We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“one night in Weimar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kaiserin Augusta
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Weimar
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“one night in Weimar”
Reviewed 13 October 2012

we stayed in Kaiserin-Augusta-Hotel for one night in October. it was a good choice. The staff was friendly, our room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was great. we parked our car in the basement garage. i'm not sure if that is for free, but we didn't pay for that (the woman at the reception said: it's not on the bill). i'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diver_kasimir2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    100
    30
    4
    2
See reviews for
17
87
20
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Papendrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
122 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I spend 2 nights in this hotel in september
I had room 225. This room is at the quare facing the Central Station.
Make a mental note, ask for a room that is not facing the square if you do not like the noise of trains.
The room itself is not bad, but the bathroom is a little bit crampy.If your size is xl, then you are on the toilet more or less stuck between the shower glass panel and a washing basin.
Further is the room clean, free WiFi.
Another note, if you want to have a parking lot in the garage, be early, since there are only a few places available.Parking at the street can also be done, but after 08:00 am you need to get a parking ticket.

Breakfast is very good. But also the diner: the Grillschmaus is a should have. It's not expensive and it tastes well.

The city of Weimar itself is very nice.

One point for improvement: The documentation in the room is in German language only. If you can't read German this might be a challenge. So hotel management, please make the documentation in the room in 2 languages. (German/English)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pa3ddg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Meadville, PA
Level Contributor
125 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

My husband and I stayed here with 17 college students we were leading on a study tour. The tour company had booked this place so we did not know what to expect. It turned out to be a great place. It is directly across the street from the train station, which is very picturesque and lovely...not sketchy at all. It is about a 10 minute easy walk into town. There are several restaurants close by...a Subway, a traditional German tavern and a surprisingly good tapas restaurant, plus the hotel's restaurant and the train station. It is an old building but nicely renovated. Our room was spotless and even a little luxurious, if small. The rooms face onto the courtyard which was quiet. It is not air conditioned, and it was pretty warm at night. We had to leave the window open, which let in the cigarette smoke from someone else's open window. The breakfast was awesome! Two kinds of eggs, lots of different cheeses and meats and breads, cereals, nuts, fruit, spreads, juices and coffee. We also ate there one night for dinner, which was also pretty good. The lobby atmosphere is friendly and quiet, although the wait staff did not speak much English.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julibeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Very clean, comfortable with very helpful staff. Located very conveniently across the street from train depot and 10 minute walk to downtown. Weimar is a great city for a 1-2 day visit.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don0053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, Texas
Level Contributor
318 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2011

All prior reviews are accurate. Our room was spotlessly clean and large, though a bit dated. Our beds were very firm, and the interior courtyard side of the hotel is quiet, though the train station is less than 200 meters away. We found street parking in the neighborhood. Even for a German hotel, the breakfast is superior. There is an exceptionally good selection of cold meats, thoroughly representing the Thuringen lander. I especially liked their Thuringer wurst and the excellent jellies. From the hotel, it is about a 10 to 15 minute walk to the heart of the city. All-in-all, I think we received our money's worth.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Asta365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2011

Hotel was nice enough but a bit dated. The room was clean but small. We had some problems with our bill - we booked a double room through the hotel's website (we had proof of our booking with us) but for some reason it came through to the other side as a single room booking. Even though this was not our fault, we were treated as if it was by the reception staff. Bear in mind that we have lived in Germany for many years and it was not simply lost in translation. The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and it is useful that the hotel is directly opposite the train station.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank priceprom123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottersum
Level Contributor
130 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 253 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2010

Kaiserin Augusta Hotel is opposite the train station, within a 10 min. walk of the city centre. The hotel’s free transport pass has been suspended three years ago, but this is not the slightest problem, because for 10 euro you can have the Weimar City Pass, which gives you free public transport for 72 hours and a reduction on most of the objects of interest in Weimar.
The hotel has a rather large entrance hall with a cosy bar and the breakfast/dining room on your left. To the right you’ll find an internet point, the use of which is rather pricey: 3 euro for 20 min. and 5 euro an hr. (many hotels offer internet for free nowadays). The hotel Augusta furthermore offers wireless Internet access throughout the entire building. There are private parking facilities, and conference/meeting rooms. By way of the elevator you reach one of the 50 rooms.
Check in/check out went very smoothly. All personnel we met was very kind and helpful.
We asked for a quiet room and we got one on the 2nd floor (201). It is a small but perfectly fitted up twin room: two single beds with excellent mattresses, a good working TV, a table top fixed to the wall, a minibar, soundproofed windows (although being opposite the train station, you do not hear any noise) and sufficient room for your clothes. I am not sure there is airconditioning; if so than I think it is centrally managed. The bathroom is small with only a shower and liquid soap. It is all impeccable clean.
Warm and cold breakfast is served in the well decorated restaurant (Christmas time), and was excellent. Several kinds of yoghurt, cereals, bread, jams, meat and cheese products, fruit, etc. were all of good quality. We had dinner three times, at reasonable prices. Fillet of deer and ceasar salade are very good, trout fillet is not advisable.
For just over 63 euro this prefectly situated, cosy, well decorated, feel/good hotel with extremely kind staff is very recommendable.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwmpet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Weimar hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Premier Grand Hotel Russischer Hof
1.7 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Weimar
Leonardo Hotel Weimar
#2 of 22 in Weimar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dorint Am Goethepark Weimar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Hotel Weimar
0.6 mi away
Hotel Anna Amalia
Hotel Anna Amalia
#9 of 22 in Weimar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Elephant
Hotel Elephant
#5 of 22 in Weimar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaiserin Augusta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaiserin Augusta

Property: Hotel Kaiserin Augusta
Address: Carl-August-Allee 17, 99423 Weimar, Thuringia, Germany
Region: Germany > Thuringia > Weimar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Weimar
#5 Romantic Hotel in Weimar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kaiserin Augusta 3.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kaiserin Augusta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaiserin Augusta Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing