the latest communication and presentation technology, extensively equipped conference rooms and creative break ideas. A selection of highprofile presenters, entertainers and speakers - are available to add to the appeal of your event. Wellness Peace and quietness you will find in our exclusive wellness are. Equipped with a sauna, steam room, whirlpool, solarium and fitness area. Enjoy a little taste of the Caribbean over 320 sq m and spoil yourself with various massages like hot stone. For those who love sports, you can have a nice workout in the fitness room and on the jogging routes of various nearby parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dorint Hotel am Dom Erfurt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Accor Erfurt Am Dom

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing