We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough”
Review of Hotel Costasol

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Costasol
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Almeria
Reviewed 1 February 2012

We stayed at the Costasol recently and it was generally pretty good.

Some of the rooms (at the back of the hotel) can be very dark, with almost no natural light. One of our party made a polite request to change the room, and they were allowed to. Obviously if the place is full, you won't be so lucky.

The hotel has a slightly outdated feel to it and could perhaps do with a bit of modernisation, but in general it was absolutely acceptable. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and tolerant.

Breakfast was available until 11am, which is a godsend if you are out late and want a lie-in. Breakfast itself is pretty basic in the Spanish style i.e. toasted baguettes and a selection of honey/jam etc. The freshly squeezed orange juice was the really good thing.

WiFi was free and strong enough, which was a good plus point.

The room with breakfast was good value, considering the location is excellent.

In general, I would recommend the Costasol.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with plenty of natural light. Some of the rooms are dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chappers29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2011

We spent two nights at the Hotel Costasol before touring through Cabo de Gato. The front desk staff were very helpful and knowledgable. The hotels location was perfect. A few blocks from the train/bus station. Quick walks to all the sights and the bus to the airport is only three blocks down. We received a good deal, 60€ a night, so it was a real bargain. I would only put two maybes out there: The toilet was in a cubby behind the door, very awkward to utilize. And the Breakfast, both food and service, left something to be desired. Other than those minor items, I would highly recommend the Costasol.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CalgaryCrisdean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2010

August 2010 my wife & I started a 25 day tour of Andalucia in Almeria. Although the city itself is not much to write about it served our purposes as a jump-off point.

This hotel.... as we later learned... was excellent value for money. Clean, well presented rooms added to good front desk service (particularly from Diego & Miguel).

The location was ideal for everything we wanted (close to beach, shops, nightlife, public transport and, important for us, the Avis Car Rental place).

The room was lovely & clean with all the modcons we needed. The advice from Reception was helpful & the language skills were excellent.

We'd not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a "business-style" hotel, well located in Almeria City.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandfieldGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Madrid, Spain
12
Reviewed 4 July 2006

I was working in Almeria and I was booked into this centrally located Hotel, and as I was away I had my portable computer to possibly link in to an internet connecttion. The Hotel "offered" a free conetion in the room via phone link and details on how to connect onto the internet. In april 2006, there was no indication that this would be charged or the rates, so one assumed that this was a free service, like in other hotels in Spain.

I even went down to reception to borrow a telephone cable and they did not tell me that I would be charged for this service.

So I connected in and I must say that the velocity was at 28,5 kps, great wopping speed, but enough to work and play an online game. Obviously a very slow load down.

So when I checked out I received a telephone bill for 132,05 euros, Here in spain broadband costs about 45 euros per month. I was very upset with this. I proceeded in filing an official complaint and when the inspectors came round, typical, there was a notification on what costs etc and my claim came to nothing.

A word of advice, if you feel cheated and you wish to put in an official complaint, get the police to back your version, then you have a legal chance of winning.

As far as the Hotel is concerned, didnt like it much, poor service and with the above issue, more interested in fleecing that giving a good service.

Don't recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2004

We stayed here for four nights during a 5 week tour of Spain. We found Almeria had little going for it and the Costasol was in keeping with this impression of the town.
The good points first-its on the main street and the price was more than reasonable for a 3 star hotel.
The bad points- Well, my wife and I were at a loss as to where the three stars actually came from!
The hotel felt stuck in a 70s time warp, and although clean, the general feel of the place was neither relaxed nor welcoming. Our room was tired and dark-the decoration and furnishings failing to compare to the 2 star we stayed in at Vejer. Sleep was just about possible with ear-plugs, as the main air conditioning motor seemed attatched to the outer wall adjoining our room.
Ther are quite a few new 3 and 4 star hotels in the city. We got the feeling that Costasol suffered because of that, and that it was an establishment on the way down.
It was a place to get out of as quick as possible, rather than a hotel where you happily lounge over a relaxed breakfast whilst planning the day.
Almeria the city delivered a lot less than the guidebooks suggested. Likewise Costasol. I would urge you to find alternatives-avoid both.

  • Stayed: August 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank benpattom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Sofie1492
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank jjrl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria del Mar S, Director General at Hotel Costasol, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Almeria hotels
1.1 mi away
Tryp Indalo Almeria
Tryp Indalo Almeria
#8 of 30 in Almeria
581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Nuevo Torreluz
Hotel Nuevo Torreluz
#4 of 30 in Almeria
468 reviews
0.4 mi away
NH Ciudad de Almeria
NH Ciudad de Almeria
#1 of 30 in Almeria
913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AC Hotel Almeria
AC Hotel Almeria
#7 of 30 in Almeria
590 reviews
1.6 mi away
Elba Almeria Hotel
Elba Almeria Hotel
#2 of 30 in Almeria
345 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sercotel Gran Fama
Sercotel Gran Fama
#9 of 30 in Almeria
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costasol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costasol

Address: Avenida Paseo de Almeria 58 | Avenida Principal de Almeria, 04001 Almeria, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Almeria > Almeria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Almeria
Price Range: £39 - £57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Costasol 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Costasol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing