We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good for the area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Hotel Jena
Ranked #6 of 14 Hotels in Jena
UK
Level Contributor
189 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Very good for the area”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Nice clean hotel. The food was good. Both breakfast and dinner. Rooms were fine and clean with mini bar. Staff were friendly and it was nice that most spoke English.
Internet was fine throughout our stay which was part of a leger tour from the uk.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graeme_UK_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    44
    43
    11
    0
See reviews for
10
26
12
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Stayed here a week for business. Internet connection was simply non-existent the entire time. View out window was pleasant (farm houses with sheep), bed was uncomfortable, blanket was small, air conditioner didn't work and shower was constantly going from scalding hot to freezing. Breakfast was fair and staff was mostly very friendly. Restaurant was decent food, but EXTREMELY slow.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Jena hotels

Freiburg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

The Wifi was dead slow and the hotel bar was poorly equipped.

Breakfast was nice and staff friendly.

If you're on a business trip don't stay here if you need Internet!

First night i slept terribly (heating)

Room Tip: The showers are nice the sauna is on the 5th floor. When you get a room with some old heating venti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Achimjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bavaria, Germany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

We stayed in February and got a good price, but I would not want to pay the summer prices for this hotel. It was OK, but somewhat dated. The room and linen were clean, the bed (American style) was comfortable. Convenient and free parking. Room heater worked well. The staff were friendly. The restaurant had a good variety, and the food was great, but the evening service was VERY slow (30 minutes to receive our food after ordering, 15 minutes waiting to pay after alerting the waitress). Most of the guests seemed to be business people or bus tours.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny_Gault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
225 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Have stayed in this revamped Communist housing complex many times. It is somewhat in the suburbs of Jena and a little bit of a walk from the tram terminus, but I haven't been disappointed on any occasions and can commend both the buffet breakfasts provided and the diligence and helpfulness of the staff, who once went so far as calling-up a tame taxi driver to convey self and an unwell colleague to the Jena town centre emergency doctors and then to the 'Apotek' - all at no cost - that was exceedingly kind, as it all took nearly two hours of taxi time.

I believe a lot of coach tours now stop off here on their way to and fro the East, and personally would look forward to a stopover here.

The Zur Weitraube Gasthof is not far away, towards the tram terminus, and is a good alternative place to go for a meal and a few drinks.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdboyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papendrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I've stayed one night at this hotel, early December 2012.
The rooms are looking as a mix of a bit outdated with the doorlock you need to open with a kind of plastic punchcard, but there is a modern flatscreen TV in the room.
You need to push that card really deep into the lock, otherwise the door will not open.

The room itself.
Most important: It was clean !
A balcony with a nice view. I did had a front viewing room.
The bed was nice, I did sleep well.
About the TV, as said is OK.
Although the bathroom was a bit crampy, everything worked as it should do.
There was no place for the wassing bassin in the bathroom, so the bassin was in the room itself.
Interresting concept.
Excuse me for the poor photo quality of my mobile phone. But it will give an idea of the room.

Diner.
Since it took a while before the ordered food was delivered, I assume it is fresh cooked.
The only minor detail, I did recieve other food than I ordered.
OK, I did not mind, as this was also nice food, but be aware you get what you ordered.

Breakfast.
German style breakfast, everything ok for me.

Staff, very, very friendly.

So summary:
Hotel is worth the money, although you need to keep an eye on the food you ordered is the food served.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pa3ddg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Stayed several nights while on a business trip to Jena. Generally I don't choose western chains but this was selected by our business partners from among the few options available in Jena.

Overall, this appears to be a hotel in need of remodelling. The carpets are worn and the color scheme is dated. The rooms were decent, the breakfast was very good, the hotel staff was helpful. Laundry service is expensive, 2x for overnight service. In summary, the BW Jena met our needs but wasn't particularly nice.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chasam2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Jena hotels
1.0 mi away
Steigenberger Maxx Hotel
2.6 mi away
Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade
2.6 mi away
Ibis Jena City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Haus Orchideental
2.5 mi away
Hotel am Paradies
Hotel am Paradies
#12 of 14 in Jena
3.5 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Vielharmonie
Hotel Vielharmonie
#7 of 14 in Jena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Hotel Jena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Hotel Jena

Property: Best Western Hotel Jena
Address: Rudolstaedter Strasse 82, 07745 Jena, Thuringia, Germany
Region: Germany > Thuringia > Jena
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Jena
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Hotel Jena 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Hotel Jena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Jena
Jena Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing