We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful room, great Arab baths, lovely staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aire Hotel & Ancient Baths
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Almeria
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We had no intention of visiting Almeria on our vacation -- it's Spain's hottest, driest, poorest province -- but decided to give it a shot. We were in for a pleasant surprise! First of all, Almeria is a "real" place, where "real" people live. You can find the Spain you remember from 20-30 years ago (the good and the bad), and people are kind and friendly. The best part of Almeria is Plaza Vieja Hotel and Lounge set in a pretty square close to a batch of restaurants and within walking distance of the Alcabaza. The staff was unfailingly gracious (with their limited English and our awkward Spanish), attentive, alert, and accommodating. The room had to be, by far, the most beautiful of our trip -- huge, quiet, sun-filled. And, oh, those Arab baths downstairs! Discover Almeria!

Room Tip: Splurge on a junior suite with breakfast!
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank olliedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Aire Hotel & Ancient Baths
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2012

Plaza Vieja is situated in a charming square in the old town and has spacious, simple and stylish rooms. Its worth going for the "junior suite" which overlooks the square. The staff are very friendly and helpful and there is a very good adjoining restaurant. The jewel in the crown of this hotel however is the underground spa and hammam. Enjoy the various pools lit by candlelight whilst sipping herbal tea and you will be deeply relaxed. Although we didn't try it there is the option of having a massage. We were slightly confused about the parking situation at first but staff at the hotel will direct you if you have a car to a local car park and issue you with a ticket for each day of your stay. Thoroughly recommended.

Stayed: December 2012
3  Thank RRamanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

This hotel is as lovely as it looks on the site. On our drive to the hotel we got lost, and with both of our phones about to lose battery, we called the hotel in a panic. One of the employees actually left the hotel, and walked several blocks over to meet us in person and help guide us to the hotel. Upon arrival they gave us a free upgrade to the superior room, to help us de-stress from our journey. Relaxing here was very easy - the hotel faces onto a large and peaceful square, and provides a lounging area outside. Next door to the hotel is an amazing restaurant run by a Michelin-starred chef, and beneath the hotel is an Arabian bath. The baths proved well worth the inexpensive entry - truly relaxing and atmospheric. In any larger city this hotel would be 4x the cost. The room was very spacious and comfortable, with balcony doors overlooking the square, and the bathroom had a huge rain shower. The only drawback for me was that in our room, the bathroom faced the bed and had only a glass door separating it, and so offered no privacy. However, the overall boutique experience, location, and exceptionally thoughtful service made for a memorable and charming stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grabanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This is a small boutique hotel in the heart of Almeria. It has been recently refurbished. Furniture and design of the rooms is very modern. Reception is warm, like a library. Standard rooms are very small. There is not table nor desk for working, the shower is the middle of the room and there is hardly space to move around. The best is the people in reception, warm, helpful and friendly. Breakfast is in the bar close to the hotel and it is not a buffet. The waiter asks you if you want eggs, toasts, coffee and orange juice. When I ask for fresh fruit, she offered me the ones there were in a fruit ball. Another good thing: the Arabic baths close to the hotel, very relaxing, and if you ask for a massage, you will never forget it.

Room Tip: Ask for a Junior Suite. Standard are very small.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mistralksk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

One of the best small hotels I've ever met... Great location, charming rooms, beautiful walls and lights, comfortable bed, nice staff... This hotel blend tradition and modernity and is in the center of the city. The staff is so warm, if you need help they will provide it.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank torbarna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We had been looking forward to 2 nights at the Plaza Vieja at the end of a week in Andalucia. The hotel did not meet our expectations. We had booked a junior suite and whilst the room was large, there was no separate bathroom and all the facilities were part of one room, with only a single door to a toliet cubicle. The room was stylishly decorated but that only works if everything is pristine, instaed the room was starting to look "tired" with stained curtains that were falling off the rail, dirty tiles in the shower and limited storage space. Service was non existant, with the member of staff who took us up to our room just showing us the door and walking away, no mention was made of breakfast at any point, which we took in a very nice cafe on the other side of the square.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank hamish0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

This hotel is the only place to stay in Almeria, it is a luxury boutique retreat on the most beautiful square, it only has 10 rooms and we stayed in a junior suite which was spacious with incredibly high ceilings and very minimalistic chic decor. The only issue was lack of storage - there was one small wardrobe and nowhere else to put clothes so a bit of a pain. The Turkish bath is a must - it is so beautifully set up you can easily spend an hour and a half relaxing in the various pools and sauna sipping on green tea in the relaxation areas surrounded by tea lights. The restaurant is another must - their unique take on the traditional tapas is something you must experience (we ended up eating there twice in our 3 night stay) try the "copa cocktail" - its delicious! The only draw back is that the hotel doesn't have a swimming pool but the beach is only a short walk away so all in all i would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Order breakfast in bed, experience the Turkish bath and definitely eat in the restaurant!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rochelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almeria hotels
0.7 mi away
NH Ciudad de Almeria
NH Ciudad de Almeria
#1 of 31 in Almeria
865 reviews
0.1 mi away
AC Hotel Almeria
AC Hotel Almeria
#7 of 31 in Almeria
575 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Catedral Almeria
Hotel Catedral Almeria
#10 of 31 in Almeria
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Elba Almeria Hotel
Elba Almeria Hotel
#2 of 31 in Almeria
327 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nuevo Torreluz
Hotel Nuevo Torreluz
#4 of 31 in Almeria
447 reviews
1.2 mi away
Tryp Indalo Almeria
Tryp Indalo Almeria
#8 of 31 in Almeria
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aire Hotel & Ancient Baths? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aire Hotel & Ancient Baths

Address: Plaza Constitucion 4, 04003 Almeria, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Almeria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Almeria
Price Range: £61 - £131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aire Hotel & Ancient Baths 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel embodies the perfect mix between tradition and modernity in an exceptional building. An 19th Century work refurbished by Alonso Balaguer, the famous architecture studio from Barcelona. The hotel makes us appreciate the harmonious merging of forms, textures and colors where the modest gives life to new attitudes and sensations. Plaza Vieja Hotel & Lounge is the perfect place to ease your senses, have a cocktail or enjoy a good book. And it's also the right place to live a unique experience: the Arabian Baths Aire de Almeria. A millenarian tradition that all our guests will be able to delight themselves with. Experience through their senses with water therms at different degrees or choose the most appealing massage in our special relax room. Even if the guest prefers so, the massage can be in its own room ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Aire Hotel & Ancient Baths reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing