We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistently Excellent”
Review of The Radhuni

The Radhuni
Ranked #1 of 11 Restaurants in Loanhead
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$27 - US$41
Cuisines: Indian, Bangladeshi
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The Radhuni is the safest bet in Scotland if you want a guaranteed high quality Indian meal in a well-appointed restaurant served by helpful and very pleasant staff.

A wide choice of food. This time we had Lamb Kebab, Rogan Fish, Chicken Madras and Bhandi (Okra) with usual accompaniments. All extremely tasty but, I would recommend, everyone tries the Okra, it is stunning.

The wine list is also very good and reasonably priced (for a restaurant). Forgo on the lager and try an Australian Cab Sav - you will not be disappointed.

Thank Igithaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Habibur K, General Manager at The Radhuni, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2014

Hello, thank you for an excellent review recommending The Radhuni from the whole of Scotland! We're flattered! Look forward to your next visit. Many thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

128 - 132 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

Came here following reviews on here and have to say that this is one of Edinburgh's wee gems. A must for curry fans. Perfect food and the gent service us was the perfect host. Will return

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Powdah78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Habibur K, General Manager at The Radhuni, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Hello, thanks for the 5 star review and the many compliments! We really do appreciate the time taken by guests to write a review of their experience! Thank you so much and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

From the outside the restaurant looks nothing out of the ordinary, you would be expecting to walk in and it to be small. It is like a tardis!
Our first night as residents in Loanhead was certainly a memorable one...on arrival the welcome was friendly and efficient, taken to our seat we were amazed at the decor and high standard of the table decoration. The service provided by Rajesh 'car-key' was second to none, friendly not rushing us and professional. The food, well what can I say..:I have been to many Indian restaurants up and down the country and this has to be one of the best, excellent flavours...fresh ingredients and a chef who obviously loves his job!
We had a quick look at the garden area and we can't wait to come back and share a bottle of wine in these tranquil surroundings, very nice.
I usually like to have a little complaint at something, but I can honestly say there is nothing to complain about here, service, food and surroundings were all excellent. Well done Radhuni, you are what other restaurants should aspire to.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank david l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Habibur K, General Manager at The Radhuni, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Hi David, thanks for an excellent review! Your huge compliments mean so much especially when you compare us to the rest of the UK. Hope to see you again soon! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Having seen Radhuni mentioned in Daily Telegraph and on T-A, really had to give it a go. Don't usually frequent Indian restaurants, since can do better than most at home, but always prepared to give it a try.

The much vaunted friendly staff were obviously on an off day. We had booked expecting a busy Friday, but it was largely empty. Nicely decorated place; certainly not your typical Indian. It is something of a Tardis as you enter through a narrow shop front and it then opens up to a vast space behind.

Interesting looking menu. Ordered a set of dishes to share, which seemed to confuse staff. What arrived was passable. Poppadums pre-cooked and slightly soggy. Food rather too oily and heavy for my liking. Spices were a bit heavy and unsubtle. Liked the paratha.

Rather abandoned by staff after food served to the point they didn't return to offer bill or puds/ coffee.

Sadly a disappointing meal, and well short of the best Indian restaurant in Edinburgh. I hope it was just an off day, but unlikely to be back to test that theory.

6  Thank RickyB2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We had planned a trip to ikea in Edinburgh for sometime. It's a big excursion for us, 3hrs driving there, big ikea shopping spree, a quick bite to eat somewhere then the dreaded 3hr drive home.
When we had finished our shop we checked trip advisor on where to eat in the loanhead area , hoping we wouldn't have to trundle into Edinburgh.
We found the Radhuni as number 1 place to eat in loanhead, an Indian, 5 minutes round the corner from ikea.
We were able to park the car just a little up from the restaurant on the street which was handy. There is parking on both sides of the street.
We walked in and was really impressed with the decor and lighting, very classy and inviting with deep reds, creams and candle lights.
We received a warm welcome and was shown to a table and given a menu. I asked our waiter for a recommendation from the menu for a mild palate and I took his advice and went for the chicken tikka massallam which was beautiful and I can recommend. My partner had the chicken tikka balti which he also thoroughly enjoyed. We shared a portion of rice and chips, but had a naan each which was delicious.
When we asked for water for our table it was served chilled in glass bottles, always a plus point.
The toilets are lovely. Very clean with nice soap, nice paper towels, flowers....even the toilet paper was good quality!
It's all these little things contribute to a nice overall experience, it's nice to see the thought that goes into everything from the decor to the sheesha garden.
Our waiter (Karki) who is also the owner is outstanding at what he does. A real nice guy.
Our meal was also reasonably priced great value for such high quality food.
We must also comment that Indian food can sometimes be overly filling and make you need a lie down after, however we were suitably full but not uncomfortable for our 3hr journey home, we will definitely eat there again when we next go on our ikea visit.

A great discovery! Thank you for a lovely visit, we will visit again

2  Thank Loopdaloop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Habibur K, General Manager at The Radhuni, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2014

Hello, thank you for fantastic review of The Radhuni! On behalf of the team and I, we appreciate you taking your time to write a thorough review of your experience and moreso we're glad it was a highly pleasant one! Please do visit again next time you are in town! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Radhuni also viewed

Dalkeith, Midlothian
Dalkeith, Midlothian
 
Bonnyrigg, Midlothian
Penicuik, Midlothian
 
Dalkeith, Midlothian
 

Been to The Radhuni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing