We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade
Nearby Hotels
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$92
ibis
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (875)
Filter reviews
875 results
Traveller rating
308
439
104
16
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
439
104
16
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshopping mallbusiness hotelperfect locationthe ground floorcar elevatorvery nice hotelvery comfortable staysmall menusmall cityprofessional staffterrible internetslow wifiright next doorwest train stationgreat businessreal painlobby bar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
106 - 111 of 875 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2013

After reading many positive reviews of this hotel on Trip Advisor I was a little disappointed. It is very light, clean and airy, but I found it rather characterless and functional. My room was large but the bed was uncomfortable with extremely thin pillows, and non-existent air conditioning meant the room was very hot. When I opened the window an air-vent outside was very noisy making it difficult to sleep.

The bar is very expensive, but the breakfast was excellent and high-quality, with a wide selection.

Overall I would say this hotel is ok. It feels very much like a standard chain hotel with nothing special to make it stand out, and I definitely think it is over-priced.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjyorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

As many travellers have indicated, there are lots of positives about this hotel: it is bright, clean, welcoming - the bar is pleasant - the breakfast is very good. For me, it is let down by a couple of things. First, the air conditioning doesn't work at night, which is obviously when you need it most in Jena's typically very warm summers; not many people travel abroad in order to stay in their hotel room all day. Second, it seems to me relatively unusual these days to be limited to half an hour of free wifi daily. On the couple of occasions I used it I had great difficulty logging on from the 7th floor; when I went down to the bar in the hope that I would be able to log on there, I found that the act of closing down the email app on my iPad and getting into safari broke the connection. I gather from other people that the wifi works better if you have a laptop but it is not suitable, as far as I can see, for people who are reliant on other kinds of devices. So I wouldn't recommend the hotel for people who are travelling on business.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Modern hotel with potentially a lot of positives but its very hot in Jena, around 30C and they switch the air conditioning off at 11pm and restart at 7am. Complaints get you nowhere. They say open the window! but its hot outside. Consequently expect to spend a hot and sleepless night. I've never stayed in a 4 star hotel where the management rather than the guest controls the air conditioning. Maybe it's ok in winter.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elizabethlynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

Having stayed here prior to the renovation, for the most part other the the updated interior its feels like the same place.

Some positives. Breakfast was good,bed was comfty, rooms were clean.Mall right next to it.

Some negatives. WIFI was spotty. if you do get wifi as part of your room, you need to go to reception to get a card and password, every 24 hours. That wouldn't be too bad if you didn't need to make 2 stops to get to your room.
Elevators - In order to get to your room, from ground level to garage, you take the elevator to the lobby. then a seperate elevelator to your rooms.

Other than that, hotel is located in center of Jena, not much to do in the area, but a nice area to walk around. Restaurants are available but its a 50/50 chance in finding one that takes credit cards or have english menus. However, i found most people pretty friendly and willing to help translate.

i would stay again

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

modern, big and still cozy city hotel in the centrum of Jena. Very nice night bar - non smoking- but with smoker room with TV and other things . Pleasant stuff, nice restaurant, perfect breakfest. Rooms clean, well equipped. Big parking in the basement and underground parking place. Prices more than acceptable...

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garfield_the_Tourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yvonne_tietjen, Leiter Front Office at Steigenberger Hotel Esplanade, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very positive feedback. We are delighted to read, that you liked it so much with us.
With kind regards
Your Team at the Steigenberger Esplanade Jena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews